My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.2 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  Wow. 0_0 Wow wow wow......., November 23, 2010
By poo...
Wow. 0_0 Wow wow wow.... amazingly thin with good flow. easy to use too. Just that some people tend to put too much pressure which is needed for some pens so that the ink flows better. BUT this pen, u don't need heavy pressure to get good flow. The ink comes naturally even when u lighty tap or touch paper. Because the tip/nib is very-wow-fine, the metal tip/nib is thin and like every thin metal it can bend if u try to kill the paper by knifing it but in serious means, the tip is fairly strong 4 it being so thin. I'm usually hard on pens and break my plastic mechanical pencils but I'm doing great with this. Just try it. Totally recommended. I rarely give 5 stars but this pen is so amazing so I just have to. If u r a heavy poke-holes-through-paper pen user and tend to break ur 0.7 mm mechanical pencil led everytime u use it, then get the fine tip version instead.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  This pen has become my..., September 25, 2010
By mog...
This pen has become my favorite pen. If you are an illustrator or just like sketching in pen this is a really nice pen to use. It has a good flow and a lot of character in the lines. I will probably be using this for a very long time.
5 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  Btw dip tip in warm water..., November 24, 2010
Btw dip tip in warm water b4 and after each use and wipe the tip with dry napkins help a great deal. If u plan 2 not in use it 4 more than 2 weeks then remove ink cartilage and wash the tip or nib with hot water at least 3 times and wipe in dry. U can put rest of ink cartilage wrapped in plasti wrap and in zipbag 2 keep it from drying. This way u don't have to worry about the ink drying and ruining your pen when u take long break from it. don't leave pen's tip/nib dirty with ink and uncleaned for 2 weeks or more even if your not using it. Read warning in product description.
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  GET THE FINE TIP THE..., March 22, 2010
By Anu...
GET THE FINE TIP THE EXTRA FINE'S TIP IS TOO FRAGILE!! I got both the fine and extra fine tip comic nib fountain pens but within 2 days the extra fine one crapped out on me. If you need a finer line just get a something around .2 mm or so.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Tried everything, couldn't..., September 9, 2011
Tried everything, couldn't get it to stay consistent after the first 3 days of use. Scratches paper up into the nib constantly and gunks up quickly.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  It's really good if you..., December 10, 2010
It's really good if you use it often. More like you NEED to use it if you want to keep it alive. Mine broke from just leaving it alone for two weeks after being swamped with school work. The ink inside the cartridge and some on the nib itself dried up and now I get inconsistent ink flow. If you really want to learn how to use a pen nib, this is a good intro to your learning, but actual dip pens with nibs are much easier to care for.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Since the other size..., November 2, 2009
By toh...
Since the other size Tachikawa Comic Nib Fountain Pen was already sold out I got one of these instead. And based on the performance of this pen I can't wait for the other pen to get back in stock.

The nib on this pen is very responsive. I've been drawing with other disposable fountain pens and I can get a slight variation of line width with them. But nothing like I can with this pen. The pen touch on this is incredible. If you've used G-pen dip pen nibs you get the same kind of pen touch with this, only without having to dip and clean the nib tip all the time. If you're a cartoonist you'll find this to be a fantastic fountain pen.

Please, PLEASE ORDER MORE SOON! I want to buy a dozen of these!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  As a manga artist, I..., October 17, 2009
As a manga artist, I am always drawing and what not. But, the warning on the top of the page should very well be followed. The pen will be ruined if left for more then 2 weeks. I've had two of these and they've all suffered the same fate. But the lines ARE very thin, and great for art.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I bought one of these..., July 12, 2009
I bought one of these from an eclectic art supply warehouse a while back -- always tempted to try out disposable fountain pens. Using it for the first time, I was incredibly surprised by just how thin the nib is -- It's EXTREMELY thin, as well as incredibly sharp. The ink is a nice, dark black that doesn't bleed, even in Moleskine notebooks (mostly due the the line thickness, I'd imagine). The only drawback, is that it skips to a degree when writing or drawing too swiftly. However, when using it at an adjusted speed, the ink flows well enough. Not recommended for writing on thin paper, though -- the sharp nib will most likely tear through. A pen I will definitely be buying refills for.
  Don't waste your money..., July 25, 2014
By lau...
Don't waste your money or time on this pen. The pen scratched across the paper from the very first use. (Bought three of these in different colors and sizes.) Regardless of the way the pen was held or the angle, the pen railroaded whenever any pressure was applied to take advantage of the very slight flex these pens claim to have. The ink bleeds when hit with water so it is not appropriate for use with watercolors. The ink may eventually get dry enough, but there are too many other brands on the market that meet the needs of a watercolor journal artist to suffer through with these pens.

Very disappointed!
  Have to admit, I'm disappointe..., September 15, 2013
Have to admit, I'm disappointed, which is something I've never said about a product from Jet Pens (though obviously it's not a Jet Pens problem). This pen does NOT want to write. Whether I apply little pressure or a good amount of pressure, it barely puts ink onto the paper. I've tried dipping it in warm water (per another review) but that doesn't fix the problem.

It's really a shame because while I love the G-nib pen, I really wanted something that would draw a thinner line. Maybe I just got a bad pen?

I may consider buying another one of these sometime in the future, just to see if it's a one-time problem, but otherwise I'll definitely be sticking to the G-nib pen.
  Thought I would love..., August 7, 2013
Thought I would love it, but I should have listened to the reviews. Maybe it is just my pen, but the feed is so close to the tip that it drags on the paper unless I make sure to hold the pen a certain way. I wonder how this pen would do with regular water-based ink. Still, it was only $6, and I would give the fine point version a chance. I am quite used to Asian fines and EF nibs, but this one writes dry for me (and I know it is possible for even XXF nibs to not be dry writers). I tried to open the tines a tiny bit with a pin but didn't get much more flow.

You could stab someone with this sharp nib, which the instructions warn against. My nib is a bit scratchy too, which EFs don't have to be -- see the black Pilot Penmanship for a great example of a smooth wet Asian EF, which is an American XXF. Ah well, live and learn. I still love the great selection and pricing here, as well as the free shipping for a low amount.
  This is a very well made..., June 30, 2013
By nat...
This is a very well made pen but it is unreliable and not very useful. The flow is erratic with the ink that comes with it, I think the ball bearing in the cartridge inhibits flow as well as reducing the amount of ink. If you remove it after installation and run warm water over everything the flow improves. I converted it to an eyedropper, it holds alot of ink and flows much better than the original. The nib can also be removed if anyone is curious, but the feed is fixed.
The Name of the pen implies that it is a fountain pen with a drawing nib capable of producing lines like those of comic nibs on dip pens. If thats what you want this pen doesn't do that. The nib is super fine point with no tipping but has zero flex under any pressure. This means that the only variation in line thickness is caused by the elasticity of the paper itself. The lines it makes are absurdly fine, almost invisible and the nib is so sharp it is constantly gouging the paper and getting fibers stuck between the tines. The result is inconsistent, barely visible lines that are hard to make. I cannot think of a possible drawing application which would not be better served by a micron or staedtler, there is no need for making lines this fine. If this pen had been made with a nib that flexed like the tachikawa dip pens it would be amazing, that is a pen every artist would love and what I hoped to get. Unfortunately it manages to have neither the line quality of a dip pen or the reliability of a drafting pen.