JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 2.6 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
February 23, 2012
Holy. Cow. My new favorite...
Verified Purchase
Holy. Cow. My new favorite pen. I have been using the Linemarkers in the 0.3 and 0.5 sizes for a few weeks (which are also great), but I just got this in the mail, and I cannot contain my enthusiasm for how much I love this one! I am drawing at the time of writing this, and I keep stopping to admire the line and the pen itself! I have to disagree with the previous review about the lack of difference between point sizes on the 0.1 and 0.3 (honestly, I feel the size difference between the 0.3 and 0.5 is where the difference is least discernible).

These pens come with two cartridges of black waterproof ink. On cheap paper (which I really like unfortunately) sometimes the tines of these pens can catch some fibers which might cause skipping, which is easily remedied by a tissue. On cheaper or lighter weight paper, I also avoid wet-ink areas or filling blacks to avoid the clogging. I suppose they prefer a very smooth and thick paper, like hot-press bristol. These pens take a little experimenting to get used to; they don't appreciate hard pressure! It's better to press lightly, as if using a brush to get the best line quality and to avoid clogging the tines, which are not flexible, at least not by much.

I have not had the chance to refill any of my LMs, but I am cautious to heed the frequent use warning! There is a little fiber pad inside that feeds the ink, and understandably if this dries with waterproof ink...it's bricked! I left one uncapped for a half hour and had a panic attack...

The ink is waterproof, but a little slow to completely dry. It dries fairly quickly once applied, but in some areas where ink likes to collect on a line (the start and stop) might not completely dry as quickly. I also avoid erasing or rubbing for a few minutes, because it can smear. This again could be due to my absorbent cheap paper...but once dry, it's heavily dark and doesn't bleed or feather (20-24lb printer/bond paper).

I first encountered these pens in France in a shop window and was in love at first sight. I was incredibly pleased to find that JetPens stocked them once I returned...I wanted a fountain-style pen that would handle waterproof ink for art and they fit the bill perfectly. I am glad I took a leap to try this size.

5 people found this helpful
Calder.Vayne
 
September 10, 2011
I purchased this pen...
Verified Purchase
I purchased this pen after I recently bought the 0.3mm Linemarker. The 0.3 made a line roughly the width of my 0.5 gel pens. Therefore, I expected this pen to make a finer line, perhaps close to 0.4 or even 0.3 gel pens. Unfortunately, I cannot see any difference between the two pens. I've tried both of them on all types of paper, and the results are visually the same. I compared the nibs under a magnifier, and didn't see any size difference between them. So I'm disappointed. Like the 0.3 pen, it makes a nice consistent line on most papers. (It skipped a bit on rough sketch paper.)

6 people found this helpful
ebenfatto
 
February 11, 2013
When I first tried this...
Verified Purchase
When I first tried this pen for my illustrations, just to compare it to my Copic SP pens, I was about to throw it away.

Like other users mentioned, it wouldn't write for me-- the ink was present, but wouldn't transfer through the nib and onto the paper without me using a particular amount of force. (And even then, it was still worth a few scratches before the nib went dry.) It drove me crazy. I was about to give up, but after replacing the ink cartridge with a new one, it suddenly works like nothing was ever wrong. Really creepy and awkward, but now it's my favorite pen to work with. I have no idea why it works after such a lag, but it is worth it.

The best point about this pen is its stability. I have to put more effort into my SP's in order to achieve the cohesive lines that I make with this pen. Line variation is also possible, but it's not remarkable (lighter pressure makes thinner lines that are simultaneously kinda shaky, heavier pressure thickens lines but causes the ink to momentarily clog in the nib).

A negative factor: I will mention that it's a pretty spoiled pen. You have to use it VERY often, or else the ink does get kind of dry and forces a scratch on the paper.

Overall, I find this pen great for my big illustrations. It pairs perfectly with my SP's, which get the smaller details.

2 people found this helpful
 
October 17, 2013
I found this pen and...
I found this pen and the ink that came with it of very high quality.

The body of the pen is very sleek, overall great aesthetics in my opinion. Definitely a plus.

The ink dries quickly, is waterproof and smudge-proof, which is great for any kind of watercolor sketches or any kind of art. The 01 nib is pretty smooth (although it does catch on the page rarely (albeit very rarely) but that's usually when I'm using it when writing and not drawing and applying a little more pressure than I probably should).

I love the fact that the pen body has room to store an extra ink cartridge so that you always have a spare ready. The line the pen lays down is very consistent, flow is great! The only real complaint I have is about comfort -- the threaded grip area is not so great for holding for extended periods of time, but that really depends on how tightly you grip your writing utensils.

Overall a great buy for as cheap as it is. I would definitely recommend it to anybody looking for a precision nib that doesn't want to have to mess with a dip pen or manga nibs and a holder.

1 person found this helpful
 
January 18, 2013
I agree with @sambuco.adam....
Verified Purchase
I agree with @sambuco.adam. This never even STARTED working for me. Just seems at best temperamental and at worst badly made.

 
March 9, 2013
I bought one of these...
Verified Purchase
I bought one of these a few months ago and I've never got it to work yet.

tylergould10
 
February 12, 2013
Over the first couple...
Verified Purchase
Over the first couple days of receiving the pen, I got it to work for around 3 or 4 days with it occasionally stop working. Then it just stopped working completely. Definitely not the best pen, and I wouldn't really recommend it for any mangaka, as it is extremely unreliable, and not a very great purchase on my part...

piplupsgiuld
 
October 27, 2012
I've had it for three...
Verified Purchase
I've had it for three days and it still won't write. Everything is put together just fine, but the only way it will make a mark is if the actual black feeder thing touches the paper. No ink is ever transferred down the nib. I am extremely disappointed with this purchase.

sambuco.adam
 
November 6, 2011
awful. stopped working...
awful. stopped working after 3 days

Jakemachine9