JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (14 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 8, 2011
I'M A PRO COMIC BOOK...
Verified Purchase
I'M A PRO COMIC BOOK ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR. I'VE FOUND THESE TO BE A GREAT BRUSH PEN FOR MY WORK. THESE HAVE A "SILKY" CHARACTER SIMILAR TO THAT OF THE ZEBRA PENS, THOUGH, IN MY EXPERIENCE, THE TIPS ARE SLIGHTLY LESS SHARP THAN THOSE OF THE ZEBRAS AND HAVE LESS "SPRING" OR "BOUNCE" TO THEM. THAT SAID, THEY SEEM ARE MORE DURABLE THAN THE KURATAKES. (THE KURATAKES HAVE A SLIGHTLY "DIRTIER", FREER CHARCATER THAT I LIKE, THOUGH.) HAVE TO SAY, ZEBRAS "FINES" AND "SUPER FINES" ARE MY PERSONAL "GO TO" FAVORITES, BUT THESE COME PRETTY CLOSE. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED-- ESPECIALLY IF YOU'VE TRIED THE ZEBRAS BUT WOULD PREFER SOMETHING JUST A LITTLE "SOFTER" IN FEEL.

7 people found this helpful
 
August 18, 2010
I love this pen for cartooning...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen for cartooning - you get a good variable width line, but it's a lot easier to handle - more controlled - than a hair brush pen. If you draw a line too fast it does get a bit dry, but other than that, it's a very good cartooning pen.

I think I like the tip on this one a little better the tip on the Zebra Sign Pen, but they're quite similar.

4 people found this helpful
 
July 14, 2010
This was one of my first...
Verified Purchase
This was one of my first brush pens and I'm glad it was - it provides a very good introduction to what is possible with a brush pen.

The tip is hard and sharp but becomes slightly more pliable after some use. Excellent line variation is possible (very fine detail to a nice thick line) and it is easier to control than standard brush pens (e.g. Pentel Pocket) due to its hardness.

My single reservation is that on some paper, I wish the ink was slightly darker and I also wish it held up better to erasing. After some research and experimentation, I have discovered that the right paper makes all the difference (Borden & Riley Paris Bleedproof Paper For Pens - is quite expensive but superb for all of my ink-related illustrations - and wonderful with this pen).

4 people found this helpful
jbernberg
 
February 1, 2011
I had been buying these...
I had been buying these pens at the airport in Singapore for 12 years while traveling through every year to Australia until they changed owners, and they disappeared! I used to have them ordered by the two dozen I was so addicted to them. So now I find them again! They are the best! My friends loved them so much I had to give them away. I use them both for drawing and writing with very sexy results. They soften beautifully with time but beware as they do dry out quite quickly.
I cannot believe I found them again after much searching. They are like finding an old friend again.

4 people found this helpful
christophercoffey
 
April 23, 2010
I tried both of these...
Verified Purchase
I tried both of these pens and they were way too dry for my taste. I did not like them at all! I ended up tossing them out within a week.

2 people found this helpful
 
January 11, 2010
best brush pen i've ever...
Verified Purchase
best brush pen i've ever used. i've been looking everywhere for them since mine ran out.

1 person found this helpful
reddmunki
 
October 19, 2009
Good value sketching...
Good value sketching pen for doodling with moderate line variation. Ink dries waterproof quikly, so outlines can easily be colored with watercolors and other water media as soon as they are drawn. Comparable to the disposable Zebra brush sign pens.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 22, 2014
I bought this brush pen...
Verified Purchase
I bought this brush pen in case my Uni Mitsubishi Double-Sided pen dries up, but this is much drier in comparison and the firm tip makes a cautious person like myself worry about pressing too hard.

Miss Adiantum
 
January 29, 2014
First off awesome shipping....
Verified Purchase
First off awesome shipping. Took 2 days and my stuff is here. As for the pen, it's a great pen for lettering in general. I even managed to pull off some copperplate using this but you gotta be patient to get the width right. Overall the best brush lettering pen I've used thus far. The black ink is nice and dark and if you have pencil strokes over it, they can be removed without leaving traces of it. The great thing is although the pen is hard it's got enough flex to it but you gotta go gently with it and you're good to go.

abhi.and.leigh
 
January 2, 2014
I ordered this one along...
Verified Purchase
I ordered this one along with the Pilot Fude-Makase Color Brush Pen. Both are comparable. If you have one, you may not need the other, and I find them to both be very similar.

I like this pen a lot. I have all the Zebra ones and this one seems a little less mushy, with a slightly thinner line. It's a good addition w the Zebras. I like the blacks, and the fact that I can get a very thin line, but still with some variation.

jasonweaveresq