My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
7 out of 10 people found the following review helpful
  I'M A PRO COMIC BOOK..., March 8, 2011
I'M A PRO COMIC BOOK ARTIST AND ILLUSTRATOR. I'VE FOUND THESE TO BE A GREAT BRUSH PEN FOR MY WORK. THESE HAVE A "SILKY" CHARACTER SIMILAR TO THAT OF THE ZEBRA PENS, THOUGH, IN MY EXPERIENCE, THE TIPS ARE SLIGHTLY LESS SHARP THAN THOSE OF THE ZEBRAS AND HAVE LESS "SPRING" OR "BOUNCE" TO THEM. THAT SAID, THEY SEEM ARE MORE DURABLE THAN THE KURATAKES. (THE KURATAKES HAVE A SLIGHTLY "DIRTIER", FREER CHARCATER THAT I LIKE, THOUGH.) HAVE TO SAY, ZEBRAS "FINES" AND "SUPER FINES" ARE MY PERSONAL "GO TO" FAVORITES, BUT THESE COME PRETTY CLOSE. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED-- ESPECIALLY IF YOU'VE TRIED THE ZEBRAS BUT WOULD PREFER SOMETHING JUST A LITTLE "SOFTER" IN FEEL.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I love this pen for cartooning..., August 18, 2010
I love this pen for cartooning - you get a good variable width line, but it's a lot easier to handle - more controlled - than a hair brush pen. If you draw a line too fast it does get a bit dry, but other than that, it's a very good cartooning pen.

I think I like the tip on this one a little better the tip on the Zebra Sign Pen, but they're quite similar.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  This was one of my first..., July 14, 2010
By jbe...
This was one of my first brush pens and I'm glad it was - it provides a very good introduction to what is possible with a brush pen.

The tip is hard and sharp but becomes slightly more pliable after some use. Excellent line variation is possible (very fine detail to a nice thick line) and it is easier to control than standard brush pens (e.g. Pentel Pocket) due to its hardness.

My single reservation is that on some paper, I wish the ink was slightly darker and I also wish it held up better to erasing. After some research and experimentation, I have discovered that the right paper makes all the difference (Borden & Riley Paris Bleedproof Paper For Pens - is quite expensive but superb for all of my ink-related illustrations - and wonderful with this pen).
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I had been buying these..., February 1, 2011
I had been buying these pens at the airport in Singapore for 12 years while traveling through every year to Australia until they changed owners, and they disappeared! I used to have them ordered by the two dozen I was so addicted to them. So now I find them again! They are the best! My friends loved them so much I had to give them away. I use them both for drawing and writing with very sexy results. They soften beautifully with time but beware as they do dry out quite quickly.
I cannot believe I found them again after much searching. They are like finding an old friend again.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I tried both of these..., April 23, 2010
By dolces
I tried both of these pens and they were way too dry for my taste. I did not like them at all! I ended up tossing them out within a week.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  best brush pen i've ever..., January 11, 2010
By red...
best brush pen i've ever used. i've been looking everywhere for them since mine ran out.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Good value sketching..., October 19, 2009
Good value sketching pen for doodling with moderate line variation. Ink dries waterproof quikly, so outlines can easily be colored with watercolors and other water media as soon as they are drawn. Comparable to the disposable Zebra brush sign pens.
  First off awesome shipping...., January 29, 2014
First off awesome shipping. Took 2 days and my stuff is here. As for the pen, it's a great pen for lettering in general. I even managed to pull off some copperplate using this but you gotta be patient to get the width right. Overall the best brush lettering pen I've used thus far. The black ink is nice and dark and if you have pencil strokes over it, they can be removed without leaving traces of it. The great thing is although the pen is hard it's got enough flex to it but you gotta go gently with it and you're good to go.
  I ordered this one along..., January 2, 2014
By jas...
I ordered this one along with the Pilot Fude-Makase Color Brush Pen. Both are comparable. If you have one, you may not need the other, and I find them to both be very similar.

I like this pen a lot. I have all the Zebra ones and this one seems a little less mushy, with a slightly thinner line. It's a good addition w the Zebras. I like the blacks, and the fact that I can get a very thin line, but still with some variation.
  This is my fav brush..., April 1, 2013
This is my fav brush pen. I have tried more expensive brush pens, but this one has everything I like! It is compact, glides across the page effortlessly and is responsive to the pressure I apply to it. It does fine and thicker lines very nicely for me (I may have a heavy hand though). I would highly recommend it. I have already bought several, and have even given them away as gifts!
  Hard, yet smooth. At..., June 6, 2012
By tso...
Hard, yet smooth. At first i found that they dried pretty quickly but it's rather long-use. Ideal for lettering.
  A recent college graduate,..., May 20, 2012
A recent college graduate, I did most of my final project with this pen, Franklin Booth Style, old school pen and ink Comic book illustrations, these things ROCK !
While I admit my hand is very harsh ( I use a .9 lead in my pencils ) that take a toll on these pen's tips ( my pens still have ink, but I have worn out the nibs), but of you have a delicate ( normal ) hand, these things are a godsend for comic book artists and illustrators. I have recommended these to several friends and they love this too.
So in short, give these a try, you will wonder why you have never tried these.
  I absolutely LOVE these..., November 30, 2009
By bif...
I absolutely LOVE these pens - the short hard tip allows for lovely fine line variations but I would not call them waterproof.