My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Classy!...One of my favorite..., February 16, 2012
By kxc...
Classy!...One of my favorite mechanical pencils. Compact..substantial all metal internals. Brass, and steel. Sleek ebony black paint job. No rattle or play. Tight brass clutch. You have to unscrew the body to access the eraser/lead storage tube. On the heavy side but it has a really nice feel when sketching or writing.

Absolutely a 5 star pencil.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is amazing..., June 4, 2011
This pencil is amazing the build quality is superb and the led extension goes all the way through the lead not leaving the little piece at the end I love this pencil I definitely recommend it to everyone.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Amazingly surprised!..., January 7, 2011
Amazingly surprised! I write about 6 hours a day and holding this pencil is like a vacation for my hand! What are the chances of getting this pencil in the royal purple??
3 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  Long long time ago, I..., February 7, 2013
By sma...
Long long time ago, I used to work for a Japanese automaker..name starts with "H". The organization was structured in such that each department was headed by a technical advisor (TAD) -- who is a Japanese and has considerable number of years in the department. Anyhow, to cut this story short, he had a wonderful pencil that he used to write with... I always admired his pencil and obviously let him know as well. He told me that he will get me a pencil when he goes back to Japan during vacation. It so happened that I moved on before he could get me a pencil. Now, the story begins ... I'm a fountain pen & mechanical pencil enthusiast. Over the years, my dream to get this pencil kept glowing .. I was sure I will get it one day. Irony was, I remember the design of the pencil but did not remembered the manufacturer's name.
Today, on Feb 7th 2013, I was searching for a mechanical pencils with a cap and manufactured in Japan. Hoping that I will be able to see my familiar design once again. I stumbled upon this website. Eureka!! there it is ... I found it!! Not to mention that I have already purchased the pencil and thought I will share my story with everyone. Waiting to get it in mail next week.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is one fantastic..., June 29, 2012
By mon...
This is one fantastic pencil! I have used Pentel Kerry's for over 10 years, and after damaging my last Kerry I decided to try the Tombow Zoom 505. I have now been using the Zoom for over a year for note taking and technical sketching, and have found it to be extremely well balanced, and a joy to hold (because of the "perfect" rubberized texture on the grip area). The lead feeds precisely, and the chuck holds on to the lead until that last bit is gone. The cap posts smoothly with a quiet click, and the lead advance provides a controlled amount to the tip every time. The pencil finish is superb, and does not show any wear or scratching, even after a year of long days in the field with some not-so-loving treatment.

While the Zoom was about double the price of the Kerry, I have found it to be well worth the extra cost. Actually the pencil is a real bargain, considering the exceptional workmanship and materials used.

If you write or sketch for long periods on a daily basis, this is the pencil you you will want to buy!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Great pencil! I have..., June 12, 2012
By jev...
Great pencil! I have been using the Pentel Kerry for about 15 years, and have always loved the cap feature on that pencil. This Tombow beats that in almost everyway... key points:

1) perfect heft
2) very satisfying click when the cap goes on
3) look of the pencil
4) the fact that lead is used all the way.

Will getting another one for a back up. Get this, you won't be disappointed!
  I have had a few of these..., February 19, 2013
I have had a few of these dating back over 10 years. I have not found anything that comes close this! I see JetPens now only has a one available color. I hope they are not discontinued!!!
  I absolutely LOVE everything..., January 10, 2013
I absolutely LOVE everything about these pencils (and) pens. The weight, the grip, the style... Top class.

When I as a TA back in college (Ohio State), I had to draw an example for one of my Japanese exchange students and I didn't have a pen/pencil handy. So I asked if I could use his for a moment while we work through a problem and little did I know, he handed me a Tombow 505. I really didn't think anything of it at first, but after working with him for awhile, I noticed "wow, I really like how this pencil feels".... he turns to me and says "you keep, you keep!".... I didn't know what to say, so I politely said "hey, thanks man!!".

Where I'm going with this is that 505 literally became an extension of my hand throughout my jr and senior years. Until I lost it while moving out!! After lots of empty searching, I found that JetPens not only had the black one, but they had other colors too! And now I've become addicted to writing and honing my penmanship with these.

Yes they are a bit pricey, but I look at it as a "give/take" scenario. Sure there's a trade off (high price), but I PROMISE you I won't be losing my beloved 505's!!! Get one today, you won't be disappointed.

and if you are........well....cust service can help you much better than I could :0)
  This mechanical pencil..., June 26, 2012
By wne...
This mechanical pencil is superb! It is very pleasant and highly suitable for writing long text passages. Using this pen, I donĀ“t get tired and I can use this pencil as "workhorse". It is a fair price.

FYI: I use (mechanical) pencils almost exclusively for writing; hence, I can compare between many different models quite well (Lamy 2000, Lamy Scribble, Lamy accent, Pentel Kerry, 2 Rotrings, lots of Faber Castells and Staedtlers etc.). The Tombow Zoom 505 is my personal shooting star :-)
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  very nice pencil!..., December 15, 2010
very nice pencil!
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I love this pencil!!!..., November 4, 2010
I love this pencil!!! It's great!
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Please restock this ..., May 16, 2010
By zet...
Please restock this color!!
0 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  not worth the $......, February 4, 2011
not worth the $...