Page 1 of 1 | 
Try this paper just...
November 30, 2013
Verified Purchase
Try this paper just once if you want to understand why it has a cult following. It's lightweight (akin to airmail, bank, or layout paper if you want a comparison) so it might not be to your personal taste, but it's especially good with fountain pens and shows off FP inks to their best advantage, and with no feathering or bleed. (In my experience, anyway, and I use some very saturated inks.) I've bought a lot of Tomoe River over the last couple of years in both white and cream from various sources, both loose and bound into books, and it's never disappointed me. Despite being lightweight, it's robust enough to withstand hole-punches and daily use in ring binders; my bog-standard HP printer handles it with ease; it accepts inkjet printing well; I can make it into stitched notebook refills or glued pads; and it's a wonderful tactile experience to write on. Yes, it's delicate, so it rumples more easily than regular paper if you're not careful, and if you can't tolerate any show-through then it's not for you, but if that doesn't put you off, then you'll probably love this paper with a passion. I bought it originally because I needed a high page count without thickness, and everything else from bank and bible paper to airmail paper in the right size and colour was proving too hard to source, but now I buy it as much for the sheer pleasure of using it as its practical advantages. Treat yourself to a pack!

16 people found this helpful
This review addresses...
March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase
This review addresses some characteristics not expanded in the excellent and comprehensive posting here ("Try this paper just ..."). Writing applications are very well covered there. This is for those who need more information for their paper projects other than correspondence.
This medium is surprisingly brawny for such a thin paper. It stands up well to wet media (transparent watercolors, brushed inks), paper mechanics (origami, pop-up pagination, envelopes, Japanese fans and lanterns), and one-off prints (linoleum block, rubber stamp) for tipping-in by custom book makers. Wet media pucker occurs but relaxes when the medium dries, returning to a flat and dimensionally stable condition.
The paper does not dilute black into a gray by absorption resulting in an extremely pleasing contrast ratio. There is a high fidelity of wet and dry colors on this white. The high contrast between black and white makes this a perfect vehicle for any reproducible need. Very thin for intricate pin-point accuracy with swivel cutters. Minimum amounts of feathering and bleed through makes this paper wonderfully receptive to extreme detail in printing and manual artwork (specifically pen and ink).
The surface can be reworked after ink-jet printing and heat does not seem to change the texture or media acceptance.
Extremely resilient under repeated back-and-forth creasing (does not tear but hinges, instead).
Archival characteristics are unknown but this paper is impressively versatile for everyday use by artisans.
12 people found this helpful
I love this paper! Paper...
August 15, 2014
I love this paper! Paper is my thing. More specifically, writing on nice paper is one of my greatest luxuries, and I've found my favorite paper for writing with fountain pens. I write letters and also hole-punch it to go in my planner. I'm able to write on both sides of the paper with blue fountain pen inks and a medium nib. Though it does show through the other side, it doesn't bleed through, and I don't find it makes it hard to read both sides unless using a dark ink. Now that I've learned this paper works well for art as well, I'm excited to try painting on it.
3 people found this helpful
mybuttercup
Fantastic, magical paper....
December 1, 2014
Verified Purchase
Fantastic, magical paper. Wish it came with a dot-grid pattern (thus the 4 stars, should really be 5, though). The thin paper is deceptive, but no matter what fountain pen and ink I use with this paper, the characters are crisp with no spread. I've been making my own notebooks and 50 folded sheets of this thin paper produces a thinner notebook than 40 folded sheets of Rhodia.
2 people found this helpful
orton.bret
To those who wonder whether...
October 29, 2014
To those who wonder whether or not the paper is good for drawing- It is, but it depends on what you're using. The paper takes ink very well, but things like Copic markers or any other alcohol based marker don't get the even wash effect the do on regular paper. Also worth mentioning is that some inks change their properties on this paper. For example, the Zebra disposable brush pen is Copic proof on regular paper, but on the Tomoe it smears. So before doing any big project on it, it's better to take a separate sheet and see how the materials you'll use will act on it.
Other than that, the paper is actually great. No bleed through with inks, and the paper is somewhat transparent which allows to trace drawings :)
2 people found this helpful
I love this paper so...
October 8, 2014
Verified Purchase
I love this paper so much, thin like dictionary paper but it takes fountain pen and even elaborate calligraphy and some watercolor (it's not artist grade paper of course) on both sides. Even the ghosting is minimal.

One note; should you like me want to bind your own notebook with this paper be prepared to struggle a bit. It is delicate paper that tears easily (although not nearly as fast as most papers this thin) and doesn't respond well to excessive use of watered down glue/paste
1 person found this helpful
liesan.croese
This is by far the best...
January 22, 2015
Verified Purchase
This is by far the best paper I've ever written on. There's no feathering or bleeding with any of the inks I have tried (Mont Blanc midnight blue, Platinum Carbon Black Pigment, Kaweco blue black cartridges, etc.). I've done some light watercoloring on it and it takes it beautifully as long as it's not too wet.
valeriamezzano
My entry into Tomoe River...
January 13, 2015
Verified Purchase
My entry into Tomoe River paper is a good experience.
dyeager9334
Very fast delivery of...
January 9, 2015
Verified Purchase
Very fast delivery of this great quality paper.
macdonalddoris
If you've never written...
November 24, 2014
Verified Purchase
If you've never written on Tomoe River paper with a fountain pen, you are missing out.
Page 1 of 1 |