JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 6, 2013
Awesome pencil. I am...
Verified Purchase
Awesome pencil. I am a stationery fanatic and this series of shaker pencils is my favorite because I like the sleek look, the soft grip, and the shaker function. I had one in green, pink, and blue, but unfortunately, all three were stolen at school and that really upset me. If you buy one, be sure to keep it at home so it won't get stolen and never lend it to anyone, or it will be stolen. That's how much people want these pencils.

2 people found this helpful
 
March 16, 2012
Hi! I'm Kristie and I'm...
Hi! I'm Kristie and I'm 10. I had this pencil for...2 years now and its awesome. The squishy gel grip gives you a ton of comfort and sometimes I force myself to doodle in class just because I want to write with this pencil! I would not recommend this pencil to people 8 or under because the grip is fragile and can be easily ripped. I had already experienced 2 rips so now this is technically my third pencil! I bring this pencil to school with me everyday. The only issue is stealers. My friend also has this pencil (but it's green) and she had hers stolen. I guess some people are just too dumb to buy their own! It is a very good pencil for everyday writers. It is perfect for little gifts, rewards, and prizes. But, I have a friend who thinks grips are uncomfortable. Before you buy this, you need to know this grip is for people who want extra comfort in writing and does not have a good grip on their pencils. So, that means the grip will also feel a bit sticky, too. This pencil is not meant for people who hold their pencils low so don't buy this if you do. I would recommend you to buy a regular grip because those grips are movable. Also, the grip (this one) is removable. First, twist off the front tip bit. Then, carefully pull the grip down. There! Now to put it back in, just put the grip back and twist on the front tip bit. Be sure to twist it lightly because if you twist it hard the grip will break. If you have any more questions, please email me at kristiesychan@gmail.com with the subject labeled "Jetpens question". Hope it helped!

2 people found this helpful
kristiesychan
 
March 14, 2011
This pencil is like so...
This pencil is like so awsome ... I LOVE it!!!!!!!!!!!! so squishy :)

2 people found this helpful
 
December 13, 2010
This pencil is amazing....
Verified Purchase
This pencil is amazing. You should totally get this!

Good:

Everything

Bad:

Nothing

2 people found this helpful
tanushkagupta
 
October 8, 2010
First off, I am a girly-girl....
First off, I am a girly-girl. I love pastels and have a collection of mechanicals pencils in pastel tones so I never thought of buying one in black before. But I saw this in a stationery store and I was smitten. The color combination and the grip color was quite stunning. I was sitting in lecture yesterday and a GUY kept staring at my pencil- haha. I was debating if I should get an alpha-gel for over a year because I kept reading that the grip rips and I hate wasting $. But when I saw this in front my eyes, I couldn't help it. I bought one for the bf in blue-black and he still hasn't stopped fiddling with it. Our new daily pencils.

Two downs- I like a little weight on my instruments (Dr. Grip fangirl) and this feels a little too light for my liking. And it feels a pretty plastic-y all around. Hence 4 stars. But the lock system, colors, and the grip won me over. I'm praying the grip won't rip anytime soon and if it does.. I'll just steal my bf's. ;) Recommended.

3 people found this helpful
 
November 2, 2014
With all the different...
Verified Purchase
With all the different mechanical pencils out there, this one is one of the pricier ones, but it is definitely worth the $10!

I've owned this pencil for several years, but it was stolen (like another reviewer said... everyone just wants these!) I liked it so much that I just had to buy a replacement. The gel grip is soft and a fantastic treat for my fingers. Ever since using this pencil, the usual writer's callus (or that's what I call it) on my middle finger has almost disappeared. This was my first shaker pencil, so for those who haven't used a shaker pencil before, it will take some time to get used to (but you can extend the lead using the regular click at top as well)

I had no issues with the grip getting ripped. I actually don't see how that's possibly, unless you're physically trying to damage the grip... or you're chewing on it. :)

I like this pencil so much that I'm considering getting one of these pencils for all my friends for Christmas! Buy this, it won't disappoint!

 
August 22, 2014
This pencil is just amazing!...
Verified Purchase
This pencil is just amazing! First of all, it's the grip. Many people complain and say that the Alpha Gel grip is not as squishy as they thought it would be. Trust me, it's the squishiest grip I have ever used and very comfortable for that reason. I would also like to say that the shaking mechanisms in the alpha gel are awesome! You can lock the shaker mechanism by pressing down in the cap and you'll hear a click like a pen that let's you know it's locked. It is also a tad louder than the Dr Grips shakers but that's nothing to bad. I highly recommend it! You won't regret it!!! I also recommend the Pilot Dr Grip Play Border Shaker pencil and the Pilot Dr Grip G-Spec Deco series pencils!

 
May 26, 2011
Guys buy this pencil...
Guys buy this pencil so all of the full alpha gels go away then they will be restocked

joshua.kanofsky
 
December 12, 2009
I have like three of...
I have like three of these pencils...and I have to say I LOVE IT! The grip is just amazing. I think though this series the grip isnt as squishy as the original series. The only problem with it is that after a while the gel starts to come out a little of the edges from the barrell and the grip. Little parts of it are like that.

almanacmak
 
October 15, 2009
Uni-ball Alpha Gel Shaka...
Uni-ball Alpha Gel Shaka Shaker Pencil - 0.5 mm

Good:
- Perfect balance in weight.
- Gel provides comfort in people who tend to write fast or extensively.
- Revised clip, better than the HD series one.
- Shaker is okay.

Bad:
- Grip rips very easily, good care is recommended to avoid this.
- The shaking mechanism sometimes jams.
- No lower grip for writers who grip the pencil low.

--**Digiflex**--

digiflexrs123