My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Uni-ball Alpha Gel Shaka..., October 15, 2009
Uni-ball Alpha Gel Shaka Shaker Pencil - 0.5 mm

Good:
- Perfect balance in weight.
- Gel provides comfort in people who tend to write fast or extensively.
- Revised clip, better than the HD series one.
- Shaker is okay.

Bad:
- Grip rips very easily, good care is recommended to avoid this.
- The shaking mechanism sometimes jams.
- No lower grip for writers who grip the pencil low.

--**Digiflex**--
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  PROS 1) Let's get the..., April 23, 2012
PROS
1) Let's get the obvious out of the way; the alpha gel grip is superb, but it is VERY soft, keep this in mind. It feels closer to a thick cloud than the "squish" I was expecting. The grip on the 207 premier, a pen I also HIGHLY recommend btw, is more what I had in mind when I ordered this, though the difference between them is marginal.
That being said, I have a pencil-snapping, pen-shattering vice grip, especially when writing intently, and the Shaka's grip is supportive enough and body sturdy enough to enable my bad habits, unlike so many unfortunate Ticonderogas and BIC Atlantises before it.

2) The shaker function. As an American, it's the first time I'm using one and its pretty handy. i.e. mid-sentence when a thought may escape me if I pick up the pencil for too long, SHAKESHAKE and back to it. For the erratic memory or fast note-taking, it's surprisingly helpful.

3) The feature to disengage the shaker mechanism and lead clutch by fully depressing the clicker (as opposed to just part way to release more lead, like a camera shutter release) is intuitive and really an "extra mile" feature. As useful as the shaker is, it could definitely be obtrusive when you're not using the pencil and lead comes out every time you move your arms quickly, like during the all-too-frequent heated, violent, passionate or otherwise physically demanding Excel/PowerPoint presentation. The folks at Mitsu foresaw this, and gave the option of retracting the lead and not allowing the shaker mechanism to release any more until manually reengaged. Brilliant.

4) Everything else seems of solid build and it looks nice too, it has a heavier feel than most mechanical pencils, though this may just be the additional shaker mechanism, grip, and sheer size :x

5) To further illustrate the ergonomic triumph of the Shaka, its balance point can be found right at the juncture between the chrome middle piece and the "black" (see CONS below) upper shaft, aka the fulcrum where it will rest against most people's hands. This understated anatomical feature makes for an even smoother writing experience.

CONS
1) Like all soft grips, the alpha suffers from swiffer syndrome; it collects dust and grime better than most of my vacuums. I actually roll it across my desk to get all the dust up, then wipe it off into my garbage. No joke.

2) The tip (nib piece, not sure what it's called on a pencil) does not retract into the pencil, leaving a fairly sharp point floating around in a bag or pants pocket.

3) The lead that comes with it is a little soft, but pshht.

4) The colors of both the body and the grip are less black, more dark grey but, again, pshht.

5) The shaker, even when disengaged from releasing more lead, can still move inside the pen when shaken firmly, though not as freely. For example, it doesn't move when the pencil is just tipped over end-on-end, but when shaken a bit harder, whatever is holding the shaker in place lets go. It's definitely odd, and makes me a little concerned about the durability of whatever is disengaging it. But, and I promise this is the last one, pshht :)

The first two cons, in addition to the price, will keep this gem on my desk. But for 10 bucks, it's a steal for someone with bad form who does a lot of writing.

p.s. I would recommend buying this with some other things to make free shipping. Get a second one or better lead or maybe the 207 premier with some refills. I had to pay six dollars to get this to NJ, which is nearly the price of the 207 premier, and you're going to need to refill it some time :) Hope this little novella helped.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  this pencil is the best..., January 21, 2011
this pencil is the best ive ever had. the grip is better than the alpha gel kuru toga or hd and the body is shaped just right and is smooth. the blackness also looks good, i just wish that they didnt put the directions on the pencil, but on the package instead.
  I enjoy writing with..., April 4, 2014
I enjoy writing with this pencil a lot; I am a college student who take notes in Anatomy and Physiology, so I have a ton of notes to write in class. This is one of my favorite mechanical pens to write with because the grip is so comfortable (also use 4B lead in it for extra smooth writing).

I am not really one to write with pencils/ pens with a wide circumference such as this but it is indeed so comfortable that I don't mind at all. The fact that it is a shaker is an added bonus (so I don't have to click the top end for more lead, a simple shake and the lead comes out a bit on its own).

5/5
  WOULD NOT BUY AGAIN...., July 16, 2013
By joh...
WOULD NOT BUY AGAIN.

The grip is an outstanding, very good gel. This can't be exaggerated; it feels divine.

Now for the bad.
The shaker mechanism is really disappointing. So basically you can click the pen to make lead come out, but if you keep pushing when clicking, you can lock it. This prevents the shaker mechanism from activating. Just push the cap again very deeply to unlock it. Once a bit of lead is out of the pencil, you can shake it to make more come out. It feels like a white-out pen because of the mechanism inside of it. The shaker mechanism is really just a gimmick. It does work, but one shake puts out too much lead. Other than that, it is a nice, full bodied pen, but it isn't worth the buy if you're looking for a unique pen that functions very well.
  Kind of heavy and thick..., April 27, 2013
By roqz
Kind of heavy and thick for a plastic mechanical pencil, novelty item but not so useful when writing.
  the pencil is pretty..., November 17, 2012
By eri...
the pencil is pretty good. the grip is squishy and takes some time to break it in. im not a fan of at pencils, but this one is okay. the precision of this writing is alright, but i prefer a kuru toga over this pencil
  This pencil is so cool..., December 29, 2010
This pencil is so cool and I wish I had a million of it. Some guy lied that it cost $20 dollors. I like the shaka and the grip. It looks really cool.
  This is a Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr..., March 26, 2010
By oba...
This is a Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreat shaker pencil. Although they are selling it on E-Bay for $6.00 I am buying it from Jet Pens because they have awesome stuff :)
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  My first one and my best..., December 3, 2009
By mel...
My first one and my best friend bought it for me. I've been using it everyday for a year and it still hasn't broken yet! Although it gets a little dirty fast.
  Bought this pencil for..., November 9, 2008
Bought this pencil for my boyfriend after he told me his favorite pencil was a sumo-grip... Now he's hooked and made me order him one more and one in pen form.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!..., April 19, 2011
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is very good...., March 8, 2011
By mil...
This pencil is very good. The grip is soft and the shaker mechanism works well. However, the grip collects grit and other stuff inside my pencil pouch(even though i keep my pouch clean!), which bothers me. The grip is more grey than black. This is one of my go to pencils currently.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  its awesome...i htink..., December 14, 2010
its awesome...i htink who ever passes on this pencil is a miss out...good pencil have it and i bought the blue one 2.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I just got one today,..., September 26, 2010
By tom...
I just got one today, it is it awesome! It is a must have!
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  is there a store that..., May 11, 2010
By sea...
is there a store that u could buy this product from i really want to know plz plz write back sum1
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Stevengao are u the one..., February 11, 2011
By jun...
Stevengao are u the one that criticized the color of the blue one?if u did then u do NOT have a sense of style.BLUE IS BEST YOU LOSER.(if u are that guy anyways) :)
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  i LOVE this PENCIL so..., February 17, 2010
By kri...
i LOVE this PENCIL so MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!