JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (16 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 26, 2012
I love both the kuru...
I love both the kuru toga and alpha gel lines that Uniball has out, so I thought I would try this combination of the two.

THE GRIP-
I like the grip. Defiantly not as squishy as the regular alpha gels (like the Uni-ball Alpha Gel HD Shaka Shaker Pencil), but I prefer this one because it is not s squishy as to make you have an unstable grip, but is still more comfortable than a standard kuru toga.

THE MECHANISM-
So far has been working just fine. I write in cursive, so this may not be as effective as writing in print, but I still like it. One of my 2 kuru togas got blocked up and I wasn't able to clear it so I had to throw it away. Will update on the lasting power later.

OVERALL-
I like the product. Only thing I could suggest would be having metal instead of a coating on plastic on the shiny section in the middle since that scratches easily. Oh, and also having a price cut. This is kinda expensive.

3 people found this helpful
 
June 6, 2010
I was so happy to see...
Verified Purchase
I was so happy to see this at Jetpens. I've got 4 other Kuru Toga pencils, from the plastic and metal collections, but I saw these Alpha Gel models while browsing Ebay. I had to have one, and love that I could get it in a few days, instead of waiting on international shipping.
The pencil itself is great. I like a wider grip, and the gel is very comfortable. The hardest part of using a Kuru Toga is not rotating the pencil as you write, since it does it for you. I find myself rotating the other models as I go, but the gel seems to help me remember to keep it stationary.
This version is also pretty light, close to the plastic model, so it's comfortable for long stretches of writing. Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful
 
September 9, 2011
I AM IN LOVE. I am...
I AM IN LOVE.

I am obsessed with writing instruments & once I find a great product, I'm loyal for life. When my fiance told me about this pencil, I couldn't believe my ears. I had to order it immediately. (Note: Shipping here at JetPens is absolutely terrific!) When I write, I write in all capitalized letters so this involves me picking up the pencil for each letter. This works wonderful with my writing style. If you prefer to write in cursive, this product may not work as well for you. You literally need to lift the pencil off of the paper in order for the lead to rotate.

1 person found this helpful
aznbabeforu
 
August 22, 2010
I was really excited...
Verified Purchase
I was really excited for this one, but I was honestly disappointed. Basically, the grip is the best part, and the lead comes out no differently than any other pencil I've ever used.

On the positive side, it is very nice to write with. :)

1 person found this helpful
devynchaeli
 
November 17, 2012
i really like this pencil,...
i really like this pencil, it feels good in my hand and isnt as fat as the normal alpha gel, the grip is still good although not as squishy as the original. the kuru toga feature is amazing also

bobbobbobbob0987654321
 
February 18, 2011
This pencil is okay,...
Verified Purchase
This pencil is okay, but not worth the $. The Alpha Gel grip is pretty good, but not as good as in other Alpha Gels. The grip is not worth the extra money. However, the Kuru Toga engine is okay, but not like \'the greatest thing in the world\' like it sort of claims it is. I like the pencil and think that it is pretty good.

hoeltberg
 
February 17, 2011
Okay pencil. The only...
Verified Purchase
Okay pencil. The only reason I would pay this kind of money for it (the price is still steep) is for the Alpha Gel grip. The Kuru Toga engine works, but not a shakey pencil. But still okay.

hoeltberg
 
January 13, 2011
this pencil is great!...
Verified Purchase
this pencil is great! the engine works good and the grip is squishy. i just wish it had a shaker... that would make it perfect!

kennymalley2003
 
November 12, 2010
Very nice pencil to write...
Verified Purchase
Very nice pencil to write with. I've actually turned a number of people on to this pencil. The engine works well, and the pencil is very comfortable. My only complaint is the grip doesn't offer as much traction as the alpha gel HD. My hands sweat a lot and my fingers still slip on this pencil's grip all the time.

ericjwilliams
 
November 6, 2010
really nice pencil with...
really nice pencil with the nice grip. even though its more expensive than the kuru toga original its worth it. the grip makes it better..... EXCELLENT

ibrahimaksahan