JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (23 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 9, 2012
Simply outstanding. The...
Verified Purchase
Simply outstanding. The soft grip and sharpening feature aids in neat writing. The gel grip on the pencil is famous for protecting an egg from breaking when dropped on concrete, thus the grip is extremely soft and comfortable when compared to other grips. There are only two cons for this pencil: One is that the grip is slightly firmer than the original alpha-gel; the second is that the sharpening feature doesn't work if you write in cursive. Overall, this pencil is wonderful. I highly recommend this product for both long periods of writing, and short note taking.

3 people found this helpful
 
September 26, 2011
I have had this pencil...
I have had this pencil for about 3 weeks now and here's my two cents. It is an awesome pencil, its intuitive, comfortable and very light. The Kuru Toga technology is pretty helpful when taking notes etc, however, the technology requires for you to lift your pencil. This means that when drawing lines etc, the pencil doesn't spin the lead.

And to add, the gel is similar to the Alpha Gel HD series, not as squishy as the originals.

However, my biggest complaint is that it STOPPED working for me after 3 weeks. By three weeks I finished the lead that came with the pencil and when I loaded the new lead 0.5 the pencil stopped working. I've been trying different solutions but I've reached a dead end and a useless pencil.

Basically the pencil doesnt push the lead out, it just moves freely through the pencil. If anyone knows a fix for this please let me know...


4 people found this helpful
sresalock
 
April 30, 2011
I love this pencil so...
Verified Purchase
I love this pencil so awesome truly amazing :) worth the money

3 people found this helpful
twiggybones
 
March 23, 2011
this pencil is good and...
this pencil is good and bad. the good part is that the grip is squishy and your writing comes out neat. the bad part is that the led always gets stuck and u cant get it out.

3 people found this helpful
stevenrcks018
 
July 30, 2010
The grip is not as squishy...
Verified Purchase
The grip is not as squishy as your typical Alpha Gel but overall still has a great feel to it.

2 people found this helpful
Squishyhead8
 
August 7, 2010
Another thing I noticed...
Verified Purchase
Another thing I noticed that I felt worth mentioning is that I find that HB lead works better than 2B for this pencil. I think, being that it is too soft, the 2B lead wears out too quickly, so even though the mechanism is working, the lead is being blunted faster (particularly given the extra force required to make the mechanism work). Maybe it's just me, but that problem was eliminated when I tried HB lead again. Just putting that out there.

1 person found this helpful
lpmusicmanlp
 
May 17, 2014
This pencil is literally...
This pencil is literally the only one I use about 90% of the time. I hated mechanical pencils and never used them, then I bought an 0.5mm Kuru Toga from my local big-box office supplies store and loved it. I figured I'd upgrade to a nicer body and it is oh so GOOD. If I could give this a 6/5, I would. It has changed my writing style and habits with its amazingness. The lead (I'm using HB) doesn't break unless I take it out and manhandle it, and I press pretty hard when writing. Zero issues with this pencil over the course of probably 4-6 months. Also, I don't write in cursive per se, but I connect a lot of my letters and write some letters loopier ("g", "j", "y") and the mechanism totally works for me. I can tell.

As an aside, this pencil influenced me to go from a woodcase pencil devotee to a proud Kuru Toga and Rotring 500 owner - and I like the Kuru Toga better, although the 500 is solid and beautiful. Give it a shot!

 
September 18, 2013
OMG! It's even better...
OMG! It's even better than I expected! I love you jet pens!

nathan.a.he8642
 
May 18, 2013
The Uni Alpha Gel Kuru...
Verified Purchase
The Uni Alpha Gel Kuru Toga is the best pencil ever!!! I just got it yesterday, and I have already fell in love with it.

Pros: squishy gel(gel gets squishier as you write more), Kuru Toga engine works well
Cons: expensive(but worth the money)
For those of you with lead stuck in you pencils, use 0.5 mm HB lead, not 2B lead and don't use 0.3 mm or 0.7 mm lead either.

If you want to buy another pencil instead, don't. Buy this one.
Pencils:
Any Pilot Dr. Grips: has a less squishy grip but has a shaky
Counterargument: shaky<Kuru Toga engine, grip is not squishy

Other Uni Alpha Gels: Squishier grip, shaky, lock
Counterargument: shaky<Kuru Toga engine, squishy grip=unstable grip

Other Kuru Togas: Kuru Toga engine
Counterargument: grip stinks

Overall:
AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME !!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESO ME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWE SOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!A WESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!! !AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME !!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!!!AWESOME!

carol_gao
 
May 25, 2012
i had one befor, but...
i had one befor, but it was ehite grip with pink barrell and the barrell also had hello kitty on it. i loved it, but i think the grip is too firm.

michellemeimeihuang2001