1 - 10 of 19 |  | 
I AM IN LOVE. I am...
September 9, 2011
Verified Purchase

I am obsessed with writing instruments & once I find a great product, I'm loyal for life. When my fiance told me about this pencil, I couldn't believe my ears. I had to order it immediately. (Note: Shipping here at JetPens is absolutely terrific!) When I write, I write in all capitalized letters so this involves me picking up the pencil for each letter. This works wonderful with my writing style. If you prefer to write in cursive, this product may not work as well for you. You literally need to lift the pencil off of the paper in order for the lead to rotate.
7 people found this helpful
I am so happy with this...
February 2, 2011
Verified Purchase
I am so happy with this pencil so far. The grip is nice and squishy, but not annoying to hold or too bulky. The pencil itself is nice and thick, which is a nice change from the original Kuru Toga (which is also great). I am definitely considering buying at least one more of these in another color. Love it!
3 people found this helpful
I don't usually like...
September 2, 2010
Verified Purchase
I don't usually like pencils this thick, but the Kurutoga is fantastically proportioned. As a chronic pencil-spinner I wasn't sure if this pencil was going to help or hinder my writing but I definitely approve. Smooth writing action, effective if small eraser, and all-around good looks. Worth the price.
2 people found this helpful
These are just like Uni...
November 13, 2015
These are just like Uni Alpha-Gel pencils, only with the Kuru-Toga Rotating Lead Engine.


Two of my favourite pencils in one. The only thing that would make this pencil even better is the Skaka-Shaker engine. Still, great pencil. A bit on the pricey side but that's a small price too pay for such an amazing pencil. 5 stars.
1 person found this helpful
Shasta Cola
I do like using this...
June 27, 2012
Verified Purchase
I do like using this pencil quite a bit. At first I was hesitant to pick up this particular Kuru Toga because it looked pretty thick compared to the original, but the gel grip and the color of the pencil body won me over. And man, I'm glad I did decide to go ahead and try it out! I don't like thick pens or pencils at all, but this one still feels really nice in my hand. The lavender color is very nice, mine's a bit richer than it is in the preview pictures. Since the grip is white, I was a little worried about it collecting and showing dirt very quickly. But to my surprise, I haven't had that problem--Mine still looks the same now as it did a few months ago. And of course, the pencil itself works very well. I actually use this pencil for drawing rather than note taking most of the time (which it is also absolutely great for too!). While I typically don't draw hard enough to use the Kuru Toga mechanism to its full potential, I still enjoy having the mechanism because it provides a slight but really good firmness when you push the lead down on paper, which keeps the lead very stable and smooth as you drag it across the paper. All in all, a very nice pencil that works as good as it looks. ;)
1 person found this helpful
Keep in mind that you...
September 19, 2016
Keep in mind that you don't use this for drafting. It's SPECIFICALLY designed for writing.
Now the kuru toga engine works enough yet wwonderfully CONFIRMED
The grip isn't as good of squish as the Shaka its firmer only because the grip doesn't sink when you put you finger on it because it stops in the middle CONFIRMED
Although the alpha gel it not as good the kids toga engine SMASHES the loss of alpha
I bought this pencil...
June 29, 2016
Verified Purchase
I bought this pencil to replace the standard 0.7 mm Kuru Toga I bought more than two years ago. When I first received it, I was amazed at the elegant, soft shade of lavender. The color is absolutely beautiful!

The barrel is thick, but the rubber cushion is slightly squishy and incredibly better than the hardness of the standard Kuru Toga. The cushion is not solid white, but slightly see-through. The contrast of the see-through "off-whiteness" with the silver and soft lavender makes this look fairly professional, I think. It's just gorgeous. I wish the cushion maybe had a bit more sheen, then it would look incredibly professional.

Looking at this pencil very close and very hard, at first, I was torn between what I thought looked like slightly cheap material, but then appreciating just how it was actually designed. It's not a bad cheap, but I was focusing on the faint plastic seams and not so shiny barrel cushion. I plan on buying more to have as backups, just in case something happens to this. When I buy mechanical pencils, I usually have only two in rotation at any one time (maybe two spares), and I keep them for years on end unless something happens to them.
Comfortable to use and...
April 11, 2016
Verified Purchase
Comfortable to use and keeps lines fine. Eraser is a bit small but I usually use a different eraser anyways so that doesn't bother me. The eraser refills are fairly inexpensive if that is a problem.
I absolutely love this...
April 6, 2016
Verified Purchase
I absolutely love this pencil - I do a lot of writing and calculations for work that need to be erasable/updatable, and this is my go-to tool for it. I've been using mechanical pencils for decades, and it actually took me a while to get used to NOT rotating my pencil when I got this! I would give this 5 stars except for the two problems listed below.

Pros: even though it's a bigger diameter, the gel cushion makes it comfortable for long times
Pretty colour
Coworkers don't realize it's a pencil so they don't touch it
Rotating lead keeps me from tearing holes in worksheets

Cons: Rotation mechanism only works if you lift the pencil, so if you have a tendency to join your letters even when printing, like I do, you may still end up with some uneven wearing.
This was one of the first...
April 2, 2016
Verified Purchase
This was one of the first pencils I bought when I decided to stop using the cheap 20 for 5$ mechanical pencils and I got to say that this is an amazing pencil indeed. I love the combination of the kuru toga engine which allows this pencil to always stay sharp and the alpha gel which prevents the hand from getting too tired. Being a math major I use pencil pretty much all the time and this has become my go to pencil when taking notes during class and when taking exams. This has become my second favorite pencil only behind the Pilot S20. Will be sure to buy one or two more of these in case Uni stops their production!
1 - 10 of 19 |  |