JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (21 customer reviews)
Write Review
February 12, 2011
Awesome pencil! It is...
Awesome pencil! It is basically a combination of the original Kuru Toga and the alpha gel. The pencil saves lead, prevents lead breakage, and is comfortable!

4 people found this helpful
 
May 29, 2010
Anyways, here\'s a real...
Anyways, here\'s a real review. I bought this pencil from somewhere in Japan and I\'ve been waiting to see these on Jetpens for sometime. The grip felt like a slightly squishier version of the Dr. Grip. This is a very nice pencil for writing, since the original Kuru Toga doesn\'t have much of a grip. You can take off the plastic outside and decorate the inside of the barrel much like a Dr. Grip. However, the tip isn\'t retractable and you can pull on it too...but that\'s not much of a problem for me. The plastic barrel feels kind of cheap and easy to scratch. Overall, I love this pencil. If you\'re thinking about getting it, stop thinking and get it.

5 people found this helpful
pikapika123
 
December 15, 2012
This pencil feels soft...
Verified Purchase
This pencil feels soft in my hand. My first thought was that the color was a little darker than it looked in the pictures, but it's still very shiny and attractive. I noticed after a day that the grip was starting to turn yellow, so I wrapped it in plastic wrap as extra precaution. The rotating mechanism requires the tip of the pencil to go in a bit when you write, but that's not a problem.
I find that this pencil is a little hard to get used to. I already rotate my pencils incrementally when writing, so using a Kuru Toga that rotates lead internally is redundant and actually throws me off, especially because I like rotating my pencils in the opposite direction. >:[ I wasn't even aware of the habit.

3 people found this helpful
amyjimail
 
April 3, 2011
Very beautiful and easy...
Very beautiful and easy to write with. I have this Turquoise Blue one and it now becomes my favorite mechanical pencil. The plastic clear surrounding of the upper body makes it shining~~The grip is soft so that my finger will not ache after a long time of writing. It's also well balanced.

2 people found this helpful
wswaterlily
 
October 27, 2012
Amazing balance, feels...
Verified Purchase
Amazing balance, feels great to hold in the hand, writes smoothly, and looks attractive. The grip is just so squishy, I love it.


1 person found this helpful
dragonphlusolaris
 
September 16, 2012
Its a beautiful and easy...
Verified Purchase
Its a beautiful and easy to use pencil that also helps minimize hand fatigue. Its in my top picks for pencils to use over long periods of time, but I would like to see a slim version with the same core rotation mechanism.

1 person found this helpful
 
August 29, 2012
love this pencil!!! finally...
love this pencil!!! finally got a pencil that i can have for a looong time without wanting any other kinds. Its smooth, and as the description sais, the rotating mechanisn allows you to always have a dark mark. I don't like lending out this pencil to anyone because when I do, I look like I'm desperate for it back... makes people uncomfortable, LOL.

1 person found this helpful
 
May 5, 2012
My absolute favorite...
My absolute favorite pencil. Combining the brilliant Kuru Toga mechanism with the luxurious comfort of the α-gel grip, this pencil is really the end all, cure all. I don't think I need to say more about why this pencil is so amazing.

Unfortunately, the grip is not as soft as the other α-gels. I still find it a bit more squishy than Dr. Grips, but less than the α-gel Slims.

The only problem I have ever had is when I "death grip" the pencil, my hand (which is bigger than the grip) tends to turn the upper half, so the clip is pressing into my hand, spinning around, and pressing into it again. Highly annoying mid-exam/essay. It might be better if instead of a clip, there was a little "wing" like in the Dr. Grips from Asia. But when I'm not choking my pencil, this is perfect. For times when I'm furiously writing and intensely gripping my pencil, I switch to the regular Kuru Toga pencil.

1 person found this helpful
loversflyingfree
 
June 3, 2010
splatt: I haven't tried...
splatt: I haven't tried the high-grade, but I have the original one. I don't know if you can compare the two (since one has a grip, thicker and the other is thinner). I like them in their own, special ways. For example, the original KT is like an upgrade of a regular US pencil you'd find in Office Depot. The A-Gel KT is one of those things you can only get from Japan, plus it's two good things combined.

1 person found this helpful
pikapika123
 
November 5, 2014
Comfortable to hold,...
Verified Purchase
Comfortable to hold, even during prolonged use. I use it for sketching and illustration, and love that the lead rotates just a little bit each time I lift it, keeping the tip nice and even and preventing breakage.