JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (72 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 16, 2009
After reading the reviews...
Verified Purchase
After reading the reviews I decided to snag a Boxy myself and test it out, here's what I came up with -

Test 1. H Pencil lead, standard everyday smooth copy paper.
- The Boxy Eraser or the foxy boxy as I call it tends to leave clumped shavings which is great because you can just blow them away as opposed to wiping them away with your hand and potentially smudging pencil lines. There were however some stubborn teeny tiny shavings that required a quick hand swipe.
- My long time used Magic Rub eraser tended to leave more tiny shavings which required my hand to brush them away in several swipes. It should be noted however the Magic Rub is not advertised as a lead/graphite eraser but is used on film and such.
- The oldie but goody Pink Pearl Eraser left many tiny shavings all over from the get go and easily performed the worst concerning hard to blow away tiny shavings.
- The latex free Staedtler Mars Plastic Eraser performed barely better than the Boxy leaving almost tiny shavings. Those that were left were easily blown away.
- The best performer amongst them all was the Kneaded Rubber Eraser which of course left no shavings behind. However a definite downside to the rubber eraser is that it tends to crimp or wrinkle standard copy paper if you aren't very careful about the force you use and where you place your free hand to prevent that.

Test 2. H Pencil lead, 100lb heavy vellum illustration paper. Vellum is a more textured art paper as opposed to smooth which is well... Smooth.
- Foxy Boxy did better on actual art paper with most shavings be blown away in one breath, all the rest being blown away with the second breath. Very nice.
- The Magic Rub performed average leaving behind a host of very tiny very hard to see shavings that would definitely affect drawing in that area. It also collects a lot of lead leaving the eraser somewhat dirty.
- The Pink Pearl performed in the area of what I would call hideous leaving small shavings everywhere from the get go. I needed three good breaths to blow away the common shavings and three wipes of the hand to remove the tiny shavings. If I had been using HB Pencil Lead I would have left streak marks everywhere like a toddler in their diapers.
- The Mars Plastic Eraser matched the Boxy blowing away most shavings in one breath and clearing all the rest in the second breath.
- The Kneaded Rubber Eraser did the best again leaving no shavings and because of the thickness of the paper I was not in any danger of wrinkling my art.

Recommends:
Using H Pencil Lead or lighter I would say go for a rubber eraser and if you want something solid in addition to that go for the Mars Plastic Eraser as it is almost twice as big as the Boxy at a similar price. However I would recommend the Boxy if you want something slightly more stylish or an eraser that is able to fit smaller hands more comfortably. Stay away from the Pink Pearl as it is strictly amateur hour and best left for grade school. It's cheap for a reason. Even the Magic Rub outperforms the Pink and it's not even a pencil/lead eraser. The Kneaded Rubber Eraser does better with light lead however it becomes less effective with darker leads. For darker leads (2B-6B) I would lightly "dab" the area with a rubber eraser then attack the same area with a plastic eraser.

- Rogers -
http://wightzombie.deviantart.com/

56 people found this helpful
todavecave
 
June 13, 2009
First, I would like to...
Verified Purchase
First, I would like to thank 'todavecave' for his extensive review. I recently decided to give Boxy a try after using the Mars Plastic line by Staedtler (both the block and pen style erasers) for quite some time. I was a bit worried that since Boxy was black that it would leave a black residue on the paper. I was quite surprised. I have been much more satisfied with Boxy than with the Mars Plastic erasers. Boxy seems to clump better and generally erase much better, most of the time leaving no 'graphite shadow' behind at all. I strongly recommend Boxy (I just ordered 5).

I don't know why the previous reviewer had an issue with Boxy after switching to H grade lead. I use H grade lead pretty much exclusively and achieved the results I described above. 'Todavecave' also used H grade lead in his extensive review. I have a feeling it might have something to do with the paper the other reviewer is using. I typically use 70g to 90g paper.

I recommend Boxy over the Mars Plastic eraser line.

15 people found this helpful
 
December 15, 2010
Beware: take paper off,...
Verified Purchase
Beware: take paper off, the paper over time will cut off end of eraser! happened to mine~!

19 people found this helpful
 
February 28, 2008
This eraser is about...
Verified Purchase
This eraser is about half the size of my standard Mars Staelder and obviously comes in a different color.

The eraser is softer than most, it's very flexible and bends, but that's not the main point of it aside from that it is very precise as an eraser.

It's black of course, so it dosen't seem like it becomes dirty like white erasers and always seems to maintain that new package look.

But the main point is, it's a very good eraser, soft and very easy to erase with and it erases very well and it does not make a mess.

I first used magic rubs, then moved onto Pentel erasers, then moved onto Mars Staedlers, and now these. I have yet to try Pilot Foam erasers, but I doubt they'll top the Uni-ball Mitsubishi BOXY Eraser.

12 people found this helpful
harrytruong
 
February 15, 2011
I love this eraser! *perfect-p...
Verified Purchase
I love this eraser! *perfect-practical shape. *black colored for keeping a graphite-free clean look. *lasts long. *erases effortlessly well. I recommend this eraser over the Staedtler Mars Plastic eraser which i use to use but not any more after getting my hands on this one.

9 people found this helpful
 
February 15, 2012
I ordered this few weeks...
Verified Purchase
I ordered this few weeks ago, and started using it. And I must say, I love this eraser, more those convenient click erasers.
Let's start off by saying how i love the size of this eraser. Some people might think that it's too small, but to me it's like the perfect size. Why? because when you hold the erasers, it won't be so "blocky" (i srsly dont know the word T_T), like it doesn't block the space like those rectangular prism erasers *stares at the pentel and other erasers with a similar shape*. I like how it's a square prism block. the edges don't get dull that much, and it would still target the writing nicely. I hold the erasers between my index finger and the thumb, so it's really comfortable, and easily erase. The other blocky erasers you have to like use atleast 3 fingers to hold it in place (like having a grip of the eraser so it doesn't leave any mess while erasing); and tbh... it's annoying sometimes for me..
Secondly, the looks. I like how the eraser is black... not white... If it's white, i mean, the edges will get dirty and have to all dark stuffs around it, and I don't like that. This one, it's clean and simple. The eraser is soft and smooth, so for me, i feel comfortable holding it.
Third, the eraser's function in erasing. I've gotta say, it's wonderful. It leaves little dusts behind, and it doesnt give u those dark marks while erasing. The other block erasers that i;ve use, i've always had these long pieces of rubbers after erasing, and it's really annoying. With this eraser, even if i erase like a half a page of writing, there wouldn't be that much stuffs left behind. And when i blow it away, there arent any mess around the work place. And the other thing is, i must say that it looks very durable. I've been using it for a few weeks already, and the erasers doesn't seem to be like... shrunken... or something like that (i'm sorry i sux at using vocabs ><)

But overall, this eraser is a 5/5 for me. Perfect size, cute looking (yes cute...), soft, erasing function is amazing, and durable. I srsly love the size, I expect it to be like tiny or something, but ti's just the perfect size to hold and erase. ( I srsly can't get over how perfect the size this eraser is...)

5 people found this helpful
kohane369
 
February 6, 2014
Works well but will leave...
Verified Purchase
Works well but will leave a sticky residue if stored next to a plastic material like pen or lead case.

3 people found this helpful
andrewhburleigh
 
May 8, 2013
great eraser, but be...
Verified Purchase
great eraser, but be warned - will melt plastics within a few days if stored next to pens/pencils in your case. otherwise fine...

3 people found this helpful
 
October 30, 2010
this eraser does its...
Verified Purchase
this eraser does its job really good and leaves no mess behind i recommend this for students.

2 people found this helpful
 
October 15, 2013
Reading ALL of the 60-somethin...
Verified Purchase
Reading ALL of the 60-something reviews on this, I decided to buy one. And it was amazing. The day after I got it, I bought 5 more. It's that good. I'm not joking.

Comparisons:

vs. Prisma Kneaded
The kneaded is better, but only by a bit. This only recieves my top pick because there are NO shavings whatsover. JETPENS IF YOU ARE READING THIS SELL THE KNEADED ERASER!!!

vs. Staedtler Mars
The boxy erases much cleaner, and clumps up in bigger chunks, but the Mars erases very comparably, but clumps up in slightly smaller shavings.

vs. Mono Tombo
Mono Tombo erases slightly less cleaner than the Boxy or the Mars, but clumps up in much bigger pieces.

vs. ain
The ain is pretty good, but it is not as clean, and has small clumps.

vs. Hi-Polymer
The Hi-Polymer can't even hold a light to this. Nuff said.

vs. Pink Eraser
Cant even hold a candle to the boxy. Nuff said.

Conclusion:
Good for writing use, but I use the Mono Tombo Click eraser and the Prismacolor Kneaded Eraser for art.

1 person found this helpful
This Product
Uni Boxy Eraser - Black - UNI EP-60BX
$1.40