JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (23 customer reviews)
Write Review
February 15, 2011
For any artist wanting...
Verified Purchase
For any artist wanting precision out there, this is the equivalent mechanical pencil version of Col-Erase non-photo blue pencil. It's very erasable and it’s a light baby blue color. I totally stocked up on these because I use it a lot for my under drawings. I wouldn't say these leads are easily breakable. It seems to be somewhat in the middle. If I had to give it a scale of 1-10 in breakability, I'd say 7. It’s strong enough to put some pressure on it without it breaking, but breakable enough for those who really put a lot of unconscious force into drawing or writing.

8 people found this helpful
 
December 14, 2010
Very nice lead for my...
Verified Purchase
Very nice lead for my purposes; I use it for rough work before inking, because scanners don't pick up this shade of blue when scanning in black & white. It fades over time if exposed to sunlight (see the article on Dave's Mechanical Pencil blog), but this is okay if you work quickly or don't expose it to too much light. It could even be an advantage if you don't want the lines to stay. It's also very easily erasable.

7 people found this helpful
 
January 19, 2011
This lead is fantastic...
Verified Purchase
This lead is fantastic for sketching the base of a drawing to be scanned for digital artwork, and it is also very erasable. But, if you plan to make notes with this lead, I would stick to a darker color, because the lead is very light colored.

5 people found this helpful
 
February 25, 2011
The only negative review...
Verified Purchase
The only negative review on this pencil must have been a joke - this lead is wonderful and as durable as any 0.5 mm lead. Perhaps they have heavy hands?
This lead is great for underdrawings - I use it especially for comics that need to be inked. It erases so much cleaner than standard lead and makes nice clear markings.

3 people found this helpful
bunnyologist
 
November 23, 2009
100% my favorite blue...
Verified Purchase
100% my favorite blue pencil lead, it erases really easy and doesn't mark up the paper unless I really am drawing heavily with it. Its a great technical artists lead, I always recommend it to people. Even if it is hard to find.

3 people found this helpful
 
October 17, 2012
This lead is perfect...
Verified Purchase
This lead is perfect for under sketches and layout drawing, as the scanner doesn't pick up this shade of blue. The colour is a pretty shade of blue and is very easy on the eyes. The lead is also soft and smooth, I haven't had any problems with lead breakage, and it erases really well!

2 people found this helpful
deadly-claris
 
March 28, 2014
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS...
Verified Purchase
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS LEAD!

it's a very nice blue and the lead is fairly soft so it feels very nice to draw with and erases fairly easily if you need to do so.

the only thing i would advise people is to be careful what pencil you put it into. when i first put a piece into one of my pencils, i guess it grabbed the lead too tightly and would snap off the tip when it was pushing it out

1 person found this helpful
 
June 20, 2013
I'm going to be quite...
I'm going to be quite frank with you here: I love the colors in the variety pack, but the lead is WAY TOO SOFT. Breaks every time I touch it, and drawing with it runs the leads down like crazy. I don't even use a lot of pressure, and the lead needs to be clicked out after a short line segment...But this is a good choice to see which color you prefer, and if you're like me and need to use some color in your drawings then this works perfectly.

1 person found this helpful
jamesbrad91
 
April 5, 2013
Overall- pretty excellent....
Verified Purchase
Overall- pretty excellent. When this is in stock here on JetPens, I usually get a couple packs because it is that good. Creamy and beautiful light shade of blue.

PROS
Light blue is non-repro. I have used this for sketches and my lines do not show up in a black and white copier. I supposed one could use a color copier and this might show up, but I have not tried it.

CONS
I do have *some* breakage when I use this lead in my Pentel GraphGear 1000. However, when I use it in my Uni Kuru Toga automatic pencil I have not noticed breakage. I wish they offered it in a 0.7, they don't so I have to go with Pilot Color Eno Mechanical Pencil Lead - 0.7 mm - Soft Blue for heavier lines.

1 person found this helpful
endlsdremr
 
March 3, 2013
Priceless for the artist...
Verified Purchase
Priceless for the artist who likes to sketch before inking their work. Probably the best of all the blue pencil leads out there! Go for it!

1 person found this helpful
tom_omahony