My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (20 customer reviews)
Write Review
8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful
  For any artist wanting..., February 15, 2011
For any artist wanting precision out there, this is the equivalent mechanical pencil version of Col-Erase non-photo blue pencil. It's very erasable and it’s a light baby blue color. I totally stocked up on these because I use it a lot for my under drawings. I wouldn't say these leads are easily breakable. It seems to be somewhat in the middle. If I had to give it a scale of 1-10 in breakability, I'd say 7. It’s strong enough to put some pressure on it without it breaking, but breakable enough for those who really put a lot of unconscious force into drawing or writing.
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  Very nice lead for my..., December 14, 2010
Very nice lead for my purposes; I use it for rough work before inking, because scanners don't pick up this shade of blue when scanning in black & white. It fades over time if exposed to sunlight (see the article on Dave's Mechanical Pencil blog), but this is okay if you work quickly or don't expose it to too much light. It could even be an advantage if you don't want the lines to stay. It's also very easily erasable.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  The only negative review..., February 25, 2011
The only negative review on this pencil must have been a joke - this lead is wonderful and as durable as any 0.5 mm lead. Perhaps they have heavy hands?
This lead is great for underdrawings - I use it especially for comics that need to be inked. It erases so much cleaner than standard lead and makes nice clear markings.
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  This lead is fantastic..., January 19, 2011
This lead is fantastic for sketching the base of a drawing to be scanned for digital artwork, and it is also very erasable. But, if you plan to make notes with this lead, I would stick to a darker color, because the lead is very light colored.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  100% my favorite blue..., November 23, 2009
100% my favorite blue pencil lead, it erases really easy and doesn't mark up the paper unless I really am drawing heavily with it. Its a great technical artists lead, I always recommend it to people. Even if it is hard to find.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This lead is perfect..., October 17, 2012
By dea...
This lead is perfect for under sketches and layout drawing, as the scanner doesn't pick up this shade of blue. The colour is a pretty shade of blue and is very easy on the eyes. The lead is also soft and smooth, I haven't had any problems with lead breakage, and it erases really well!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS..., March 28, 2014
By kee...
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS LEAD!

it's a very nice blue and the lead is fairly soft so it feels very nice to draw with and erases fairly easily if you need to do so.

the only thing i would advise people is to be careful what pencil you put it into. when i first put a piece into one of my pencils, i guess it grabbed the lead too tightly and would snap off the tip when it was pushing it out
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Overall- pretty excellent...., April 5, 2013
Overall- pretty excellent. When this is in stock here on JetPens, I usually get a couple packs because it is that good. Creamy and beautiful light shade of blue.

PROS
Light blue is non-repro. I have used this for sketches and my lines do not show up in a black and white copier. I supposed one could use a color copier and this might show up, but I have not tried it.

CONS
I do have *some* breakage when I use this lead in my Pentel GraphGear 1000. However, when I use it in my Uni Kuru Toga automatic pencil I have not noticed breakage. I wish they offered it in a 0.7, they don't so I have to go with Pilot Color Eno Mechanical Pencil Lead - 0.7 mm - Soft Blue for heavier lines.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Priceless for the artist..., March 3, 2013
Priceless for the artist who likes to sketch before inking their work. Probably the best of all the blue pencil leads out there! Go for it!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This the best non-repro..., December 15, 2012
This the best non-repro lead I've used so far: it's smooth, forgiving, and erases clean even after multiple redraws! Great for any comic artists or illustrators who want a convenient blue lead for their underdrawings.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  love the lead, it's brill,..., April 25, 2012
love the lead, it's brill, doesn't break so easily and give a nice bright color of an artist's coloring pencil (like prismacolor, derwent coloursoft and faber castell polychromos),they are rare and expensive in the uk, but these work nicely for my drawing and another i would recommend pilot color eno leads, they are equal to these
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is awesome! Cyan..., January 24, 2012
This is awesome! Cyan Blue, and its very smooth & slippery to draw with. The other brand i was using was blue (not sky blue like this) and it was sticky. This is the good stuff! If you want non-photo blue, quit being so stingy and order it!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I love these leads, truly..., January 20, 2012
I love these leads, truly brilliant in comparison to my steadler leads, they are more soft, they give a brill color unfortunately where I live, they are a rare find & were quite expensive but I would say they are well worth it though, the soft blue shade is brilliant and compare to my blue & green staelder leads ( which are very hard to erase & break quite easily) these are superb :D don't break easily so you can draw and write with ease
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Beautiful color, I was..., January 26, 2009
Beautiful color, I was expecting something that was really light and hard to see, but this color is nice. Not hard to see at all.
I cant wait to color and draw with this.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is my favorite colored..., January 31, 2008
This is my favorite colored pencil lead...I must have gone through 3 containers already. It's also called "Mint Blue" and is bluish-green in color and very relaxing to the eyes. It's rather soft and breaks easily so use less pressure.
  I had been looking for..., October 30, 2013
I had been looking for something close to a non-photo blue pencil or lead for a while and decided to try these. They did not disappoint. The color is light enough to not show up in black and white scanning, permitting you don't write/draw too densely. Even if it was too dense in color it erases easily enough which surprised me considering my experiences with other non-photo pencils being waxy and difficult to use.

The leads seem strong enough. I'm not one to press down heavily while using pencils so they haven't broken on me so far. They appear to run down faster than a regular graphite lead which probably means I'll have to replace them more often. I'm not too bothered by this - just gotta buy some more when needed.
  MY GOODNESSS I am impressed..., July 3, 2013
MY GOODNESSS I am impressed with this lead. It is a little on the soft side as it can break, but it isnt too soft.
The color is PERFECT and I have no complaints about it at all WILL Buy again!!!!!
  I'm going to be quite..., June 20, 2013
I'm going to be quite frank with you here: I love the colors in the variety pack, but the lead is WAY TOO SOFT. Breaks every time I touch it, and drawing with it runs the leads down like crazy. I don't even use a lot of pressure, and the lead needs to be clicked out after a short line segment...But this is a good choice to see which color you prefer, and if you're like me and need to use some color in your drawings then this works perfectly.
  Pur-r-r-r-r-fect! I ordered..., May 2, 2013
Pur-r-r-r-r-fect! I ordered a pack of these leads on my last order, and was surprised to find a better lead than I expected! (Except that there were only 8 leads in a pack that was supposed to have ten.) My next order will include three packs, which may last me about a year; and I will reorder when I open the last pack.

My local art shop stopped carrying non-repro blue mechanical leads six years ago. The owner said there was no longer any company making them. Her standard lie that meant, "Nobody but a few of you commercial art weirdos uses this, so I'm not carrying it any more." I showed her the pack and she said she didn't have a connection to buy them. I couldn't help noticing that at the time she was standing in front of a display of pens and pencils, that included many Uni-Ball items. If she didn't own the largest art store in town, I wouldn't patronize her Since she took over the store seven years ago she also discontinued Pantone and Lettraset products, choosing to sell to the crafter/hobbyist and student markets in deference to the professional artist market.
1 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
  I did not like this lead..., October 31, 2010
I did not like this lead at all. The writing is very faint and if you try to just barely push on it, it brakes. Also, just pushing out 2 clicks makes it break no matter what. I liked the pink the best and the orange is okay...this one is terrible.