JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (30 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 16, 2011
My absolute HOLY GRAIL...
Verified Purchase
My absolute HOLY GRAIL of pens! After discovering the amazingness that is the standard Jetstream, I decided to indulge my color-coding habit with the Jetstream multipen. It was the single best decision I have made in my life as a stationery addict. The pen body has a good solid weight to it, but isn't unbearably heavy (some fountain pens come to mind), and holding it is pretty comfortable, even if you have a super low grip like I do. It looks very sleek and classy, and the color tabs are very subtle, which I particularly appreciate in professional settings. (I like the Surari multi a lot, but the bright plasticky tabs are reminiscent of the good old Bic 4-color pen.) The ink, as you'd expect from a Jetstream, is smooth and pretty much flawless. I do find that with the blue I get the occasional tiny glob, and the green is a shade too light for my taste, but these are very minor quibbles indeed, and certainly don't stop me from blowing through refills with terrifying speed. (I write a LOT.) The pencil is not exactly a Kuru Toga, but it's perfectly serviceable - luckily, I'm not really a pencil person and only use the pencil function for doing paleography work and for drawing lines in my notebooks that will later be erased. But this one pen got me through an entire degree, and is well on its way to seeing me through another. I love it so much that I bought the green version, and also a pink 0.5 version, but they just aren't quite as perfect as the original black. Highly recommended!

6 people found this helpful
jenniferlnorris
 
January 19, 2014
My expectations in this...
My expectations in this pen were high and not met. Indeed it arrived quickly, but the pen itself is not what I expected.

Being an owner of the Pilot Dr. Grip 4+1, I wanted to try something new. Thus, I bought this Uni Jetstream pen. These two pens are often compared and I have to say that the Pilot pen is better.

Why?

Build of the Uni: This Uni multi pen feels very lightweight which makes the pen feel cheap. The bottom top part of the pen is too light, and the pen clicking is too loud. I am not going to lie, the pen looks much better than Pilot's multi pen, but the overall feel does not compare. But I reiterate, this pen looks very professional.

Ink of the Uni: This is the part that disappointed me the most. All 4 ink colors worked well (and the Jetstream made a great writing experience) but after a few weeks, the red ink started to not work. The next week, the black ink stopped working. I would try writing and scribbling, but nothing came out (despite the full ink cartridge). After 3 weeks of having the pen, only the blue pen worked as the red, black, and green all "dried out" (I don't even know why they stopped working...)

To be honest, these are my only concerns about this pen. However, these two characteristics of a pen truly make a good pen, a good pen. The pencil works fine and writes like a typical mechanical pencil, but it feels like a cheap pen and the ink dries out easily.

At the end of the day, I would have rather spent 17$ on another Pilot Dr. Grip 4+1.

3 people found this helpful
kriskrishsu
 
February 29, 2012
Really Great Pen, but...
Verified Purchase
Really Great Pen, but the pencil in it wobbles a little when I write

4 people found this helpful
 
August 2, 2011
An incredible product...
Verified Purchase
An incredible product at an incredible price! Purchased two - a black and silver one for me and a pink one for my wife - we both Love them! Very useful, versatile writing instrument at a very reasonable price. You can't go wrong with this!

3 people found this helpful
 
July 25, 2012
Wow... I am blown away...
Verified Purchase
Wow... I am blown away by this pen. It is nearly flawless in every aspect. I am left-handed and I was all over the original Jetstream pens for their smooth writing and no smudging and then got the original 3-colour Jetstream multi-pen about a year ago. When I saw this high-grade multi pen+pencil, I had no choice but to order it and try it for myself. Here is the verdict.

Pros
-at 0.7 mm, the Jetstream ink is amazingly smooth and the lines are crisp
-the ink pigments are very vibrant and concentrated
-the blue is a few shades darker than average, which I really like
-matte black finish with silver accents is very clean and professional looking
-barrel width and grip are perfect and suprisingly not too large for a 5-function pen
-the different colour tabs are subtle but still bright enough to switch between colours easily
-the pen is very top-heavy, which lets you write smoothly without applying much pressure
-the clicking/switching mechanism is very satisfying for people who like to obsessively click while sitting and thinking

Cons
-the grip likes to attract dust particles, but a quick wipe with a damn cloth will clean them
-the pencil is not world-class, but is good enough for general use. I will still use my Uni-ball Kuru Toga if I need for strictly pencil usage, like doing math equations.
-you might be scared to show it off to your friends and co-workers because they might steal it

2 people found this helpful
 
December 12, 2011
Absolutely the best pen...
Verified Purchase
Absolutely the best pen that I have used, bought 2, gave my daughter who is an art major one and it is the envy of her classmates. delight to use and I feel naked without it.

3 people found this helpful
dcovert007
 
March 29, 2011
I purchased this pen...
Verified Purchase
I purchased this pen and I love it. I have only one problem with the pen, the ink refills don't last long at all. I am a registered nurse and consequently do a lot of writing at work, mostly in black ink. My previous multi function pen was the BIC 4 colour pen and the black in lasted approximately 3 months. Under the same conditions, the black ink for this pen lasted for 2 shifts. So every 2 days I am having to replace the black ink. The pen is great, perfect for work because I only have to carry one pen and I have everything i need. It writes great, the ink is fast drying, and smooth. No issues with the functioning of the pen. Just bear in mind if you do a lot of writing, as in my case, you will be going through a lot of refills.

2 people found this helpful
rlnlehmann
 
December 1, 2013
Love the pen but can...
Love the pen but can work out how to use the pencil. Found the hidden rubber under the top cap. Great present from my girlfriend

merchant746
 
May 4, 2013
Great pen! This is the...
Verified Purchase
Great pen! This is the best pen I have ever used. the ink flows great. the pencil is so durable. I give this pen an A+

Blayde12002
 
September 17, 2012
This pen will impress...
Verified Purchase
This pen will impress you. It is not just the best multi-pen in this price range - it's the best multi-pen period! I just bought this and compared it to the Cross Tech 4 (which costs 4 times what this pen costs) and the Uniball put the Cross to shame. The pen is attractive, with a great rubber grip. And the mechanism is smooth (although the weakest part of the pen is the pencil mechanism, but it's still not bad). The pen skates across the page, it writes so smoothly - even on cheap paper! It's a bit light due to the plastic body, but the balance is just right because it's bottom heavy. The ink colors are vibrant. Perfect for art journalers using Moleskine notebooks. I will be buying these to give as gifts to my friends who are pen geeks. An amazing pen at a good price. Now I need more refills!

Additionally, a quick word about JetPens. This is a GREAT site. It's like pen (and mechanical pencil) geek mecca - you have to go here before you die! I ordered this on Friday morning and received it the following Monday afternoon - that is FAST folks. Take a great selection of impossible to find items at reasonable prices with excellent service and delivery and you've got JetPens - Pen Geek Heaven!

geoff.sager