My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  In response to question..., January 26, 2012
By ssp...
In response to question about refilling pencil. Unscrew barrel as if going to replace ink refill on one of the chambers. For pencil part, pull off the whole tip section (pull it straight out, away from the part that goes up into the chamber--turning mechanism). Add a few refills and put the pencil tip back on. Replace barrel and you are good to go.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is one attractive..., April 7, 2012
This is one attractive pen! The appearance and functionality work hand in hand to make this my favorite pen.

Let me break this review down to the pros and cons.

PROS:
++ The subtle luster on this pen's black barrel doesn't show up in JetPens' photos. It sparkles in the light.
++ The hard rubber globe embedded on the top of the pen is probably the most appealing design feature for me. It's a transparent golden champagne color and sports a really cute golden flower.
++ The rotation is pretty stiff and seems really cheap at first, but it definitely smooths out after a few days.
++ THE INK. Oh, lordy, the ink! It is such a pleasure to write with the Jetstream ink. It's so smooth and even that all I want to do is keep writing with it! I have not yet sampled the 0.7 refills, but the 0.5 fineness suits me just fine. It was shockingly fine at first (I only used 0.7 and 1.0 mm pens before this Jetstream), but it just takes some getting used to. It's hard to believe that this is a ballpoint... other ballpoint pens can't compare.
++ Refilling is a breeze. Just twist off the bottom half of the barrel while holding the silver ring. To refill the pencil component, pull off the tip of the pencil part and refill. It's not easy to pull it off and will take a bit of strength. When you're done putting in the lead, make sure you push the tip back in all the way.
++ The barrel is the perfect width for me, and although there's no grip, it's been comfortable to write with for long periods of time.

CONS:
-- Disappointingly, the other golden flower (the one on the middle of the barrel with all the writing on it) is just a plastic sticker. The edges start fraying after a few days of use, and it'll probably come off.
-- As far as I can tell, the silver clip is holding up well and seems sturdy enough, but it's too loose to clip onto one sheet of paper and will slide around.
-- Because the labels marking the different multipen components (red, black, and 0.5 sharp) are permanently written into the silver ring, FULL customization is limited. Of course, you can disregard this and scramble the pen with refills anyways.
-- There are only three slots, and the mechanical pencil part can't be removed, so you can only have two colors.

Since the 0.5 mm might not be for you, I recommend buying 0.7 or 1.0 mm Jetstream refills with your order. Plus, you'll probably be eating through the ink. ;) I really recommend this pen (especially the black color). It's slim, feminine, and best of all, a great pen with magical ink.
  I really hoped that this..., July 21, 2012
By dan...
I really hoped that this would be my main pen for use at work. The pen's look is very nice and understated, and the Jetstream ink is fabulous. The two big drawbacks for me are the smoothness of the pen body and the lack of an eraser for the pencil. The pen body is very smooth, and as I tried writing for longer periods I had trouble keeping a good grip. The diameter is really good, though. I hold the pen close to the tip, and if you have a more relaxed writing grip this probably won't be an issue for you. I even tried to add a low profile rubber sleeve, but it didn't really work out.

The clip is attached at the very end of the pen, and the pen is a nice overall length (I don't have it close, else I would measure it). However, in a men's shirt pocket the pen sits a little high without being fully seated on the clip. It just moves around a little more easily than I would like.
  This pen is fantastic!..., March 11, 2012
By rwi...
This pen is fantastic! It writes very smooth and has a nice design. Definitely recommend!
  I'm really just adding..., January 26, 2012
By ssp...
I'm really just adding to to my prior, lengthy review of this model. This is a great pen. I have been using several colors of this same model extensively--almost exclusively--for months now. I take a ton of notes in meetings. To me, this is a perfect size. The rotating mechanism seems to get smoother. But in addition to the fact that these use the fabulous Jetstream ink (multi-pen size refill), these are really strong and story. The clip is solid, holds spring. The plastic/vinyl is really strong. This stuff will not crack easily. I've lost one of the ones I have but there is no visible wear and tear on them at all. I do like the striped one (the less neon looking one) best, but this black one is quite nice. It's become my favorite pen (this model) and I have scads and scads of pens.
  I've only gotten this..., January 3, 2012
By pfr...
I've only gotten this pen today but it seems very promising. Even though it's made of plastic it looks seems very sturdy. It has good weight and balance for for writing and I like that the fine ballpoint pen lets you write very precisely.
  I have most all types..., October 29, 2011
By ssp...
I have most all types of Jetstream pens sold on this site. I'm a pen fanatic (all levels of prices). The Jetstream ink/refills are easily the best ever for ballpoint. They are not really quite like ballpoint ink as they are darkly pigmented (vibrant, strong colors--e.g., dark, solid black, clear, strong blue) and the smoothest writing pens I know off (The Vicuna's are good, too, but they blob more at the tip than Jetstreams do). One last comment on the refills. I do not like the .05 refills that come with these. Sure, the ink will last longer than the .07, bolder lines of the 5 way UNI multipens they have here, but the .07 refills are MUCH smoother and bolder in life (.07 is still thin. If they have 1.0mm streams, I'd get those and just happily change the refill more often). I have several of these F*Series pens, and when I get them, I immediately pull the .05 refills out and pitch them and replace them with the .07s (ordered here) (when you order refills, make sure they are the Jetstream multi-pen model refills. The others will not fit.). But if you love super fine lines, you'll be quite happy with the .05s.

Anyway, love the Jetstream ink. Of the pens available here that use that kind of refill, these F*Series pens are the closest in size to a regular pen in terms of the feel of them. The other types of multi-pens here that take Jetstream refills are all on the fat side if that is something one cares about. As other reviewers have said, the twist mechanisms on these don't seem super high quality--though they do seem sturdy and work fine. It's just not like some silky smooth mechanism that clicks fluidly in place. You can tell when you've got it twisted to the right spot, but it's a so-so mechanism. It's really fine and very adequate for the price of this pen. I've used one extensively for a month or so now, and I fiddle with it a lot, so it's probably had a years worth of regular twisting and it's as good as new.

Of the F*Series pens, I have each color. The golden and pink ones are kind of gross colors (to me), and a co-worker even commented on the icky color of the supposed golden one. But this model here (black) and the stripes ones look great (keeping in mind they are 12 dollar pens!). The ones with stripes do look nicer by some noticeable amount than the black ones. However, if you like your pen not to be that noticeable in a meeting, the black ones are a lot more normal, less eye-catching. Anyway, I am very happy with these pens, but most of all, because the take what I think are the best ballpoint refills on the planet (I really think I'd tried almost every refill available anywhere. These Jetstreams are the best).
  Disappointing! Looks..., April 22, 2011
By mic...
Disappointing! Looks and feel cheap. I own 5 other types of Uni's and they are all great. This one is not worth the money in my opinion
  Bought this as a gift..., December 26, 2010
Bought this as a gift for a girl friend. She likes it a lot.

-Two pen components
--_ Writes very smoothly [+]

-One .5mm pencil component
--_ It does its job [+]

-Smooth twist mechanism
--_ No(t) secure (enough) incremental switching. Especially for the pencil [-]

-Beautifully black
--_ Plastic construction feels cheap [-]
--_ It's very, very lightweight [+/-]
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Does anyone know how..., March 6, 2010
Does anyone know how to refill pencil lead for this pen ???? I cant figure it out ~~~
  Great multipen. The Jetstream..., January 27, 2009
By 5harpa
Great multipen. The Jetstream refills write very smoothly and the refills are transparent so you can see how close you are to running out of ink. The only big drawback is that it does not have an eraser -- seems like a pretty big oversight to me. If it had an eraser I would give it a rating of 5 instead of 4.

It took me a little while to figure out how to access the refills. It turns out that you have to grip the metallic band tightly and then the lower part of the pen unscrews.

If the 0.5mm ink refills are too fine for your tastes, the 0.7mm multipen Jetstream refills fit this pen as well.
  Just received this in..., November 13, 2008
Just received this in my first order. Thanks!

Writes very nicely (for a ballpoint -- - it's an adjunct to a fountain pen the pencil functions nicely as well). Plastic construction and the "jewel" at the top is squishy? and it squeaks a bit when one turns it but its the only multi-function pen I've found which fits reasonably low in a pocket.

William
  I just received this..., November 7, 2008
I just received this pen, among others, with my first Jet Pens order. First let me say how fast I got my order. It was amazing! I placed my order on Friday and had my pens by Monday, and I live way up here in Maine! Since I got it, this F Series pen has been my constant companion. I always loved the Jetstream series, but my work forces me to switch back and forth from black to red ink very frequently, and this is the perfect pen for that. I love a fine line, and this pen is finer that most Jetstreams available in the US. So thanks, Jet Pens! With you fast service and great products, you've got another very satisfied customer in me.

Michael
Maine, USA
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Not worthed at all ..., January 12, 2013
By oma...
Not worthed at all
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I do not even have this..., January 8, 2009
I do not even have this pen (yet) and I am already drooling over it. I think it's great but, it doesn't have and eraser :(