JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 29, 2010
Without exaggeration,...
Verified Purchase
Without exaggeration, my favourite ballpoint pen of any brand, model or specification. For anything short of running a 7-page imaginative context piece for my English exam, its balance between writing feedback and smoothness mated to a crisp, fine line is perhaps unbeatable. Maybe I'm just having an economy-pen streak lately but I've even been using this in preference to my 'high grade' models of various pens. For $2.25 it looks very sleek and professional.

As with all Jetstreams, the ink is much more vibrant than a typical ballpoint, particularly in blue. I find the black feels inferior to gel inks from Hi-Tec-Cs and Signos, but the blue has a nice color to it and a shade that makes it seem nothing like a second-rate compromise.

The retractable feature makes it nice and portable; the grip is neither too hard nor too soft. Most importantly of all, unlike with some of my fine-pointed Japanese gel pens, it has absolutely no trouble writing on rougher paper, whereas I feel my Hi-Tec-Cs and the like suffer unless I'm writing on high-grade notebooks. Signo DX, Signo RT, G2, thus far no pen has given me this level of performance (although I still prefer gel pens if I have quality writing material for the deeper colors).

If you know a better all-round pen for this kind of price, I'd really like to know.

3 people found this helpful
lpmusicmanlp
 
February 12, 2012
I can't use any other...
Verified Purchase
I can't use any other ballpoint pen or gel pen. The smoothness is incomparable. I had to give this one to my mother though because she liked it so much, too! Luckily, I have backups.

1 person found this helpful
turtles3467
 
December 19, 2014
Awesome pen! Great find....
Verified Purchase
Awesome pen! Great find. JetPens is my new place to go for finding new goodies!

grayrikard
 
October 14, 2014
Wow, This Is Smooth....
Verified Purchase
Wow, This Is Smooth. That's the first phrase I heard after my wife used this pen. It's my reaction as well. I've used many of the Uni Jetstream line from the 1.0 mm and smaller. All of them write smoothly. This pen is easy to hold while writing and doesn't give me a hand cramp when writing long notes. It looks good and runs very well and will be in my pen arsenal for a long time.

 
October 12, 2014
I really dislike this...
Verified Purchase
I really dislike this pen- it's scratchy- which is surpising since it's only 0.5mm. The ink does not flow smoothly and it always seems dried out. I bought this 2012, but am finally throwing it out after many many tries.
I really wanted to like this retractable!

 
May 7, 2013
I bought a handful of...
Verified Purchase
I bought a handful of weights of blue Jetstreams, Acroballs, Vicunas, and Surais, and the 0.5 Jetstream was my favorite. I'm heavy-handed so I found some of the other pens scratchy, but this one was just right. The ink doesn't smudge at all, which is great for lefties. My only complaint is that the cartridge is a little loose, so there's a slight tactile sensation when the point is placed down/up. I remedied that by wrapping a few layers of tape around the back end of the cartridge to thicken it up and keep it from wiggling around in the barrel.

rmorehead
 
May 4, 2013
I bought 2 of these....
Verified Purchase
I bought 2 of these. The one that works writes really nicely, fine thin line, yet smooth. The other one keeps having the ink flowing out unevenly despite being brand new. So for the one that works: 5 star, for the one that does not: 1 star. I also found that this problem of uneven ink flow happen pretty often with ultra fine ballpoint pen, so still looking for a good stable ballpoint pen because I really like the fine line that it produces.

thontruong
 
July 1, 2011
This is my favorite ballpoint....
This is my favorite ballpoint. It makes clean, fine lines and it is always super smooth.

louis0419
 
November 8, 2009
Smoothness: okay Precision:...
Verified Purchase
Smoothness: okay
Precision: Good for 0.5 mm
weight: light
Grip feeling: okay
Cushion: solid

Overall impression: Okay, for better comfort but less precise pen I recommend Pilot G-Knock Retractable Gel Ink Pen - 0.38 mm

 
May 17, 2009
Excellent for tiny writing....
Verified Purchase
Excellent for tiny writing. I use this to write in my Moleskine. A little scratchy but well worth it because the lines are soooo tiny and the control is great. You can write tiny words legibly. I recommend this for any time you need to write small.

breaker021