JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (21 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 25, 2010
This pencil is awesome....
This pencil is awesome. I would recommend it. You can see your lines perfectly, there's no smudging. the only thing though is that I had to buy an eraser, cause the one on the pencil was too tiny for my tastes. other than that I say go for it! It you like to write alot this pencil is for you!

1 person found this helpful
 
December 3, 2009
I like this pencil a...
I like this pencil a lot. The mechanism works well. Usually I give 4's to utencils if there are small defects in them, but I am pleased to say that there are none in this. I would encourage people to purchase the Kuru Toga.

By the way, it writes smooth!

1 person found this helpful
 
July 7, 2013
I work as a night auditor...
Verified Purchase
I work as a night auditor in a hotel and have to fill two spreadsheets in pencil (we're stuck in the 20th century apparently!) In the past I used a Papermate X-Tend Multi and later their PhD Multi, both of which I had to buy again after they break down on me. For the pencil in it (a .5mm) I was constantly rotating the body by thirds as I wrote to keep the lines thin. I discovered the Kuru Toga Engine on Wikipedia and landed on this store's site after a little searching.

This pencil works like a charm for me. The .3mm size is fine to begin with, but the automatic rotating action keeps it very sharp. I've tried the Ain leads in three hardnesses, and here's what I found for writing lots of numbers: The B leads are nice and dark, but they seem to wear a little too fast for the rotation to keep up and look almost like the lines from my .5mm without turning. The HB ones come out very fine but not quite as sharp as the H leads. The HBs are my favorites and work the best for me. The H leads are sharpest and seem to be what the Kuru is tuned for, although I suspect HBs work the best for the shorter strokes of Kanji. I don't like the H leads as much because of their lightness and I have to boost the darkness on the HP All-in-One at work a notch, otherwise the copies I make for management are too faint. I'm going through those leads first, and they do last a long time.

The grip on this pencil isn't as comfortable as it could be—makes the side of my middle finger ache a little. The rubber ring is a nice touch though. The black paint on the side has worn away where the barrel meets the side of my hand where the index finger begins.

The sponginess someone else mentioned isn't bad—I adapted easily, possibly after years of dealing with the Papermate multi-pens which have much more give because of the angle the pencil bit emerges from the body and the manual rotating I did with it.

Coincidentally, the eraser for this is the same size as the one used in the Uni Style Fit Meister 5 pen I bought here. It's a bit small but I normally use a black pearl anyway. I avoided the nicer aluminum pencil because of its blue body, but I am tempted to buy one in the future. All in all, I'm happy with this pencil.

 
March 27, 2013
This is an amazing pencil...
Verified Purchase
This is an amazing pencil if you're into gadgets and technology, because the rotating clutch mechanism is exposed through the clear plastic of the grib and you can see it working with each contact the lead makes with the paper.

The slight edge near the bottom of the grip and the rubber o-ring there make holding it fairly comfortable, but there are also a few issues.

First, the lead breaks fairly easily. I don't know if that's generally an issue with 0.3mm lead, but it seems to require a very light touch. I also find that you can't get through very much text or drawing before having to reach for the pushbotton to advance the lead - again, maybe something that all 0.3mm pencils have in common. I don't have another one to compare it to.

Overall, a fun conversation starter of a writing instrument with a fascinating mechanical feature you won't find anywhere else.

 
November 26, 2012
I love the concept of...
Verified Purchase
I love the concept of this pencil, and the mechanism is pretty nifty. It does seem like you'd benefit more if you were using a larger lead size though. Maybe the rotation speed should be tweaked a bit so that it turns a bit faster, or maybe it's just due to my style of writing.

The Pencil has a good weight to it, and the little rubber pad is in the perfect place for the way I write. It's good enough that I'd buy it even without the rotation mechanism.

elderscrollsnut
 
September 9, 2009
In response to skil1977,...
Verified Purchase
In response to skil1977, I would not recommend this pencil for artwork. There are two devices inside the pencil that cause the lead to rotate. Each time the tip is pressed down it rotates at a very tiny increment, and when the pressure is released it rotates in the same direction the same distance. The pencil tip has to be pressed down about twenty times before the lead makes a full rotation and thus before it creates the pointed tip (^). Long strokes would not work since the lead does not rotate until the pencil is picked up again.

aaronbuchi
 
June 22, 2009
Man, this pencil is awesome!...
Man, this pencil is awesome! Its also in 0.3 form too! You have to hurry up and restock this!!!

shqrevenge
 
April 2, 2009
Would anyone know if...
Would anyone know if this pencil is as good for artwork as it is for writting. I understand that the turning engine is geared towards writting but what about artwork where you take long broad strokes? Does that mean that with artwork no matter what youll have a chisel point or does anyone know if this pencil will actually work well for an artist?

Any reply by any passer by's will be appreciated positive or negative :3

 
November 7, 2008
I just got this pencil...
Verified Purchase
I just got this pencil a few days ago and I can honestly say this is the best pencil I've ever used. I'm more of a pen user because I like to get clean lines when I write and this pencil gets the job done. At first the lead that came with the pencil was a little too light for my taste but combined with lead B its perfect. The lines are nice and thin and they don't smear. Excellent pencil!

happytangerines
 
November 2, 2008
This is by far the best...
Verified Purchase
This is by far the best pencil i have ever used i mean its the best in the world!!!! if your thinkin about gettin one GET ONE. i cant stress it enough i use it everyday in school :)