My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Easily my favorite pencil,..., August 28, 2010
By sugoii
Easily my favorite pencil, hands-down. The fine point is perfect for a biochem student (and also, I hear, for classics majors with a lot of tiny annotating to do), and the heft and grip are comfortable for long periods of scribbling.

My only complaint is that this pencil does not seem to handle the ends of lead very well; quite a bit is wasted at the end, compared with traditional (non-rotating) clutch 0.3mm pencils.
  I am a skeptic at heart..., November 22, 2013
I am a skeptic at heart and really could not see how this mechanism would really work, but I had to give it a try.

I bought the 0.5 package (see longer review there) and this inner version. These pencils have spoiled me. The mechanism works and the thought of going back to using a pencil that I have to rotate all of the time to get a sharp edge is not a happy one!

The 0.3 provides a very thin, fine line. I am using it when notes need to be longer and yet still fit into margin notes. The pencil is very lightweight - which is not a detriment. There are shaped ridges along the drip line that prevent your fingers from slipping on the smooth plastic surface. A cushioned grip would be wonderful, but it does not affect my preference for this pencil to others now.

Now I am curious what the difference is between this version and the more expensive one. ....I may have to find out.....
  The turning mechanism..., May 5, 2013
By inf...
The turning mechanism works wonderfully and keeps the line very fine. I only use the 0.3mm for small work as the lead wears fast (all 0.3mm leads wear fast, they have approx 1/3 the lead volume of a 0.5mm lead). For standard work I use the Kuru Toga 0.5mm or 0.7mm.
  My favorite pencil ever!..., November 26, 2012
By kat...
My favorite pencil ever! It writes great and lasts VERY long. Love it and use it every day!
  Good pencil takes some..., May 15, 2012
By pet...
Good pencil takes some aggusting to but other after that it is great
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I have used this pencil..., March 2, 2011
I have used this pencil and a high grade series. I take notes all day in middle school for students. This pencil tends to dig into the paper with HB grade lead. I use 2B grade and it fix the problem. While this is a good pencil I like the High Grade Series (0.3 mm).
This is a very good pencil.
  This pencil is one of..., March 29, 2010
This pencil is one of my faves'.The thing where the lead makes that pointy shape which results in more writing on one lead is great and actually works. The thing I about this pencil is that you can watch the mechanism spin around.


P.s. For those who think this pencil looks skinny you will be surprised to know that it is of good thickness and the plastic grip is great. I wonder why they don't use more plastic gripping,but maybe they want the Kuru Toga to be different.
  Although the point does..., December 30, 2009
By dolces
Although the point does remain crisp,....the lead broke constantly even with light pressure.
Very disappointed. Maybe the next size lead will be better?
  I have not only the blue..., September 19, 2009
I have not only the blue 03, but the 05 and the higher grade metal pencil. I have fallen in love with these. I now have five of them in different colors (blue, orange, red/magenta, and green) I feel more inclined to use these than every other mechanical pencil I have ever used. The consistant rotation of the lead leaving a beautifully precise line with each letter writen is a delight.

For myself, the one flaw in this pencil is that the guide point doesn't retract and I like to put my pencil in my pocket. I'm afraid of doing so for fear of breaking it. Other than that I love the color and the function. One can even watch the little "engine" go around while you write.

Get one, or more, you won't be sorry!
  The first .3mm pencil..., August 19, 2009
The first .3mm pencil I've used without the lead breaking
every other thing. Great engineering!
  This Pencil is Incredible...., July 9, 2009
This Pencil is Incredible. It REALLY WORKS! I was a little skeptical about it at first, but after trying it for myself, it's really just...WOW! I thought at first, that it would give me a very cushion-y feeling when I wrote, but i don't even notice it. It writes such thin lines! I love this pencil SO much, I never want to be without it.
  love this pencil!!!!..., July 5, 2009
love this pencil!!!! it writes small so it helped me in skool and in drawing this year when needed to write small which was really helpful. the roatation part doesnt work though!! Its a good pencil overall. I gave it a 4 though because it doesnt not roatate.
  This is a fantastic pencil!..., October 25, 2008
This is a fantastic pencil! It writes incredibly thin. The Kuru Toga Engine is a marvel of engineering. I don't ever want to be without one.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  if you love .3 pencils..., March 7, 2010
By lim...
if you love .3 pencils than you should get a big bra
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This is a horrible pencil...., June 7, 2009
This is a horrible pencil. Well, its like a normal pencil. It doesn't rotate like it says it does.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  hey guys! Im anuraj Dash..., February 9, 2009
hey guys! Im anuraj Dash a student at amador valley high. and I just wanted to say that the kuru toga is one of my favorite pencil besides my 40 other alpha gels and 2 jet streams, and 20 dr. grip shakers and 7 dr. grips non shakie. I have 4 of these kuru togas but this blue one is my favorite. I just wanna say i am giving away 10 free alpha gels. Any way this pencil is awesome and i reccomend it to any one. Well thank-you and BYE-BYE
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I want this pencil so..., February 8, 2009
I want this pencil so bad, i have waited so long to get this pencil because someone had this and i thought it looked awesome and i cant wait to get it.