JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 28, 2010
Easily my favorite pencil,...
Verified Purchase
Easily my favorite pencil, hands-down. The fine point is perfect for a biochem student (and also, I hear, for classics majors with a lot of tiny annotating to do), and the heft and grip are comfortable for long periods of scribbling.

My only complaint is that this pencil does not seem to handle the ends of lead very well; quite a bit is wasted at the end, compared with traditional (non-rotating) clutch 0.3mm pencils.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 21, 2014
Wow! No lead breakage...
Verified Purchase
Wow! No lead breakage while writing! Super fine line. Love it.

dockellogg
 
November 22, 2013
I am a skeptic at heart...
Verified Purchase
I am a skeptic at heart and really could not see how this mechanism would really work, but I had to give it a try.

I bought the 0.5 package (see longer review there) and this inner version. These pencils have spoiled me. The mechanism works and the thought of going back to using a pencil that I have to rotate all of the time to get a sharp edge is not a happy one!

The 0.3 provides a very thin, fine line. I am using it when notes need to be longer and yet still fit into margin notes. The pencil is very lightweight - which is not a detriment. There are shaped ridges along the drip line that prevent your fingers from slipping on the smooth plastic surface. A cushioned grip would be wonderful, but it does not affect my preference for this pencil to others now.

Now I am curious what the difference is between this version and the more expensive one. ....I may have to find out.....

 
May 5, 2013
The turning mechanism...
The turning mechanism works wonderfully and keeps the line very fine. I only use the 0.3mm for small work as the lead wears fast (all 0.3mm leads wear fast, they have approx 1/3 the lead volume of a 0.5mm lead). For standard work I use the Kuru Toga 0.5mm or 0.7mm.

 
November 26, 2012
My favorite pencil ever!...
My favorite pencil ever! It writes great and lasts VERY long. Love it and use it every day!

katetaylorb1
 
May 15, 2012
Good pencil takes some...
Good pencil takes some aggusting to but other after that it is great

peterdunay
 
March 2, 2011
I have used this pencil...
I have used this pencil and a high grade series. I take notes all day in middle school for students. This pencil tends to dig into the paper with HB grade lead. I use 2B grade and it fix the problem. While this is a good pencil I like the High Grade Series (0.3 mm).
This is a very good pencil.

1 person found this helpful
 
March 29, 2010
This pencil is one of...
This pencil is one of my faves'.The thing where the lead makes that pointy shape which results in more writing on one lead is great and actually works. The thing I about this pencil is that you can watch the mechanism spin around.


P.s. For those who think this pencil looks skinny you will be surprised to know that it is of good thickness and the plastic grip is great. I wonder why they don't use more plastic gripping,but maybe they want the Kuru Toga to be different.

tycharles24
 
December 30, 2009
Although the point does...
Verified Purchase
Although the point does remain crisp,....the lead broke constantly even with light pressure.
Very disappointed. Maybe the next size lead will be better?

 
September 19, 2009
I have not only the blue...
Verified Purchase
I have not only the blue 03, but the 05 and the higher grade metal pencil. I have fallen in love with these. I now have five of them in different colors (blue, orange, red/magenta, and green) I feel more inclined to use these than every other mechanical pencil I have ever used. The consistant rotation of the lead leaving a beautifully precise line with each letter writen is a delight.

For myself, the one flaw in this pencil is that the guide point doesn't retract and I like to put my pencil in my pocket. I'm afraid of doing so for fear of breaking it. Other than that I love the color and the function. One can even watch the little "engine" go around while you write.

Get one, or more, you won't be sorry!

klspeerly1