JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 3, 2011
This is a good basic...
Verified Purchase
This is a good basic pencil, but the auto lead rotating mechanism is not as impressive as it advertises itself to be. The idea is that when you write, the pressure from pushing down on to the paper loads a little spring, and then when you lift the pencil from the paper, the spring releases and rotates the lead a little bit. But, I found that I write too lightly for the mechanism to work. Also, one thing I recently noticed that I never noticed before is that when I write, my fingers already rotate the pencil anyway. This is a habit I developed over years of using 0.3mm pencils.

If you've been using a 0.3 pencil for a while, you probably already write very lightly and rotate the pencil, so this pencil does not do anything that you don't already. This is a nice gimmick but my recommendation is to go for a nice ergonomic design, something that doesn't jam very often, and if so is easily serviceable. This pencil at least feels comfortable to write with and is fairly light.

3 people found this helpful
 
March 7, 2010
best pencil ever. easy...
Verified Purchase
best pencil ever. easy to hold. and doesnt break lead that easily. and plus i love pink:D

3 people found this helpful
adorableazn06
 
January 12, 2010
Have this pencil in pink...
Verified Purchase
Have this pencil in pink and I use the 2B refills. This is a wonderful penicil! Absolutely love it and is the only pencil I use now!

3 people found this helpful
 
March 20, 2009
This is an awsome pencil!!!...
Verified Purchase
This is an awsome pencil!!! I love very thin lead, and usually .3 lead has a tendency to break easily. Not with this pencil! even the cheap lead stays sturdy because of the pencils unique design. its my favorite pencil ever!!! just one thing, buy extra erasers: they wear out and you'll wanna use this pencil a lot!

3 people found this helpful
partyvictims
 
March 7, 2014
Love the pencil. It looks...
Love the pencil. It looks really nice, feels good to write with and isn't expensive.
I'm not yet sure about the auto-rotate, haven't noticed it that much yet but even without, it's definitely a good pencil!

 
August 7, 2013
I really like this pencil....
Verified Purchase
I really like this pencil. I have had some of the same issues as others concerning cursive writing, but when I am printing it works great. Not so pleased with the fact that the pencil came with cosmetic defects that have only gotten worse.

 
November 22, 2008
The 0.3mm writes really...
Verified Purchase
The 0.3mm writes really really thin! Thinner than any other pencil I've ever had! It's awesome! ^^

 
October 25, 2008
This is a fantastic pencil!...
This is a fantastic pencil! It writes incredibly thin. The Kuru Toga Engine is a marvel of engineering. I don't ever want to be without one.

hartzog2000
 
October 22, 2010
It really pains me to...
It really pains me to do this. I have been admiring this pencil for almost a year and last week I finally got one and I was so excited. I really wanted to love this pencil! And it does have some really cool features. It's a great looking pencil and it definitely has the cool factor--several people have asked me what kind of pencil I was using, and the reactions I got when I explained the mechanism of this pencil were great. Unfortunately, the utility of the kuru mechanism depends on how you write. If you write in short frequent strokes it's great. It's probably also perfect for those writing Japanese characters. But for cursive writers--not so much. For the mechanism to work, you have to frequently lift the tip of the pencil off the page--each time you do that, the lead rotates. Unfortunately for me, I connect many of my letters and the lead therefore doesn't get a chance to rotate that much. So I end up having the same problem with this pencil as all the others--unevenly worn lead and breakage. Bummer.

 
February 13, 2009
I have been dying for...
I have been dying for this pencil! It's been out of stock for ages...I check the site almost everyday to see if they are in stock and I have been disappointed. I think it's so cool how this pencil has the technology to rotate 9 degrees every time it is used. I want it so bad so JetPens, PLEASE restock!!!

kevans280