JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (49 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 17, 2011
This is a decent mech...
This is a decent mech pencil, but it wasn't as great as I thought it would be. The lead rotates every time you lift the pencil, but it requires a certain amount of pressure in order to activate the spring inside. I usually write and sketch lightly, so most of the time I don't use enough pressure for the pencil to work the way it should. If the sensitivity was higher, it would be great, unfortunately it's not.

Again, I'm giving this 2 stars because while it's an OK product, it doesn't work the way it should. If you're a person who presses hard a lot, then it's fine for you. But for someone who wants to sketch with it or naturally doesn't write hard, it's not going to be anything special.

In other words, if you're buying internationally, this product is not worth the money when you add the shipping costs.

4 people found this helpful
Patrick Suin
 
July 10, 2011
This pencil is really...
This pencil is really innovative and I wish the rotating lead idea would be carried into more pencil designs. The tip of the lead does indeed remain sharp. I think the only down side is that the lead starts to scratch into the paper and make writing rigid instead of smooth. I simply changed to a 4B lead and that did the trick.


2 people found this helpful
cospittner
 
September 26, 2010
Best pencil i've owned....
Verified Purchase
Best pencil i've owned. Once you've used this, you'll probably never use another pencil.

pro:
very consistent writing thickness due to lead rotation
body feels solid

cons:
tip wobbles a little since it needs to rotate
the body is made of transparent gray plastic - black is due to paint which will chip off
doesn't hold much lead ( i like to put 10-20 pieces in, not 3-5)

1 person found this helpful
 
May 5, 2010
Nice writing experience...
Verified Purchase
Nice writing experience but the plastic body feels cheap and the paint started flaking off after minimal use.

1 person found this helpful
calimexicano
 
November 10, 2014
My Favorite Pencil So...
Verified Purchase
My Favorite Pencil So Far!!!!

amber.elam0_0
 
September 14, 2014
This is indeed an excellent...
Verified Purchase
This is indeed an excellent mechanical pencil!
You can really see the difference between a normal mechanical pencil and the Kuru Toga. The lines are very consistent throughout the writing even if you write in cursive (like I do).
The tip doesn't wobble as much as I thought it would. It is actually very sturdy.

Probably the only thing a little negative I have to say about the Kuru Toga is the grip, which could be better. But it is not catastrophically bad as some people say...


All in all, I reckon that it is a beautiful piece of engineering! You will not regret buying one of these!

P.S.: If you are a bit timorous about the grip I shall suggest this version: http://www.jetpens.com/Uni-Kuru-Toga-Auto-Lead-Rotation-Mechanical-Pencil-wi th-Rubber-Grip-0.5-mm-Black-Body/pd/10001

antonioschiappa
 
January 28, 2014
I enjoyed using this...
Verified Purchase
I enjoyed using this pencil. When using it, it feels lighter for me. The tip gives a little bit, so I need to consciously make sure to not press down as hard as i usually do or maybe i do it because i think ill break it. I write at a slant so the rotating mechanism is probably lost on me. I do enjoy the little bit of grip it has on the end. it makes me choke up my grip; damn pencil is training me to write different.

this is at my local walmart for cheaper. it makes me sad to see that the rotating mechanism isnt as hyped as it is on the japanese packaging. its basically "eh, its a fucking pencil." on the american packaging not that i would think americans would care about rotating lead anyways.

 
December 3, 2013
This pencil is intriguing,...
This pencil is intriguing, that's for sure.

The tradeoff for the kuru-toga feature is a pencil that feels "loose" in your hand, like you have less control over the lead.

The Kuru-Toga engine works as advertised, albeit with some caveats:
-- Don't use a lead that's too soft (H or harder works best)
-- Don't hold the pencil with too much departure from vertical.

On the latter point, it's simply that the mechanism requires a certain amount of pressure to operate. If you have a light touch and hold the pencil low to the paper, the mechanism won't activate. But if you hold it closer to vertical (as the Japanese do!), or use a heavier touch, it activates just fine and works as advertised.

Overall the pencil feels cheap, but good enough for daily use. I think I prefer the precision feel of my Staedlers overall, but I'd buy another KuruToga compared to other cheap pencils.

justin.hohn
 
January 23, 2013
A great pencil! Has...
Verified Purchase
A great pencil! Has a uniformly shaped body which is very handy for sliding into wire-bound notebooks. The eraser cap is a bit cheesy and feels easy to lose, but stays in place when writing just fine. The grip is hard plastic and a bit uncomfortable after a long writing session - I recommend trying the alpha gel grip version if you like the mechanics of this pencil, though. Does exactly what it's supposed to do though - rotates the lead and keeps your lines crisp and uniform. Recommended!

yoyochanny
 
May 22, 2012
I personally enjoy this...
I personally enjoy this pencil butthe lead rotation thing doesn't work for me. The sensetivity of the roatator should be stronger. I naturally push lightly on a pencil when in use so the lead rotation gimmick doesn't work for me. The little ring of rubber on the tip of the pencil is perfectly placed due to where I grip the pencil.i also think the eraser on the end should be a bit larger and when I put more lead in the end I have to put in one lead stick at a time!! Overall it fits my hand well and I would though prefer reaching for my papermate megalead 0.7mm pencil.




vectrexlover