JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (33 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 5, 2012
My go to pencil for every...
My go to pencil for every day use. I actually got this from a friend in Japan, but the packaging was exactly the same as it is in the picture. Great for everything from notes to sketches to scantrons to just about anything else! The paint on mine (blue) quickly looked battered within a couple of weeks, but I have had mine for almost a year now and it still works like a charm despite this.

I literally use this pencil every day and am always sure to keep it safe within my reach. It works well with my typical small print, my large and quick (and ugly) cursive and just about any application you would use a pencil for typically.

The kuru toga mechanism is not a gimmick and works very well. My pencil marks are always the same thickness and my notes always come out looking great. I especially like the small rubber grip towards the front of the pencil that is good for keeping your fingers comfortable, yet not too invasive to make your hand feel weird like with the Dr. Grip.

This is my favorite pencil and was worth every penny. A must have for any student who wants a strong, reliable and versatile pencil. I would happily buy it 100x again.

2 people found this helpful
kfreeman555
 
May 14, 2012
I love this pencil very...
I love this pencil very much! I have lost it twice in the blue, and I am obsessive over the color blue, and my sister had one but is not as insane with mechanical pencils as I am, so she gave me hers. That was so nice of her! Only thing I would say that is bad about this pencil is that you have to have a certain type of lead in order for it to work entirely the way it is supposed to. If the lead is too soft, it will wear down before the rotation kicks in. However, the weight, size, mechanism, and styles are absolutely to die for! Definitely recommend this pencil, but make sure you get some extra lead; the correct type.

2 people found this helpful
Rachel.Haber
 
October 12, 2014
Overall, I love this...
Verified Purchase
Overall, I love this pencil. I only have one complaint, the grip. If the grip had a softer hold maybe it would get a five star from me. I have a story along with this pencil. This pencil ruined my life. The pencil made me lose my girlfriend, my job and, my social life. I've also gained some weight, due to spending so much time with it. I guess you can say i lost my life because of this pencil. If you want a life DON'T buy this pencil.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 11, 2013
This pencil was a letdown....
This pencil was a letdown. The build quality is pretty bad and there are some aesthetic miscues with the white clip and eraser cap. The eraser is not practical; its extremely small and when you erase, there is too much give with the shaft mechanic (i'm not sure if that's what its referred to). Also, its not very comfortable to write with; no grip. BUT, the actual lead rotation mechanic works perfectly and does what it advertises...but i don't think its enough to make someone want to buy this. I would recommend looking elsewhere.

2 people found this helpful
 
April 24, 2013
Let's take a look at...
Let's take a look at the pros and cons, shall we?

Pros:

> The pencil tip always stays the same size
> There is somewhat of a grip which makes it somewhat comfortable
> It's fun to explain how it works to a friend, classmate, or co-worker which is facilitated by the transparent area around the grip which shows the mechanics
> The color is absolutely GORGEOUS
> All together, it's a really nice shape and color

Cons:

> There is no upper-grip for those of you who like holding the pencil a bit higher up
> The color chips off really easily
> It will likely be stolen if left unattended

Conclusion:

This pencil is fairly nice and very useful. The price is reasonable as well. However, there are a few drawbacks, some of which have the potential to be solved. All in all, I would totally recommend buying it.

1 person found this helpful
UniBallDude
 
January 10, 2014
I love this pencil! My...
I love this pencil! My gf told me about it so i gave it a go. The actual rotation is pretty cool as the lead actually stays sharp - this helps for those bubble in scantrons. It uses a push and release type of function where every time you lift the pencil, it rotates your lead. A few things i think they could improve on however, is the size of the pencil and the materials. I have sweaty hands and this pencil for some reason just slips down my hand more than others. There is a grip closer to the tip, but by then, it's already too late. I also wish this pencil could be a little more wider, but that's just me. Everything else, i really like.

 
January 28, 2013
I love this pencil! In...
I love this pencil! In fact I love it so much I have about 5 different ones :)
They're great for taking detailed notes in smaller spaces, especially with the 0.5 mm lead versions. Finding the right lead for this pencil was a little tricky at first though. I originally favored the 2B leads because they left a dark and definite mark, but with these pencils, the 2B lead was too soft and tended to shave excessively. So I switched to the 2HB leads, and problem solved!
I highly recommend this pencil for those who write with soft-medium pressure and prefer to have a sharp edge on the lead.
For those with a heavier hand but still want the rotating feature, look towards the 0.7mm Kuru Toga.

stargirl33lko
 
June 20, 2012
The design of these pencils...
Verified Purchase
The design of these pencils is AMAZING! I bought three of these, and I use them like crazy. It's so neat how the lead rotates, and I've noticed that I don't break my lead if at all. Awesome, awesome, AWESOME!!! ^^!

cowgirl_bebop03
 
January 29, 2012
nice pencil mech ;P but...
Verified Purchase
nice pencil mech ;P but you have to get used to it.

paul_carreon
 
November 22, 2011
I love this pencil. It's...
Verified Purchase
I love this pencil. It's fun to watch the little mechanism turn when I lift up the pencil, and it really works! My lead does seem to be sharp than my normal 0.5 mechanical pencils are. I love the color, and it's very sturdy. Thouugh most of the grip is hard plastic (like the barrel) at the bottom of where most people grip (the blue ring in the picture) is a nice rubber ring that feels similar to the outside material of the Alpha-Gel grip. Overall a wonderful pencil.

clarissadd