JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 25, 2008
It's neat! It writes...
Verified Purchase
It's neat! It writes a lot finer than regular 0.5mm pencils, and the design itself is very nice and lightweight. But I think for me, my favorite part is that as you write with the pencil, the little circular kura toga logo in the clear part of the barrel rotates. You can actually see the mechanics in action! Very cool!

3 people found this helpful
transient.nature
 
July 1, 2011
The lead rotation mechanism...
Verified Purchase
The lead rotation mechanism works great and keeps the lead sharp. It's great for writing and doing math problems on small pieces of paper. The grip is minimal, which I like. The space for holding lead could be larger, but it's big enough for me.

1 person found this helpful
louis0419
 
April 13, 2014
A very good and sturdy...
Verified Purchase
A very good and sturdy product. I really enjoyed writing with it. The rotation mechanism actually works as intended (much to my surprise :P), and is nice and helpful, though not exactly a game changer. The color is very nice, and the body is sturdy in general, though it feels a little plastic-ey. I dislike that the tip is metal and not retractable, as it makes it awkward to keep in your pocket all the time, but that's a symptom of the rotation mechanism. My biggest issue with this pencil is the eraser. While it's pretty standard for most pencils on this site, I've been spoiled by Pentel's massive twist up erasers, which never need replacing. If you buy this pencil and are planning on using quite a lot, I would absolutely recommend you buy some replacement erasers, so you don't have to worry about running out.

Over all, a very nice pencil, and reasonably priced. If you're looking for something very professional or heavy, this isn't really the pencil for you. Beyond that, It's great!

gabeseltzer
 
May 15, 2013
A very nice invention....
Verified Purchase
A very nice invention. It would be nice if all my pens had rotating lead :) Takes some getting used to since you're always using a sharpened piece of lead. I use Karu Toga lead with this pencil.

vkapoor3141
 
January 18, 2013
This pencil is great...
This pencil is great for people who just wanna use it to take notes in school and stuff, but it doesn't really clutch the lead well and the lead tends to fall out easily even though when there is quite a bit left. I really like how it looks, though! But i prefer the Uni Kuru Toga High Grade Auto Lead Rotation mechanical pencils with the metal grips....They are more expensive, but 10x better and totally work well.

 
December 13, 2012
One star off for being...
Verified Purchase
One star off for being made in China in Japan. So far so good. I have the Orange, Green, and Blue. Blue and Orange are gifts for friends. It write very well.

eileen.bacon
 
July 4, 2012
The rotating mechanism...
The rotating mechanism really works! It is not only useful, but also entertaining to watch. The only drawback of the product is that it is not made in Japan.

 
May 8, 2012
I was skeptical of how...
Verified Purchase
I was skeptical of how well this pencil would work, but mine arrived yesterday and I LOVE IT. Before I even wrote anything, I found that I really like the grip. I hold my pencils pretty close to the point, so most pencils' rubber grips are way too far from the tip and too fat to write comfortably. This pencil's barrel is a good diameter, and it's grooved but smooth. The orange ring near the point is soft rubber so your fingers don't slide off. This design is perfect for me.

The rotating lead thing is really nice. My line stays a consistent thickness, which isn't really an issue for me to begin with, but I like that every time I touch the pencil to paper, it *feels* the same. With other pencils, depending on whether you start writing on the "flat" part of your lead or the "sharp" part of your lead, it feels different. But this pencil feels the same every time. So cool!

Also, the design is really attractive. Even though the body is plastic, it looks expensive. The pencil feels really sturdy, and doesn't rattle or flex the way some cheap pencils do.

This is by far my favorite pencil (I think I have over a dozen now from Jetpens).

thumy.webb
 
February 23, 2011
Very useful....
Very useful.

1 person found this helpful
zordguard45
 
February 12, 2011
Good pencil that saves...
Good pencil that saves lead and prevents lead breakage. My only complaint of this pencil is that the grip is too hard. Otherwise, the Kuru Toga is perfect!