My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  It's neat! It writes..., November 25, 2008
It's neat! It writes a lot finer than regular 0.5mm pencils, and the design itself is very nice and lightweight. But I think for me, my favorite part is that as you write with the pencil, the little circular kura toga logo in the clear part of the barrel rotates. You can actually see the mechanics in action! Very cool!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The lead rotation mechanism..., July 1, 2011
The lead rotation mechanism works great and keeps the lead sharp. It's great for writing and doing math problems on small pieces of paper. The grip is minimal, which I like. The space for holding lead could be larger, but it's big enough for me.
  A very good and sturdy..., April 13, 2014
A very good and sturdy product. I really enjoyed writing with it. The rotation mechanism actually works as intended (much to my surprise :P), and is nice and helpful, though not exactly a game changer. The color is very nice, and the body is sturdy in general, though it feels a little plastic-ey. I dislike that the tip is metal and not retractable, as it makes it awkward to keep in your pocket all the time, but that's a symptom of the rotation mechanism. My biggest issue with this pencil is the eraser. While it's pretty standard for most pencils on this site, I've been spoiled by Pentel's massive twist up erasers, which never need replacing. If you buy this pencil and are planning on using quite a lot, I would absolutely recommend you buy some replacement erasers, so you don't have to worry about running out.

Over all, a very nice pencil, and reasonably priced. If you're looking for something very professional or heavy, this isn't really the pencil for you. Beyond that, It's great!
  A very nice invention...., May 15, 2013
A very nice invention. It would be nice if all my pens had rotating lead :) Takes some getting used to since you're always using a sharpened piece of lead. I use Karu Toga lead with this pencil.
  This pencil is great..., January 18, 2013
By mikki
This pencil is great for people who just wanna use it to take notes in school and stuff, but it doesn't really clutch the lead well and the lead tends to fall out easily even though when there is quite a bit left. I really like how it looks, though! But i prefer the Uni Kuru Toga High Grade Auto Lead Rotation mechanical pencils with the metal grips....They are more expensive, but 10x better and totally work well.
  One star off for being..., December 13, 2012
By eil...
One star off for being made in China in Japan. So far so good. I have the Orange, Green, and Blue. Blue and Orange are gifts for friends. It write very well.
  The rotating mechanism..., July 4, 2012
By sen...
The rotating mechanism really works! It is not only useful, but also entertaining to watch. The only drawback of the product is that it is not made in Japan.
  I was skeptical of how..., May 8, 2012
By thu...
I was skeptical of how well this pencil would work, but mine arrived yesterday and I LOVE IT. Before I even wrote anything, I found that I really like the grip. I hold my pencils pretty close to the point, so most pencils' rubber grips are way too far from the tip and too fat to write comfortably. This pencil's barrel is a good diameter, and it's grooved but smooth. The orange ring near the point is soft rubber so your fingers don't slide off. This design is perfect for me.

The rotating lead thing is really nice. My line stays a consistent thickness, which isn't really an issue for me to begin with, but I like that every time I touch the pencil to paper, it *feels* the same. With other pencils, depending on whether you start writing on the "flat" part of your lead or the "sharp" part of your lead, it feels different. But this pencil feels the same every time. So cool!

Also, the design is really attractive. Even though the body is plastic, it looks expensive. The pencil feels really sturdy, and doesn't rattle or flex the way some cheap pencils do.

This is by far my favorite pencil (I think I have over a dozen now from Jetpens).
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Very useful...., February 23, 2011
By zor...
Very useful.
  Good pencil that saves..., February 12, 2011
By kc1550
Good pencil that saves lead and prevents lead breakage. My only complaint of this pencil is that the grip is too hard. Otherwise, the Kuru Toga is perfect!
  i like this pencil because..., January 9, 2011
i like this pencil because it right's good and it is a misubish pencil and kurutoga
buy it
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I bought one in 0.3 and..., November 1, 2010
By bys...
I bought one in 0.3 and 0.5. I prefer the 0.3 because it is a cleaner line and crisp finish on the paper. The 0.5 is just okay, the writing comes out mushy and when writing, it sounds loud and scratchy. I just ordered an different lead type to see if that helps. But overall, it is a nice pencil.
  As a Mathematics student..., January 23, 2010
By ebo...
As a Mathematics student I use pencil most of the time and this KURU TOGA is, by far, my favorite pencil ever. It feels very comfy to write with it as it is very light and the results on the page are awesome: it looks so clean, uniform strokes and no smudginess. It's been more than a year since I bought my pencil and I have never broken a lead while writing with it.
I just love it!
  Please restock soon I..., February 19, 2009
Please restock soon I NEED ONE.
  ** they restocked! **,..., December 26, 2008
By leeban
** they restocked! **, I can\'t wait to get my paycheck so I can try this out. If it were any other pencil, I would wait for the black or blue or silver colors, but right now I don\'t really care!
  This pencil is awesome!..., November 22, 2008
By kiray
This pencil is awesome! It produces a line much thinner than regular 0.5mm mechanical pencils are able to. My letters are consisent - the width of all the strokes are the same. The point goes in slightly when you press down (this is what causes the lead to turn), but it is hardly noticable. It is lightweight, and comfortable to hold ^^
  This is a fantastic pencil!..., October 25, 2008
This is a fantastic pencil! It writes incredibly thin. The Kuru Toga Engine is a marvel of engineering. I don't ever want to be without one.
1 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I have to comment on..., July 3, 2011
I have to comment on the validity of most reviews I read on jet pens. It is really hard to see any credibility in them because the spelling and grammar is reminiscent of 4th graders. Seriously, if you want anyone to take you serious it is imperative that simple words are spelled correctly and elementary English rules are followed. I understand wanting to rush and mistakes happen but there is no excuse to spell writes "right's". That is just one example I have read in the past 2 minutes.

I apologize for putting this in the review section I couldn't think of anywhere else to write it where people could read it and hopefully take the advice to heart. It will make the reviews on this site so much better.