My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This mechanical pencil..., November 8, 2010
This mechanical pencil is ridiculously amazing! I love writing with this pencil more so than the 10+ others I bought from this site. It just doesn't feel the same when my letters turn out ugly or the paper rips due to the sharp lead. But I fear no more! This pencil makes me love writing and IT IS PERFECT for writing 100s of Chinese characters! I highly recommend buying 2-3 of various colors!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  All I can say is wow...., April 15, 2011
By jfm...
All I can say is wow. I heard about this pencil on the Minimal Mac podcast, and I decided to give it a try since I have an issue with chiseling lead, even on 0.5 mm lead. The mechanism is very nice; it does exactly what it's intended to do. It's not really that much of a difference in reality, but it just makes writing that much smoother and more even. It won't work miracles, but the benefit is really in the details.
  I really enjoy writing..., November 29, 2013
I really enjoy writing with this pencil....my handwriting looks even neater because it has the constant thickness.....definitely a good buy....thank you JetPens!
  This design is just so..., September 24, 2011
This design is just so innovative! Who knew that they could design the lead to rotate on its own? I love this pencil. I would like to see it in a 0.7mm as well, but I don't see that available. The eraser is also a bit small for my preference, but that's just me.
  Ever since my first uni-ball..., March 21, 2011
Ever since my first uni-ball kuru toga, damn i've fallen for this. this is the best pencil i ever used!
  BEST EVER!! I have..., January 25, 2011
By mal...
BEST EVER!!
I have the green and orange ones and they're absolutely fabulous. I've been using them a whole year and they still work, top-notch. These will be the mechanical pencils I'll be buying from now and on.
  this is my new favorite..., September 15, 2010
By spe...
this is my new favorite pencil =). it's great for writing and i love it. the rotation doesn't work as well if you prefer to write in cursive though.
  Awesome pencil :)! Perfect..., December 14, 2009
By shu...
Awesome pencil :)!

Perfect for when i draw. I basically ordered to try it out & i love it!_3 :D
  For about the same price..., November 20, 2009
By jmw19
For about the same price as a "normal" mechanical pencil, here's one that just works better.
I like the lead rotation, even though I tend to hold the pencil at a very high angle, so the effect is less noticeable. The bigger benefit to me is the slight cushioning of the lead from the rotation mechanism. I've had no breakage of the .5mm lead, and I suspect I could use a .3mm without a problem as well.

The design is pretty good, though I wish the clip was removable.

The only drawback I can see is that the lead only rotates when the lead contacts the paper. Thus, if you use cursive, you'll get 1 or 2 movements per word, while printing would have 1 to 4 per letter.
  when my friend first..., July 12, 2009
when my friend first bought me this pencil from hong kong, i was like aw thanks! but i did not realize that it had the lead twisting or kuru toga engine. this was because when he gave it to me, he just gave me the pencil, not the case. but it was still nice. then, when i was doing my hw, i realized, hey why does the orange thing move every time i press down? i thought oh watever, its just a decoration i guess. i didnt even notice the spinning mechanism. later, i let my other friend borrow, and how clumsy of him, he used it for 30 seconds and lost it. now, i see another person using the same pencil, so im thinking he took it. needa get it back __

now for the review. i thought that this pencil's tip comes off too easily. like, i would twist the tip really tightly, and it wouldnt take much effort to untwist it. so i guess that was the only drawback.
but the clear grip area is extremely attractive! [:
  These pencils are great,..., April 9, 2009
By quomen
These pencils are great, and keep the line extremely thin (compared to other 0.5 pencils). I compared two pencils, and wrote from 1-50. For me, the difference in the pencil sharpness started to make a difference at about number 15, and there was a significant difference at number 26 and above. The width and consistency of the line made by the Toga is unparalleled.

One HUGE drawback though, the eraser is pretty bad. It falls and is loose when erasing. It is not a firm, controlled, erase at all, which is something that you would expect from a pencil that writes as thin as this.
  This is a fantastic pencil!..., October 25, 2008
This is a fantastic pencil! It writes incredibly thin. The Kuru Toga Engine is a marvel of engineering. I don't ever want to be without one.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I never have to buy lead..., May 13, 2012
By dar...
I never have to buy lead with this pencil