JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (40 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 17, 2011
I absolutely love this...
Verified Purchase
I absolutely love this pencil. I just ran out of lead today and tried to write with another pencil when I realized how great it is.

My teacher recommended it to me, and it's all I use now. I can't stand to use other pencils which write slowly, are too thick, and chip off. This pencil writes like a ballpoint pen, and the weight is very nice. It's auto sharpening features works perfectly and over the last month it has only chipped off once.

The two things I dislike about this pencil are the fact that the grip is a bit slippery (but not so slippery it's unusable, at all,) and I'm constantly worried about it stabbing me in my pocket. The tip doesn't retract, and it's a little sharp, which makes it a bit frustrating to carry in my pocket.

Overall, I love this pencil, and couldn't use another.

7 people found this helpful
johnmaguire2013
 
December 6, 2010
To the guy who asked...
Verified Purchase
To the guy who asked what the difference is, I'll answer.
I ordered both and got them today.

The high grade one's grip is a little slick in comparison to the older one, so I'd say the older one is easier to hold on to. The old one's kuru toga device is also easier to activate, I guess you can say. You don't have to press down as hard to make it rotate.

I bought the pencils to draw with and noticed right away that they're better for writing. If you're using them for sketching, it probably won't rotate as much until you do a dark line. Not a problem though because you will end up doing dark lines, shadows, etc. Now for writing, it works like a charm. Very nice.

Anyway, the high grade one feels nicer in my hand, it feels a little heavier and it's nicer looking. The older one is just plastic. They're both awesome though, but if you don't want to spend 15 dollars, the older one does just as good as a job, as long as you don't mind the plastic frame.

I'd definitely recommend this pencil to anyone. If you're writing a lot, this is the best one you can get probably. If you're sketching or drawing, I don't know if this one is the best but it's definitely the best I've used so far.

5 people found this helpful
 
April 26, 2011
I love the way the pen...
Verified Purchase
I love the way the pen writes, very smooth and even once it's been through a couple cycles. Makes writing a long essay readable from beginning to end. The only complaint I have is the grip. It is uncomfortable for long periods and is very prone to slipping. I wish I had waited for the Roulette to get back in stock before purchasing a Kuru Toga (or the now available Alpha Gel). I'd still recommend this pencil line to someone without a doubt, but maybe not this exact one.

6 people found this helpful
chaffinwc
 
December 15, 2010
This pencil is excellent....
Verified Purchase
This pencil is excellent. I've been using it for a month and it has so far functioned perfectly and exactly as described.

The high grade version works just as well as the original but, in my opinion, it looks better and its additional weight provides a better feel.

I would recommend this pencil to anyone.

4 people found this helpful
jason.skaggs
 
October 19, 2011
Good pencil priced right....
Verified Purchase
Good pencil priced right. Looks good, grip works fine for me, works as advertised. Kuru Toga engine is more of a novelty than necessity for me, but very cool anyway. Writing in cursive somewhat reduces the effect of the auto-rotation, since you activate the action less often. Glad I bought it.

3 people found this helpful
shanehenrycpa
 
October 10, 2010
whats the difference...
whats the difference between this one and the original? besides the grip? is it easier or harder to hold????

1 person found this helpful
brennankddr
 
June 17, 2010
This is a great pencil...
This is a great pencil

Those people complaining about 'give' in the pencil, *This pencil is not designed as a drafting pencil therefore 'give' is natural* If you don't like give, get a drafting pencil.

the only complaints I have heard is that it must be held at an angle, and if too light a pressure is exerted, engine doesn't work.

I have one, and write at all angles at all reasonable pressures, and mine works flawlessly. I only wish the tip would retract so it wouldn't pierce a hole in my pockets:D

(but there are other pencils for this. )

1 person found this helpful
bjcmatthews
 
April 16, 2014
I have had this pencil...
I have had this pencil for 2 years and not once has the lead broken, not once. Great pencil. Great price. You should get it.

anubandi525
 
February 5, 2014
I really like the engine...
I really like the engine and the pencil. I gave it a 4 star because the "Roulette" is a newer version with a better grip and same price.

 
November 17, 2012
i like the feel of this...
i like the feel of this pencil, it glides on the paper and feels amazing in my hand. the slick grip is pretty comfortable but can get slippery. i love the color combination of blck and silver. definatly a great buy

bobbobbobbob0987654321