Page 1 of 5 |  | 
I absolutely love this...
January 17, 2011
Verified Purchase
I absolutely love this pencil. I just ran out of lead today and tried to write with another pencil when I realized how great it is.

My teacher recommended it to me, and it's all I use now. I can't stand to use other pencils which write slowly, are too thick, and chip off. This pencil writes like a ballpoint pen, and the weight is very nice. It's auto sharpening features works perfectly and over the last month it has only chipped off once.

The two things I dislike about this pencil are the fact that the grip is a bit slippery (but not so slippery it's unusable, at all,) and I'm constantly worried about it stabbing me in my pocket. The tip doesn't retract, and it's a little sharp, which makes it a bit frustrating to carry in my pocket.

Overall, I love this pencil, and couldn't use another.
8 people found this helpful
johnmaguire2013
To the guy who asked...
December 6, 2010
Verified Purchase
To the guy who asked what the difference is, I'll answer.
I ordered both and got them today.

The high grade one's grip is a little slick in comparison to the older one, so I'd say the older one is easier to hold on to. The old one's kuru toga device is also easier to activate, I guess you can say. You don't have to press down as hard to make it rotate.

I bought the pencils to draw with and noticed right away that they're better for writing. If you're using them for sketching, it probably won't rotate as much until you do a dark line. Not a problem though because you will end up doing dark lines, shadows, etc. Now for writing, it works like a charm. Very nice.

Anyway, the high grade one feels nicer in my hand, it feels a little heavier and it's nicer looking. The older one is just plastic. They're both awesome though, but if you don't want to spend 15 dollars, the older one does just as good as a job, as long as you don't mind the plastic frame.

I'd definitely recommend this pencil to anyone. If you're writing a lot, this is the best one you can get probably. If you're sketching or drawing, I don't know if this one is the best but it's definitely the best I've used so far.
5 people found this helpful
I love the way the pen...
April 26, 2011
Verified Purchase
I love the way the pen writes, very smooth and even once it's been through a couple cycles. Makes writing a long essay readable from beginning to end. The only complaint I have is the grip. It is uncomfortable for long periods and is very prone to slipping. I wish I had waited for the Roulette to get back in stock before purchasing a Kuru Toga (or the now available Alpha Gel). I'd still recommend this pencil line to someone without a doubt, but maybe not this exact one.
6 people found this helpful
chaffinwc
This pencil is excellent....
December 15, 2010
Verified Purchase
This pencil is excellent. I've been using it for a month and it has so far functioned perfectly and exactly as described.

The high grade version works just as well as the original but, in my opinion, it looks better and its additional weight provides a better feel.

I would recommend this pencil to anyone.
4 people found this helpful
jason.skaggs
Good pencil priced right....
October 19, 2011
Verified Purchase
Good pencil priced right. Looks good, grip works fine for me, works as advertised. Kuru Toga engine is more of a novelty than necessity for me, but very cool anyway. Writing in cursive somewhat reduces the effect of the auto-rotation, since you activate the action less often. Glad I bought it.
3 people found this helpful
shanehenrycpa
whats the difference...
October 10, 2010
whats the difference between this one and the original? besides the grip? is it easier or harder to hold????
1 person found this helpful
brennankddr
This is a great pencil...
June 17, 2010
This is a great pencil

Those people complaining about 'give' in the pencil, *This pencil is not designed as a drafting pencil therefore 'give' is natural* If you don't like give, get a drafting pencil.

the only complaints I have heard is that it must be held at an angle, and if too light a pressure is exerted, engine doesn't work.

I have one, and write at all angles at all reasonable pressures, and mine works flawlessly. I only wish the tip would retract so it wouldn't pierce a hole in my pockets:D

(but there are other pencils for this. )
1 person found this helpful
bjcmatthews
It's been roughly 4 months...
April 2, 2015
Verified Purchase
It's been roughly 4 months since I have started using this pencil, and it still preforms quite well. At first I felt that the top half of the pencil was lacking... I really wanted a premium pencil and before I bought this pencil I was using plastic pencils. So I thought alright I won't spend a large amount of money on a pencil... "I will just buy this one to see if I like having a aluminum constructed pencil". Anyway long story short I used it for a while, but the top half was still bugging me, so I decided to remove the clip and the tiny plastic ring from the cap. That made me feel somewhat better about the looks of the pencil, still... I said damn I want an all metal pencil now.

So... I bought the Pro-Use 03 which is a drafting pencil all metal with .3 lead. The thing is absolutely beautiful to hold, the coolness of the metal just feels great when you initially pick it up then slowly warms up to your body temperature. However the damn thing is not very dependable, it constantly breaks leads and jams. I paid 25 dollars for that pencil and I hardly use it now because it always has some problem.

Conclusion:
Looks are not everything, buying a really fancy pencil made of all metal construction does not guarantee it's usefulness. The Toga might not be all metal but it always preforms, it never breaks leads or jams... (in the 4 months I have owned it) It always just works, and although it is a .5 pencil it produces quite a thin line (.3-.4) because it has the auto sharpening function. (if you write in cursive it doesn't rotate though) The grip is very smooth but not slippery, if i'm doing a lot of writing I pick the Toga. I like using 2B lead on this pencil, it's a pleasure to use really and so very dependable. I was going to knock off a star because the top half is plastic, but honestly it's functionality makes up for it. It's not a pencil that will impress people for it's looks but I'm certain it will do it's job very well for a long time. It pencil is really a good "bang for your buck" and headache free.
programingByHand
After breaking my first,...
February 14, 2015
Verified Purchase
After breaking my first, I tried using other mechanical pencils that I had and I now fully appreciate the 'auto rotation' feature of the kuru toga's, it's not a gimmick!
eugene.ek
Great item...
February 8, 2015
Verified Purchase
Great item
jwcates71
Page 1 of 5 |  |