My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (40 customer reviews)
Write Review
7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely love this..., January 17, 2011
I absolutely love this pencil. I just ran out of lead today and tried to write with another pencil when I realized how great it is.

My teacher recommended it to me, and it's all I use now. I can't stand to use other pencils which write slowly, are too thick, and chip off. This pencil writes like a ballpoint pen, and the weight is very nice. It's auto sharpening features works perfectly and over the last month it has only chipped off once.

The two things I dislike about this pencil are the fact that the grip is a bit slippery (but not so slippery it's unusable, at all,) and I'm constantly worried about it stabbing me in my pocket. The tip doesn't retract, and it's a little sharp, which makes it a bit frustrating to carry in my pocket.

Overall, I love this pencil, and couldn't use another.
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  To the guy who asked..., December 6, 2010
To the guy who asked what the difference is, I'll answer.
I ordered both and got them today.

The high grade one's grip is a little slick in comparison to the older one, so I'd say the older one is easier to hold on to. The old one's kuru toga device is also easier to activate, I guess you can say. You don't have to press down as hard to make it rotate.

I bought the pencils to draw with and noticed right away that they're better for writing. If you're using them for sketching, it probably won't rotate as much until you do a dark line. Not a problem though because you will end up doing dark lines, shadows, etc. Now for writing, it works like a charm. Very nice.

Anyway, the high grade one feels nicer in my hand, it feels a little heavier and it's nicer looking. The older one is just plastic. They're both awesome though, but if you don't want to spend 15 dollars, the older one does just as good as a job, as long as you don't mind the plastic frame.

I'd definitely recommend this pencil to anyone. If you're writing a lot, this is the best one you can get probably. If you're sketching or drawing, I don't know if this one is the best but it's definitely the best I've used so far.
6 out of 8 people found the following review helpful
  I love the way the pen..., April 26, 2011
I love the way the pen writes, very smooth and even once it's been through a couple cycles. Makes writing a long essay readable from beginning to end. The only complaint I have is the grip. It is uncomfortable for long periods and is very prone to slipping. I wish I had waited for the Roulette to get back in stock before purchasing a Kuru Toga (or the now available Alpha Gel). I'd still recommend this pencil line to someone without a doubt, but maybe not this exact one.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is excellent...., December 15, 2010
This pencil is excellent. I've been using it for a month and it has so far functioned perfectly and exactly as described.

The high grade version works just as well as the original but, in my opinion, it looks better and its additional weight provides a better feel.

I would recommend this pencil to anyone.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Good pencil priced right...., October 19, 2011
By sha...
Good pencil priced right. Looks good, grip works fine for me, works as advertised. Kuru Toga engine is more of a novelty than necessity for me, but very cool anyway. Writing in cursive somewhat reduces the effect of the auto-rotation, since you activate the action less often. Glad I bought it.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  whats the difference..., October 10, 2010
whats the difference between this one and the original? besides the grip? is it easier or harder to hold????
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is a great pencil..., June 17, 2010
This is a great pencil

Those people complaining about 'give' in the pencil, *This pencil is not designed as a drafting pencil therefore 'give' is natural* If you don't like give, get a drafting pencil.

the only complaints I have heard is that it must be held at an angle, and if too light a pressure is exerted, engine doesn't work.

I have one, and write at all angles at all reasonable pressures, and mine works flawlessly. I only wish the tip would retract so it wouldn't pierce a hole in my pockets:D

(but there are other pencils for this. )
  I have had this pencil..., April 16, 2014
By anu...
I have had this pencil for 2 years and not once has the lead broken, not once. Great pencil. Great price. You should get it.
  I really like the engine..., February 5, 2014
I really like the engine and the pencil. I gave it a 4 star because the "Roulette" is a newer version with a better grip and same price.
  i like the feel of this..., November 17, 2012
By eri...
i like the feel of this pencil, it glides on the paper and feels amazing in my hand. the slick grip is pretty comfortable but can get slippery. i love the color combination of blck and silver. definatly a great buy
  Auto sharpening feature..., September 8, 2012
Auto sharpening feature is great, wish it was a 0.7 mm or 0.9mm. The needle point tip makes it a pain if you want to put it in your pocket. It's more of a drafting pencil I guess.
  This is a great pencil..., August 7, 2012
By Roy...
This is a great pencil well worth the money. I bought one each of the Uni Kuru Toga Roulette and the Uni-ball Kuru Toga High Grade (in the .5 mm configuration). Not sure what is high grade about High Grade one, but it is still just as nice as the Roulette. I personally like the Roulette better as the knurled grip sticks in my hand like Velcro and that is nice as some times I am outside where it is warm and my hand will sweat a little. Both feel about the same weight and write the same way being I don’t get a chiseled tip or one line, mark or letter is thicker than another. It puts consistent marks on the paper. I have to write in small blocks small letters and this helps out a lot. This will not work as well if you write in cursive, but for print it is perfect. The more you raise the pencil off the paper the more it rotates the more constant your markings will be. Just keep that in mind when you’re thinking about its use.
I have read a lot of reviews on here about these pencils and two things I wonder aboutis- first is the durability if the internal parts. The roulette and high grade seem like they will last a long time if the internal parts are as tuff as the external seem. And second I wish they would make the whole body aluminum. That’s just my preference. I would like to see these in some nice high end metals carbon fiber as I would definitely buy one.

  This is a VERY good,..., April 12, 2012
This is a VERY good, High quality pencil. It looks good, writes good, and is affordable. Highly recommend it.
  Decided to try this after..., January 23, 2012
By bta...
Decided to try this after reading with fascination about the Kuru Toga engine. This pen works very well and it is a little strange at first to not rotate one's pencil while writing. The point stays sharp and the interaction one has while writing is a bit different as there's a ghost in the machine doing the lead rotation for you. The grip is a little slippery but not so bad that its tiring for long note taking sessions. Definitately interesting and welcome.
  I like this pencil but..., July 7, 2011
I like this pencil but have a gripe about the smooth barrel because it isn't very comfy to hold onto for an extended period of time. Having some kind of texture would be nice.
  After reading reviews..., September 27, 2010
After reading reviews about this pencil I figured I'd see what the fuss is about. I'm not normally a pencil user, but I have to so I love this pencil. The mechanism works exactly the way it's advertised and my lines are even. I never found the mechanism to be hindering at all because it does not take much pressure to activate the mechanism. So it's not like you have to constantly press down on the pencil to start the mechanism. In terms of having to write at an angle; the pen was designed for people who write at less than 90 degrees. The mechanism wouldn't be necessary for people who write at 90 degrees. Also I think the thickness of the line is mostly dependent on the hardness of the lead used not so much the physical thickness of the lead (which is why I don't use pencils all that often).

If there's one thing I wish I could modify on this pencil it would be so that the tip retracts. I worry that it's either going to break off or stab me in the leg when i sit down. But I really love this pencil and it'll be regularly used along side my Graphgear.
  EPIC!!!!!..., May 28, 2010
EPIC!!!!!
  Wonderful pencil. The..., March 9, 2010
Wonderful pencil. The engine with the new look makes this pencil the best in the world. I am simply in love with the body, the metal grip, and, most of all, the Kuru Toga Engine. This engine is revolutionary! I love it!
  This pencil is just ok...., March 5, 2010
This pencil is just ok.

It does not write as good as it looks. You need to write with your pencil at an angle for the rotation to have any effect. Also, the "give" the rotation mechanism requires for operation creates a less than ideal writing experience. I would not recommend this pencil, for $15 you can do much better.
  I don't think it's so..., February 9, 2010
I don't think it's so great.

The rotating mechanism requires the tip to be pushed in a little, so the writing experience is mushy.

Also, the rotating doesn't work that well. I bought it in 0.5 although I prefer 0.3 because of the rotation, but the line is still too thick

See full review http://wp.me/pi9Kg-8f
  This is really good,..., January 29, 2010
By car...
This is really good, your handwriting will be better than it was. For me at least. Writes similar to a pen in a way since the line is always consistent. Wish the grip was soft, but I can still use it for multiple hours on end with all my hw. Jetpens did a great job and sending me replacement erasers since mine didn't come with one for some reason. =X Thanks Jetpens!
  Crazy pencil from " crazy..., January 16, 2010
By antjaf
Crazy pencil from " crazy country ", I mean Great Country.
  i prefer the original..., January 12, 2010
i prefer the original one even though the grip kinda sucks youll get used to it...and i noticed that it does make my hand writing a lot better, but you have to write kinda on an angle for it to work...
  The guide pipe does NOT..., December 17, 2009
The guide pipe does NOT go in. Good pencil otherwise.
  Why can't there be black..., December 16, 2009
By car...
Why can't there be black 0.3 models of this pencil? i would really like it if there was.