JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 4, 2011
My favorite pencil. I'm...
My favorite pencil. I'm amazed it works as well as it does.

Note: To do its trick it needs either harder lead, a light touch, or for the pencil to be picked up. But only one of these. Example: If drawing a two foot line with soft lead, the lead might flatten out, or even with harder lead if the pencil is pushed down with much pressure.

If you don't have one, get one. Heck, if you're at Jetpens you have a collection anyhow probably.

4 people found this helpful
warkdrockwav
 
March 9, 2011
I am very picky about...
Verified Purchase
I am very picky about pencils, after reading reviews on this pencil on JetPens and PenAddict, I decided to try one out. I am very pleased with the pencil. I do not find my writing experience to be "mushy" at all. As far as the hole on the grip goes, I am working on training myself to write with the hole facing up and not turn the pencil as I am prone to do. I cannot wait to use it more, I am thrilled about how consistent my handwriting looks so far.

1 person found this helpful
lksandrock
 
August 24, 2009
This is a brilliant mechanical...
Verified Purchase
This is a brilliant mechanical pencil. It resolves the sole problem afflicting both mechanical and wooden pencils, that is, the need to rotate them in your grip as you're writing. Not that such an act is so terribly difficult for most people with better than average motor skills—however, because the Kuru Toga obviates the need to rotate the pencil, one can simply ... write, as with a ballpoint. It's so clever and simple, one wonders why another manufacturer hadn't thought of it previously.

If you use a pencil a lot through the day, I cannot recommend the Uni-Ball Kuru Toga highly enough. Bitch about the eraser if you must, but there are plenty of erasers for sale here anyway. Besides, what wooden or mechanical pencil has ever had an eraser the equal of a separate one, such as a Tombow or the Mitsu Boxy?

1 person found this helpful
ch1_everitt
 
July 27, 2009
You get what you pay...
Verified Purchase
You get what you pay for, and this saying doesn't disappoint when dealing with this pen. The aluminum grip is very sleek, and the contrast of the black eraser to the white body has some visual appeal to me. The pen feels very solid. My only complaint, although it is small, is that you can see the Kura Toga mechanism like in her cheaper counterparts. Very gut!

1 person found this helpful
williamscaleba
 
January 28, 2014
it is just perfect i...
Verified Purchase
it is just perfect i bought 2 more than i need for presents my friends also said it is best

d.park9512
 
July 14, 2012
I own the cheaper Kuru...
Verified Purchase
I own the cheaper Kuru Toga and I just bought this one. If you can afford it, buy this one! The cheaper one is full plastic, with painted color on it. The paint comes off very easily and the pencil feels cheap overall. This one is weightier, the plastic colored part is not painted, it is the color of the plastic and the grip area is aluminum. MUCH better quality.

ethanoshiro
 
February 15, 2012
Best pencil ever! I...
Verified Purchase
Best pencil ever! I have yet to break the lead on this pencil! I have had this for over a year and love it! The auto lead rotation is the best part of the whole pencil!

 
November 3, 2010
This is the best pencil...
Verified Purchase
This is the best pencil for writing. It is really nice to have. You should get this one for yourself, trust me.

sonyphancong
 
October 20, 2010
Agreed that the writing...
Verified Purchase
Agreed that the writing experience is a bit different, but for me it doesn't slip and the weight is great. Very well made. The mechanism has a slight "click" feel to it sometimes, often related to the paper, but not terrible at all. Tough part is getting use to NOT spinning the pencil when writing for anyone who has developed that habit. All around very elegant.

graham.tillotson
 
September 22, 2010
This is a great pencil....
This is a great pencil. I didn't like the hole in the shaft by the grip. This was very uncomfortable. After a lot of writing the hole really bothered me.
I bought the cheap version of this pencil and it is much better.
The way these pencils write is hard to do without. Once you try them, it is difficult to write with another mech. pencil.

tashworth