JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (57 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 18, 2014
Great pencil. Rotating...
Verified Purchase
Great pencil. Rotating mechanism works well.

Two problems:
1. after using this for a few hours of work, the fat of my pointer finger gets irritated because of the somewhat-pointy grip pattern. It's not a soft plastic, so perhaps a cushion would be a good add-on.
2. I know this is a given with high-quality mechanical pencils, but the eraser wears out very, very quickly. Even while erasing just a few numbers or letters, chunks begin to peel off.

Other than that, great purchase.

1 person found this helpful
 
August 5, 2013
This pencil is great,...
Verified Purchase
This pencil is great, especially for long hours of constant note taking. Amazing ergonomical design, really well built, genius lead rotation mechanism, just generally amazing!

1 person found this helpful
 
July 5, 2012
I love this pencil and...
Verified Purchase
I love this pencil and i really do.
but after 3 months, the rubber part inside the tip, which hold the lead from falling out,
become loose and it bothers me a lot.
i expected a full metal body but it was a plastic [most disappointing]
if this was Full metal body like you can feel the coldness and heaviness when you hold it,
then i would love to buy all the color series.

when it worked well, I really liked about feeling of writing because it was different

1 person found this helpful
tkddbs1008
 
October 29, 2011
I was really quite excited...
Verified Purchase
I was really quite excited to test out this mechanical pencil (I consider myself a bit of a connoisseur, having a collection of over 50 of them), but I was very much let down when it arrived.

First off, the build quality left a lot to be desired. Mind you, I wasn't expecting too much for the $, but it just generally felt plasticky and unbalanced. Worse, clicking the pencil to advance the lead results in an awful, jarring metallic "ping" sound, as opposed to a solid click. It's likely due to the clutch mechanism for auto-rotation, but regardless: it's truly, truly awful. Plus, the "squishiness" of the tip (needed to activate the auto rotation) simply makes the pencil unusable for prolonged precise writing.

This one's going back in the mail.

1 person found this helpful
 
September 23, 2011
It WORKS! As an mechanical...
Verified Purchase
It WORKS! As an mechanical engineer, I was a bit skeptical how effective the spinning lead would work, but even with light (for me -admittedly a hard writer) touches the lead does turn. The little window, as you could guess, is to show that its working properly. As necessary for drawing schematics I was used to turning my pencil manually in my hand - this pencil will eliminate any need for that now. The one drawback I do see is that the threads holding the nib section to the body is plastic - not that plastic is bad, I just expected the entire pencil to be metal. I cross-shopped it against a Rotring 600 (ignored the 500 due to its plastic body) and I although I can't honestly compare it, I am NOT second guessing my choice.

great pencil at a great price.

1 person found this helpful
ike.nagamine
 
September 16, 2011
this is an excelent pencil....
Verified Purchase
this is an excelent pencil. I use it for mathmatics where I am the most heavy handed and I haven't broken the lead yet. It has nice weight in the lower half of the pencil but is not so heavy that it is cumbersome to write with. it doesn't work well for me as a general writing instrument as I hold it at too low of an angle for the mecanism to operate correctly. Still 5 stars for this great pencil

1 person found this helpful
nikwiersma
 
February 21, 2011
I take a LOT of notes,...
Verified Purchase
I take a LOT of notes, and as a result I found the grip surface on this otherwise super pencil to be a bit too abrasive. As funny as it might sound, I took the rubber gripper off a super cheap pencil I had laying around put it on here, and now this pencil is sweet.

The rotating lead clutch is great, and almost unnoticeable. I haven't cut the paper since getting this.

With a slight modification, I can highly recommend this pencil.

1 person found this helpful
 
November 18, 2014
Great...
Verified Purchase
Great

lee.hoffpauir
 
November 13, 2014
I write and draw all...
Verified Purchase
I write and draw all day and always with pencil. I bought the plastic version of this mechanism locally (two of them, in fact) and like them so much that I ordered this to replace my all-day, every-day Super Pro-Mecha that I've been using for five years or so. Both pencils are first-class, mechanically and esthetically, this one has an edge for writing because of the lead rotation. The eraser is tiny but I prefer a separate eraser anyway.

 
November 6, 2014
Great...
Verified Purchase
Great

jeffstockard