| Page 2 of 8 |  | 
This pencil is great,...
August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase
This pencil is great, especially for long hours of constant note taking. Amazing ergonomical design, really well built, genius lead rotation mechanism, just generally amazing!
1 person found this helpful
I love this pencil and...
July 5, 2012
Verified Purchase
I love this pencil and i really do.
but after 3 months, the rubber part inside the tip, which hold the lead from falling out,
become loose and it bothers me a lot.
i expected a full metal body but it was a plastic [most disappointing]
if this was Full metal body like you can feel the coldness and heaviness when you hold it,
then i would love to buy all the color series.

when it worked well, I really liked about feeling of writing because it was different
1 person found this helpful
tkddbs1008
I don't get all the hype...
December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase
I don't get all the hype over this pencil, or its "Kuru Toga" mechanism... First off, the pencil's action is kinda sloppy: there a lot of dead play when you push the cap before it engages the clutch and moves the lead out. You feel and hear a cheap spring compressing at the top of the movement. Its *click* sounds thin, cheap and imprecise. You're far from the positive action characteristic of well engineered pencils.

The barrel is not bad, but I wish the top part were also metal. The tiny bit of plastic surrounding the lead pipe looks out of place in a $16 pencil.

As for "Kuru Toga", it's more of a novelty gadget than a useful feature, in my opinion. It's picky about the angle at which you hold the pencil: too shallow and the mechanism won't engage, too steep and the benefits of a rotating lead are negated. It never seems to keep up with my writing and I need to rotate the pencil myself anyway. My particular pencil will also always stop rotating after 3/4 turns, requiring me to push the lead with considerable pressure to restart it. However, I suspect this latter problem is a very rare issue.

I'm giving this one away. On the plus side, the lead this pencil comes loaded with is fantastic. I'll be buying some to use in other pencils.
5 people found this helpful
bdeshaies
I was really quite excited...
October 29, 2011
Verified Purchase
I was really quite excited to test out this mechanical pencil (I consider myself a bit of a connoisseur, having a collection of over 50 of them), but I was very much let down when it arrived.

First off, the build quality left a lot to be desired. Mind you, I wasn't expecting too much for the $, but it just generally felt plasticky and unbalanced. Worse, clicking the pencil to advance the lead results in an awful, jarring metallic "ping" sound, as opposed to a solid click. It's likely due to the clutch mechanism for auto-rotation, but regardless: it's truly, truly awful. Plus, the "squishiness" of the tip (needed to activate the auto rotation) simply makes the pencil unusable for prolonged precise writing.

This one's going back in the mail.
1 person found this helpful
It WORKS! As an mechanical...
September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase
It WORKS! As an mechanical engineer, I was a bit skeptical how effective the spinning lead would work, but even with light (for me -admittedly a hard writer) touches the lead does turn. The little window, as you could guess, is to show that its working properly. As necessary for drawing schematics I was used to turning my pencil manually in my hand - this pencil will eliminate any need for that now. The one drawback I do see is that the threads holding the nib section to the body is plastic - not that plastic is bad, I just expected the entire pencil to be metal. I cross-shopped it against a Rotring 600 (ignored the 500 due to its plastic body) and I although I can't honestly compare it, I am NOT second guessing my choice.

great pencil at a great price.
1 person found this helpful
ike.nagamine
this is an excelent pencil....
September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase
this is an excelent pencil. I use it for mathmatics where I am the most heavy handed and I haven't broken the lead yet. It has nice weight in the lower half of the pencil but is not so heavy that it is cumbersome to write with. it doesn't work well for me as a general writing instrument as I hold it at too low of an angle for the mecanism to operate correctly. Still 5 stars for this great pencil
1 person found this helpful
nikwiersma
I take a LOT of notes,...
February 21, 2011
Verified Purchase
I take a LOT of notes, and as a result I found the grip surface on this otherwise super pencil to be a bit too abrasive. As funny as it might sound, I took the rubber gripper off a super cheap pencil I had laying around put it on here, and now this pencil is sweet.

The rotating lead clutch is great, and almost unnoticeable. I haven't cut the paper since getting this.

With a slight modification, I can highly recommend this pencil.
1 person found this helpful
Pencil gets jammed all...
April 25, 2015
Verified Purchase
Pencil gets jammed all the time! Decent build quality on the outside but not sure what's up with the jamming all the time.
jbrubaker
I love the balance in...
April 13, 2015
Verified Purchase
I love the balance in my hand.. I love this mechanical pencil... it is great for sketching.
Just purchased one of...
April 11, 2015
Just purchased one of these with some of the Pentel 3B lead.

The mechanism doesn't turn enough for this lead. It doesn't get flat, but the writing is a little more "bold" than I'd like (Not darkness, but the width of the strokes), especially with my small handwriting.

I'd suggest starting the pencil with normal HB/#2 lead and seeing if the weight of the writing is good enough for you, and go up lead black levels if you wish.

The pros:
-Spins the lead for you, If you're able to quit the habitual turning of your pencil every word or so, then it's nice.

The plastic part may be a little ugh for some, but if this pencil has been in a bag or cold area for a while, having the plastic resting on your hand rather than metal is a little better in my opinion. The metal bits can feel too cold. I know I'm in the minority here, but seriously, cold metal on your purlicue sucks :(

-It's a rather long pencil, which means the clip is higher on the pencil. If you find yourself turning the pencil for whatever reason, the clip will only just barely hit your hand. Most pencils with clips are annoying to turn when you get to the clip. Hand sizes my vary with this, but that's how it works for me at least.

The grip is absolutely amazing. It feels so smooth, yet grips so well, it's not like holding onto sandpaper whatsover. You can't even feel the grip, yet it grips wayyy better than my Zebra M402 rubber grip. Those little millimeter slips when adjusting/moving your hand don't happen, giving you more control over writing.

Looks cool. Just looking t it, you know it's not something bought from walmart.

The Cons:
-Spins the lead for you, which means you can't control the edge yourself. Even if you turn the pencil yourself, the edge is still different from the mechanism turning it for you every push down on the last word you wrote.

-On soft writing areas, the mechanism doesn't turn. Writing in a notebook inside a binder, I find myself having to press down a little hard to make sure the thing spins. Paper on a wood desk is fine though, and notebooks on desks are ok.
 | Page 2 of 8 |  |