| 11 - 20 of 84 |  | 
This pencil is great,...
August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase
This pencil is great, especially for long hours of constant note taking. Amazing ergonomical design, really well built, genius lead rotation mechanism, just generally amazing!
1 person found this helpful
I love this pencil and...
July 5, 2012
Verified Purchase
I love this pencil and i really do.
but after 3 months, the rubber part inside the tip, which hold the lead from falling out,
become loose and it bothers me a lot.
i expected a full metal body but it was a plastic [most disappointing]
if this was Full metal body like you can feel the coldness and heaviness when you hold it,
then i would love to buy all the color series.

when it worked well, I really liked about feeling of writing because it was different
1 person found this helpful
tkddbs1008
I don't get all the hype...
December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase
I don't get all the hype over this pencil, or its "Kuru Toga" mechanism... First off, the pencil's action is kinda sloppy: there a lot of dead play when you push the cap before it engages the clutch and moves the lead out. You feel and hear a cheap spring compressing at the top of the movement. Its *click* sounds thin, cheap and imprecise. You're far from the positive action characteristic of well engineered pencils.

The barrel is not bad, but I wish the top part were also metal. The tiny bit of plastic surrounding the lead pipe looks out of place in a $16 pencil.

As for "Kuru Toga", it's more of a novelty gadget than a useful feature, in my opinion. It's picky about the angle at which you hold the pencil: too shallow and the mechanism won't engage, too steep and the benefits of a rotating lead are negated. It never seems to keep up with my writing and I need to rotate the pencil myself anyway. My particular pencil will also always stop rotating after 3/4 turns, requiring me to push the lead with considerable pressure to restart it. However, I suspect this latter problem is a very rare issue.

I'm giving this one away. On the plus side, the lead this pencil comes loaded with is fantastic. I'll be buying some to use in other pencils.
5 people found this helpful
bdeshaies
I was really quite excited...
October 29, 2011
Verified Purchase
I was really quite excited to test out this mechanical pencil (I consider myself a bit of a connoisseur, having a collection of over 50 of them), but I was very much let down when it arrived.

First off, the build quality left a lot to be desired. Mind you, I wasn't expecting too much for the $, but it just generally felt plasticky and unbalanced. Worse, clicking the pencil to advance the lead results in an awful, jarring metallic "ping" sound, as opposed to a solid click. It's likely due to the clutch mechanism for auto-rotation, but regardless: it's truly, truly awful. Plus, the "squishiness" of the tip (needed to activate the auto rotation) simply makes the pencil unusable for prolonged precise writing.

This one's going back in the mail.
1 person found this helpful
It WORKS! As an mechanical...
September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase
It WORKS! As an mechanical engineer, I was a bit skeptical how effective the spinning lead would work, but even with light (for me -admittedly a hard writer) touches the lead does turn. The little window, as you could guess, is to show that its working properly. As necessary for drawing schematics I was used to turning my pencil manually in my hand - this pencil will eliminate any need for that now. The one drawback I do see is that the threads holding the nib section to the body is plastic - not that plastic is bad, I just expected the entire pencil to be metal. I cross-shopped it against a Rotring 600 (ignored the 500 due to its plastic body) and I although I can't honestly compare it, I am NOT second guessing my choice.

great pencil at a great price.
1 person found this helpful
ike.nagamine
this is an excelent pencil....
September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase
this is an excelent pencil. I use it for mathmatics where I am the most heavy handed and I haven't broken the lead yet. It has nice weight in the lower half of the pencil but is not so heavy that it is cumbersome to write with. it doesn't work well for me as a general writing instrument as I hold it at too low of an angle for the mecanism to operate correctly. Still 5 stars for this great pencil
1 person found this helpful
nikwiersma
I take a LOT of notes,...
February 21, 2011
Verified Purchase
I take a LOT of notes, and as a result I found the grip surface on this otherwise super pencil to be a bit too abrasive. As funny as it might sound, I took the rubber gripper off a super cheap pencil I had laying around put it on here, and now this pencil is sweet.

The rotating lead clutch is great, and almost unnoticeable. I haven't cut the paper since getting this.

With a slight modification, I can highly recommend this pencil.
1 person found this helpful
The hole in the grip...
July 31, 2015
The hole in the grip is a bigger problem than you would think initially. Also, the grip paint (on the black one at least) wears down over time. I don't know if it's dirty or the paint is gone, probably both. However, you can try cleaning it with a toothbrush!
The Kuru Toga engine works as advertised, and it's quite unique so I don't want to give this pencil that bad of a rating.
I think you're better off with the Graphgear 1000 or a pencil that's more designed for drafting.
Love this automatic Lead...
July 21, 2015
Verified Purchase
Love this automatic Lead rotating Mechanical pencil. The Best I have used so far.
I haven't noticed the...
July 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
I haven't noticed the lead rotation part, I think I write too gently for it to work properly. Even so, this is quickly becoming my favorite pencil. The first thing I noticed when I picked it up was the amazing weight of it, and how it felt like it belonged in my hand. It's heavy enough to make a presence when writing, but still light enough that it doesn't slow me down. The grip of this pencil is great because it's nearly impossible for your hand to slip while writing, providing steadiness all around. The Roulette is a beautifully sleek and reliable pencil, and I can see myself using this throughout college. Very much worth the investment.
daviddewar42
 | 11 - 20 of 84 |  |