| 11 - 20 of 89 |  | 
This pencil is great,...
August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase
This pencil is great, especially for long hours of constant note taking. Amazing ergonomical design, really well built, genius lead rotation mechanism, just generally amazing!
1 person found this helpful
I love this pencil and...
July 5, 2012
Verified Purchase
I love this pencil and i really do.
but after 3 months, the rubber part inside the tip, which hold the lead from falling out,
become loose and it bothers me a lot.
i expected a full metal body but it was a plastic [most disappointing]
if this was Full metal body like you can feel the coldness and heaviness when you hold it,
then i would love to buy all the color series.

when it worked well, I really liked about feeling of writing because it was different
1 person found this helpful
I don't get all the hype...
December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase
I don't get all the hype over this pencil, or its "Kuru Toga" mechanism... First off, the pencil's action is kinda sloppy: there a lot of dead play when you push the cap before it engages the clutch and moves the lead out. You feel and hear a cheap spring compressing at the top of the movement. Its *click* sounds thin, cheap and imprecise. You're far from the positive action characteristic of well engineered pencils.

The barrel is not bad, but I wish the top part were also metal. The tiny bit of plastic surrounding the lead pipe looks out of place in a $16 pencil.

As for "Kuru Toga", it's more of a novelty gadget than a useful feature, in my opinion. It's picky about the angle at which you hold the pencil: too shallow and the mechanism won't engage, too steep and the benefits of a rotating lead are negated. It never seems to keep up with my writing and I need to rotate the pencil myself anyway. My particular pencil will also always stop rotating after 3/4 turns, requiring me to push the lead with considerable pressure to restart it. However, I suspect this latter problem is a very rare issue.

I'm giving this one away. On the plus side, the lead this pencil comes loaded with is fantastic. I'll be buying some to use in other pencils.
5 people found this helpful
I was really quite excited...
October 29, 2011
Verified Purchase
I was really quite excited to test out this mechanical pencil (I consider myself a bit of a connoisseur, having a collection of over 50 of them), but I was very much let down when it arrived.

First off, the build quality left a lot to be desired. Mind you, I wasn't expecting too much for the $, but it just generally felt plasticky and unbalanced. Worse, clicking the pencil to advance the lead results in an awful, jarring metallic "ping" sound, as opposed to a solid click. It's likely due to the clutch mechanism for auto-rotation, but regardless: it's truly, truly awful. Plus, the "squishiness" of the tip (needed to activate the auto rotation) simply makes the pencil unusable for prolonged precise writing.

This one's going back in the mail.
1 person found this helpful
It WORKS! As an mechanical...
September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase
It WORKS! As an mechanical engineer, I was a bit skeptical how effective the spinning lead would work, but even with light (for me -admittedly a hard writer) touches the lead does turn. The little window, as you could guess, is to show that its working properly. As necessary for drawing schematics I was used to turning my pencil manually in my hand - this pencil will eliminate any need for that now. The one drawback I do see is that the threads holding the nib section to the body is plastic - not that plastic is bad, I just expected the entire pencil to be metal. I cross-shopped it against a Rotring 600 (ignored the 500 due to its plastic body) and I although I can't honestly compare it, I am NOT second guessing my choice.

great pencil at a great price.
1 person found this helpful
this is an excelent pencil....
September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase
this is an excelent pencil. I use it for mathmatics where I am the most heavy handed and I haven't broken the lead yet. It has nice weight in the lower half of the pencil but is not so heavy that it is cumbersome to write with. it doesn't work well for me as a general writing instrument as I hold it at too low of an angle for the mecanism to operate correctly. Still 5 stars for this great pencil
1 person found this helpful
I take a LOT of notes,...
February 21, 2011
Verified Purchase
I take a LOT of notes, and as a result I found the grip surface on this otherwise super pencil to be a bit too abrasive. As funny as it might sound, I took the rubber gripper off a super cheap pencil I had laying around put it on here, and now this pencil is sweet.

The rotating lead clutch is great, and almost unnoticeable. I haven't cut the paper since getting this.

With a slight modification, I can highly recommend this pencil.
1 person found this helpful
Great looking pen! The...
October 4, 2015
Verified Purchase
Great looking pen! The rotating mechanism is wonderful, but doesn't always function with light pressure.
I really like this mechanical...
September 30, 2015
I really like this mechanical pencil and the reason for buying it was because of the way it looked and the rotating lead. I was not disappointed with the overall design and function of the pencil. I like how I can keep writing without having to worry about a broken lead, and the body of the pen is actually the material it says it is. I use this pen while writing in my classes and sometimes when I sketch a little bit from time to time.
Just received and tried...
September 15, 2015
Just received and tried this pencil and read the reviews. Some reviewers consider the plastic upper side and modest, lightweight clip as weakness to decrease value. To me this is rather a highly appreciated approach of designing things: put efforts and material in where it counts and don't waste material and refinement where it has no purpose. Combining the hard and the soft, the heavy and light, the rigid and flexible is an art we yet have to learn from the nature, and this piece of artwork is definitely a step ahead. The weight of the pencil is well balanced to me as it is. The level of detailedness at the lower half is impressive and is on purpose. As of the non-retractable lead tube, I don't miss it at all. This is not a device for careless pocket carrying, rather something for refined, accurate, attentionful work. Great piece of my collection, five stars.
 | 11 - 20 of 89 |  |