JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (27 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 14, 2011
I bought this pencil...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pencil to try it out for sketching, as I prefer mechanical pencils for that. As a sketching tool, I found the Kuru Toga mechanism didn't have much effect. While the pressure needed to advance the mechanism is small enough to be well within comfort range for writing, for sketching I tend to prefer a lighter touch, and so the mechanism rarely activates.

The fact that he mechanism is pressure activated gives the tip a bit of "squish" in terms of controlling your line strength via pressure. This combined with the slow/infrequent activation at lower pressures actually serves to promote line width unpredictability rather than consistency.

Ergonomically it's very nice though. The combination of knurling and slightly thicker barrel (1cm) makes for a very comfortable no-slip grip (many drafting pencils I've tried have very skinny barrels that feel awkward in my long-ish fingers). It seems very well constructed over all, and I did not find the plastic sections objectionable.

For writing I'd give it four stars: I can see this being a satisfyingly good tool for that, and that's what most people who are reading these reviews are looking for, it would seem.

For sketching I would give this only two stars. It sits very comfortably in the hand, but the Kura Toga mechanism kinda works against you rather than for you.

As a P.S., this uses size C (3.4mm) erasers. Just putting that out there for folks who want to pick up extras in the same order (like I wanted to, but couldn't because the info wasn't in the description).

11 people found this helpful
 
May 1, 2012
This pencil has both...
Verified Purchase
This pencil has both good and the bad. Being a high school student, this gets used... Often.
Goods- Writes well. I enjoy the feel. The weight balance, is a little off for me, but to each his own. The Kuru Toga actually works which is something I did not expect. (Itdoesnt rotate as much as I though it would per turn)
Bads- Once you run out of lead (As in a single piece) it is a long drawn out process of getting another to feed out. That is very crucial when it comes to taking notes. The only other bad thing (partially) is the top. I mean really. Could Uni not have raised the price 10 cents and made it metal? It doesn't really fit the design on the pencil as a whole

I would fully recommend it!

4 people found this helpful
benorlowski
 
November 20, 2011
This pencil is amazing....
This pencil is amazing. The rotating engine really works as it says it does, but the thing that amazes me is all in the details. The metal barrel with the knurled grip is absolutely wonderful and really does mean it won't slip. It has a comfortable balance and weight to it, too. I like the feel of the brushed metal of the rest of the barrel and at the end of the barrel, there is a very thin band of rubber, so even if you like to hold pencils close to the tip there is a bit of something from stopping the slipping. The eraser cap also has this small band of rubber. This is a wonderful fact because it makes it all the more easier to get it off. One of the problems I have with pretty pencils and their eraser caps is that some of them are hard to grip. Not so with this one, all because of that little bit of rubber. This pencil is definitely worth the price.

4 people found this helpful
theothermle
 
November 2, 2011
I just got this pencil...
Verified Purchase
I just got this pencil in the mail and tested the pencil with Tombo 3B lead and Pentel 0.5 4B.

The lead rotation Just. Works.

No question. This is amazing since the dullness that I get from using mechanical pencil is the most annoying thing. (Having to rotate the pencil manually.) This pencil fixes that completely.

Even with Tombo 3B lead, and the lack of pressure from using a softer lead, rotation works flawlessly.

4 people found this helpful
yjtpark91
 
August 13, 2012
I love this pencil! Having...
Verified Purchase
I love this pencil!
Having to turn the pencil has always annoyed me, but I didn't know someone had invented a solution. It's very nice. Line width is consistent, with no lead scratching the paper like when I had to turn the pencil manually.
It feels great in my hand too. I really like the knurled aluminum grip area. The pencil even has a small o-ring near the grip to keep the grip from scratching the table if it is slid across it.
I use the pencil mainly for doing math homework and printing notes for other subjects. The tip rotates at a perfect rate.
There is just the slightest give to the tip of the pencil, and a very slight ticking sound, but no louder than some other mechanical pencils, and about the same loudness as the lead actually writing on the paper. Nothing to worry about, I'm one of those people that hears everything.
I think this is the best pencil I've ever owned. It would make a great instrument for yourself, or a great gift.

3 people found this helpful
 
February 2, 2013
Having found out about...
Verified Purchase
Having found out about this line of awesome pencils from Jetpen, I decided to give it a try.

The pencil is half metal and half plastic. The Kuru Toga 'engine' itself is made out of plastic (just like all the other Kuru Toga).The clip of the pencil is removable. The top of the pencil has a small eraser and if you remove that, you can see a small hole where you can load one stick of lead at a time. Opening the body will allow you to drop in a greater number of leads.

The grip of this pencil is quite aggressive. It's like a piece of sandpaper! You shouldn't leave it together with other plastic pens or surely it would scratch them up in no time at all!

When I was fumbling around with the pencil, I accidentally twisted open the 'clicky' top and out came a large spring loaded inside. It took me a good 10 minutes to disassemble the pencil, looking through the barrel to find the solution. It turned out that you need to twist the top counter-clockwise after pushing it in, in order for the latch to engage. Whew!

I planned to use this pencil exclusively for note taking and not for drawing with, but I tried to anyway. It didn't work. I tried using the hardest leads I have, 3H, forcing myself to use more pressure but to no avail. The 'engine' simply isn't sensitive enough. The only thing that worked was 'stippling', or drawing with dots or in very short lines. On the other hand, writing with the pencil is just a joy! My notes are so much neater, if not in a print-like quality! Although there is some play with the tip that makes it somewhat more tiring to write with, the end result is just fantastic!

Overall this is a solid pencil that, if you use it to mainly write with, will not disappoint you!

1 person found this helpful
 
April 21, 2012
1. For those who are...
Verified Purchase
1. For those who are concerned about the lead sleeve on this and other pencils not retracting, there is a solution:
Find a cheap ball point or roller pen with a cap that fits snugly over the point end of the pencil. Then remove the clip of that cap (f it has one). If you can't find such a cap, there is a solution that probably is better. Go to a hardware, auto supply or plumbing supply store and ask for transparent or translucent VINYL tubing. Bring your pencil with you so you can check to see that the point end of the pencil fits SNUGLY into the tubing. You probably will have to try more than one size. For the silver colored Roulette, tubing with a 3/8" INSIDE diameter works for me. It fits snugly over the end of the pencil so it won,t fall off. To take the tubing off the pencil end, I wiggle the tubing. You will want vinyl tubing that is pretty sturdy so that it won't fold over the pencil end.

2. This pencil could be made with a retractable (e.g. "double knock") tip. It no doubt would require a slightly larger diameter barrel.

1 person found this helpful
 
December 2, 2014
It doesn't work good...
It doesn't work good like plastic one. The lead never rotate!! I would recommend the 450 one. It's much more nice than this metal one.

15620994893
 
November 10, 2014
Great pencil. Excellent...
Verified Purchase
Great pencil. Excellent fit, finish, and function. Light and ergonomic. Better and more usable than the Pentel Gear1000.

chippfister
 
November 6, 2014
Great...
Verified Purchase
Great

jeffstockard