1 - 8 of 8 | 
I am new to lead holders...
December 30, 2010
Verified Purchase
I am new to lead holders and am not an artist. I am engineer that just likes pencils, always searching for the perfect one. I'm pretty sure that I didn't even know that lead came in so many grades until a couple years ago.

This UNI-ball lead in grade F is about as close to a perfect all-around lead as there can be. It seems to reside in that elusive sweet spot where it's dark enough, hard enough, and smooth enough all at the same time.

This lead is not only as dark as an HB, it's as dark as some Bs that are out there, yet smoother and harder. Writing with this lead is quite the revelation is you're used to the cheap Pentel Hi Polymer HM you see in every office supply store for a thinlead (0.5mm, 0.7mm).

Realistically, the difference between this and the UNI in HB is so subtle that I'd choose the F because it's slightly more durable and just a smooth.

I am a rookie at higher end leads (and 2mm products in general), but this impressed me greatly.
1 person found this helpful
justin.hohn
Got it to use with the...
May 1, 2015
Verified Purchase
Got it to use with the Staedlter 925-35 Lead Holder. Works great.
This one is my fave....
April 7, 2015
Verified Purchase
This one is my fave. My first review of this lead was during a period where I just couldn't find the right lead holder for me. So, at that time, it was uncomfortable, and slightly hard to control the opacity of this lead. However, since obtaining the Faber Catell TK9400 (Check out my review if you're interested), this lead has risen to the top as my all time 2mm lead. These leads act more like the average HB lead where as the Uni HB is slightly softer giving a moderate B feel. The Quality is in my opinion on the evens with Staedtler HB leads but for a much more agreeable price. If you like 2mm lead holders and use HB leads but want something more affordable with great quality, this is it.
A very good lead comparable...
March 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
A very good lead comparable to Steadtler and Faber Castell, but a much better price
This lead is a really...
February 4, 2015
Verified Purchase
This lead is a really good balance of smooth and dark but able to retain its point. I use it for line drawing and writing notes.
or jpenlover
perfect lead grade for...
August 19, 2014
Verified Purchase
perfect lead grade for sketching
mapping
...
everything

i use this lead grade for sketching
laying down just about everything in respect to larger paintings
writes well
and most of all:
erases great
especially with a Ain eraser(muh fav)
colinfig2000
This F grade is an excellent...
January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase
This F grade is an excellent writer's lead. It is smooth, dark and slightly oily. Like what the others have said, this lead has the darkness of a B with the wear of an H. This lead gives the writer a glimpse into what the Japanese leads are like such as in the Tombow Mono and Mitsubishi Hi-Uni wooden pencils.
silkcut63
This hard to find graphite...
March 30, 2008
Verified Purchase
This hard to find graphite grade lead provides excellent control for writing and line sketching since it retains its sharp point longer while producing nice dark marks like an HB grade lead (I recall an article on drafting materials that defined the F grade as having the HB darknes with the hardness of an H lead, yet these Uniball leads are not scratchy at all like some H leads from other manufacturers can be).
1 person found this helpful
1 - 8 of 8 |