JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 12, 2013
For a while, my dad hated...
Verified Purchase
For a while, my dad hated these pencils. he thought there was no comparison between them and Ticonderoga pencils(for some sick, twisted reason). He had never used this pencil before, and we did a test between them. Once he started writing with this Uni, he was immediately hooked on it. I love this pencil, its lead width is superior for writing and it doesn't snap like the 0.3mm I have. It writes really smoothly and doesn't leave your hand tired after hours of drawing and writing because it is so well weighted at the bottom end. The locking mechanism is awesome for protecting the pipe and it is one-hand-friendly, you just have to know how. Cosmetically, the paint wears out on the top after a while, but that has absolutely nothing to do with its performance. For writing and drawing, go with this. It will never let you down and will last you for ever.

4 people found this helpful
metalgentoo68
 
December 17, 2011
I really, really like...
I really, really like this pencil. As an English teacher I write a lot (not "allot") of comments to my students. I only write my comments in graphite. I have had this pencil for one and a half years, but it feels as if I purchased it yesterday. This was a great buy, and I highly recomend it for other teachers, students, etc.

4 people found this helpful
dtapemania
 
July 11, 2013
The knurled grip on this...
The knurled grip on this pencil is simply amazing, could not imagine one better to be used. The shifting mechanism is perfect, and I have found that it is fairly solid in design when properly locked into place, leaving very little "wiggle room," allowing for an even more solid overall feel for the pencil. One of the best purchases I have ever made and I would highly recommend this to any person looking for a pencil for drawing or general writing.

2 people found this helpful
alexhicks40
 
July 11, 2011
This is a great pencil....
Verified Purchase
This is a great pencil. It has a "bottom-heavy" feel which lessens the force needed to apply the pencil to the paper. The metal bottom half of the pencil (knurled) grip is amazing, it's my favorite feature. The upper part is plastic made, and you can definitely feel that the bottom portion outweights the top portion by a lot.

Like someone else said, when the pencil is locked and the "nib" in retracted ,the pencil has "loose feel" due to the pipe shift mechanism. But when its loaded and ready to go, it has a TIGHT feel.

It's a great concept, and great way to protect the nib and allow it in your pocket. It writes great, and because of the lower weight, you don't have to apply that much pressure. It's really cool looking too, I purchased the one in silver.

I only give it 4 stars because if the upper body where made from a metal, and more tight feeling, it would be perfect.

2 people found this helpful
albertopizano
 
February 2, 2011
The Uni-ball Shift wins...
Verified Purchase
The Uni-ball Shift wins my vote for most innovative design. It is a very stylish Drafting Pencil that will have people asking you where you bought it mostly in part to the unique locking mechanism.

Pro's:
-Locking mechanism works flawlessly.
-Grip is very comfortable for writing and drawing despite looks.
-Very stylish design.
-When locked in use mode the pencil is very sturdy and the weight very well balanced.

Con's:
-Top part above the grip is plastic that feels very cheap.
-When pencil is locked in non-use mode, the piece that is revealed (blue in this case) also seems very cheap and it feels as if it can break very easy.
-No lead indicator.

Overall:

I must say that overall the Pro's outweigh the Con's and this is a very solid piece to add to any artist or writer's collection, it is a wonderful piece to own.

2 people found this helpful
JohnHunter03
 
January 3, 2011
This is my absolute favorite...
This is my absolute favorite pencil ever. I am a student with allot of knowledge on Japanese stationary. This is definetely the best mechanical pencil I have ever used.


Pro's:
Great grip
front weighted
guide pipe is protected


Con's:
Top half is plastic
No lead hardness indicator



The cons don't matter to me that much I was just pointing it out for some picky buyers.


Overall: It's a great for its price. It'also a nice sturdy pencil, I highly recommend it for students who have heavy note taking.

1 person found this helpful
Arelshoua
 
December 1, 2009
When I first got the...
When I first got the pencil in the mail, I was surprised at how heavy it was. It is not exceptionally heavy, but it still wasn't right for me. Later on after a few weeks, the tip of the pencil got bent. I was pretty upset about this, as it was very hard to use it without the lead breaking every few minutes. It is a good pencil, but make sure that you actually use the lock function every time that you put it away.

1 person found this helpful
fripps.island
 
March 11, 2014
So far it is quite nice....
Verified Purchase
So far it is quite nice. I will admit I am mildly concerned about the longevity of the twist locking mechanism. I have no issues to report thought. That said, this is one cool and good looking pencil.

 
October 20, 2013
This pencil is a good...
This pencil is a good pencil although it is not good for heavy-duty writing because it is fragile. I wish that it would be a little heavier. The knurled grip has a good feel to it. Overall good pencil. Would recommend for advanced pencil collecters.

crystalbak
 
August 9, 2013
I really like the weight...
Verified Purchase
I really like the weight and feel of this mechanical pencil, as it feels great in my hand. The textured grip is also a wonderful addition.

The only reason this is not a 5-rated review is that if you accidentally twist the shiftlock too hard, you can crack the plastic that holds the clip in place. Once you do that, every few times you shift it, the plastic will pop out of place and you'll have to play around to situate it again. Not a horrible thing and clearly my fault for overtwisting, but if you're also a bit ham-fisted, you might want to avoid this pencil.