My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  For a while, my dad hated..., January 12, 2013
For a while, my dad hated these pencils. he thought there was no comparison between them and Ticonderoga pencils(for some sick, twisted reason). He had never used this pencil before, and we did a test between them. Once he started writing with this Uni, he was immediately hooked on it. I love this pencil, its lead width is superior for writing and it doesn't snap like the 0.3mm I have. It writes really smoothly and doesn't leave your hand tired after hours of drawing and writing because it is so well weighted at the bottom end. The locking mechanism is awesome for protecting the pipe and it is one-hand-friendly, you just have to know how. Cosmetically, the paint wears out on the top after a while, but that has absolutely nothing to do with its performance. For writing and drawing, go with this. It will never let you down and will last you for ever.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I really, really like..., December 17, 2011
I really, really like this pencil. As an English teacher I write a lot (not "allot") of comments to my students. I only write my comments in graphite. I have had this pencil for one and a half years, but it feels as if I purchased it yesterday. This was a great buy, and I highly recomend it for other teachers, students, etc.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  The knurled grip on this..., July 11, 2013
By ale...
The knurled grip on this pencil is simply amazing, could not imagine one better to be used. The shifting mechanism is perfect, and I have found that it is fairly solid in design when properly locked into place, leaving very little "wiggle room," allowing for an even more solid overall feel for the pencil. One of the best purchases I have ever made and I would highly recommend this to any person looking for a pencil for drawing or general writing.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is a great pencil...., July 11, 2011
This is a great pencil. It has a "bottom-heavy" feel which lessens the force needed to apply the pencil to the paper. The metal bottom half of the pencil (knurled) grip is amazing, it's my favorite feature. The upper part is plastic made, and you can definitely feel that the bottom portion outweights the top portion by a lot.

Like someone else said, when the pencil is locked and the "nib" in retracted ,the pencil has "loose feel" due to the pipe shift mechanism. But when its loaded and ready to go, it has a TIGHT feel.

It's a great concept, and great way to protect the nib and allow it in your pocket. It writes great, and because of the lower weight, you don't have to apply that much pressure. It's really cool looking too, I purchased the one in silver.

I only give it 4 stars because if the upper body where made from a metal, and more tight feeling, it would be perfect.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The Uni-ball Shift wins..., February 2, 2011
By Joh...
The Uni-ball Shift wins my vote for most innovative design. It is a very stylish Drafting Pencil that will have people asking you where you bought it mostly in part to the unique locking mechanism.

Pro's:
-Locking mechanism works flawlessly.
-Grip is very comfortable for writing and drawing despite looks.
-Very stylish design.
-When locked in use mode the pencil is very sturdy and the weight very well balanced.

Con's:
-Top part above the grip is plastic that feels very cheap.
-When pencil is locked in non-use mode, the piece that is revealed (blue in this case) also seems very cheap and it feels as if it can break very easy.
-No lead indicator.

Overall:

I must say that overall the Pro's outweigh the Con's and this is a very solid piece to add to any artist or writer's collection, it is a wonderful piece to own.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is my absolute favorite..., January 3, 2011
By Are...
This is my absolute favorite pencil ever. I am a student with allot of knowledge on Japanese stationary. This is definetely the best mechanical pencil I have ever used.


Pro's:
Great grip
front weighted
guide pipe is protected


Con's:
Top half is plastic
No lead hardness indicator



The cons don't matter to me that much I was just pointing it out for some picky buyers.


Overall: It's a great for its price. It'also a nice sturdy pencil, I highly recommend it for students who have heavy note taking.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  When I first got the..., December 1, 2009
When I first got the pencil in the mail, I was surprised at how heavy it was. It is not exceptionally heavy, but it still wasn't right for me. Later on after a few weeks, the tip of the pencil got bent. I was pretty upset about this, as it was very hard to use it without the lead breaking every few minutes. It is a good pencil, but make sure that you actually use the lock function every time that you put it away.
  So far it is quite nice...., March 11, 2014
By nmdarr
So far it is quite nice. I will admit I am mildly concerned about the longevity of the twist locking mechanism. I have no issues to report thought. That said, this is one cool and good looking pencil.
  This pencil is a good..., October 20, 2013
This pencil is a good pencil although it is not good for heavy-duty writing because it is fragile. I wish that it would be a little heavier. The knurled grip has a good feel to it. Overall good pencil. Would recommend for advanced pencil collecters.
  I really like the weight..., August 9, 2013
By lars
I really like the weight and feel of this mechanical pencil, as it feels great in my hand. The textured grip is also a wonderful addition.

The only reason this is not a 5-rated review is that if you accidentally twist the shiftlock too hard, you can crack the plastic that holds the clip in place. Once you do that, every few times you shift it, the plastic will pop out of place and you'll have to play around to situate it again. Not a horrible thing and clearly my fault for overtwisting, but if you're also a bit ham-fisted, you might want to avoid this pencil.
  the pencil is heavily..., November 17, 2012
By eri...
the pencil is heavily weighted on the tip and feels good in the hand. it is a little heavy and is not meant for a lot of writing. it has a tendency to break the lead inside the pencil though, but the color looks fantastic
  This pencil is very cool...., October 25, 2012
This pencil is very cool. I have no complaints
  Love this pencil so far!..., August 11, 2012
By jal...
Love this pencil so far! Received it this morning and used it all day today taking notes at work and sketching out a nice Spongebob for my daughter. This is my first drafting pencil, but it probably won't be my last. Top notch product. I only wish that the top half of the body was aluminum. 0.5 is the perfect lead size.
  I have to say that this..., March 24, 2011
By Shi...
I have to say that this pencil is exactly what i thought it would be. Nice and sturdy, nothing has been broken or paint chipping, dropped it couple of times already. The locking mechanism will stay in position, you will most likely feel it click into place. What i've just noticed recently is that the clip on the shaft of the pencil has alittle roller on it for easy clip-ons.
  Good pencil that can..., February 9, 2011
By kc1550
Good pencil that can be safely taken with you everywhere. However, the pencil is a bit pricy and the body is plastic.
  This is my absolute favorite..., January 3, 2011
By Are...
This is my absolute favorite pencil ever. I am a student with allot of knowledge on Japanese stationary. This is definetely the best mechanical pencil I have ever used.


Pro's:
Great grip
front weighted
guide pipe is protected


Con's:
Top half is plastic
No lead hardness indicator



The cons don't matter to me that much I was just pointing it out for some picky buyers.


Overall: It's a great for its price. It'also a nice sturdy pencil, I highly recommend it for students who have heavy note taking.
  This is the best pencil...., October 18, 2010
This is the best pencil. Nice looking and also good to write/draw.
Thanks Jetpens. Now i know where to get all my japanese stuff.
  I really like this pencil..., October 11, 2010
By sou...
I really like this pencil and how sterdy it is. I have bought three of these but only 0.5 but that is my personal favorite. The only complante i have is that if held wrong though the grip can kind of hurt. Otherwise i would recomend it to anyone.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Great design, but I find..., June 9, 2010
By mo....
Great design, but I find myself not using this pencil as much as the Staetler 925-05, the locking mechanism on this pencil is a little counter-intuitive for me and there are stages of the lock as you twist it, I would prefer more of a push/pull design on the lock. If you have ever used a twist style retractable pen this pencil seems to function similarly but in an opposite direction from what I am used to. I will say that there is NO play in the tip when you are writing with it, it doesnt rattle or anything, so as far as a retractable pencil this is the best design I have seen. But I do wish that the Twist mechanism was more one hand friendly.

I will add that to extend you twist it till it stops, then pull it out (spring loaded so it pushes itself out) and then turn it one more click till it stops again, same for reverse, except opposite directions. To me the twist is counter-intuitive and I would expect to turn the pencil the opposite way to extend it so it would be more friendly if using only one hand.
  I just got this pencil..., April 18, 2010
I just got this pencil yesterday and i was amazed with it. The pipe lock mechanism works amazingly. It protects the sleeve from being bent, and prevents it from poking me while i put it in my pocket. The grip is absolutely wonderful. The metal grooves provide a great grip. Overall this pencil just looks stunning and i would recommend it to all my friends.
  This pencil is so awesome...., March 9, 2010
This pencil is so awesome. I love the shift body and most of all, the GRIP. The metal grip has grooves that are perfect, and the shifting body is perfect for people like me who simply slip their pencil in their pocket. The blue color is also a little lighter than it is in the image, which is perfect for me because I was deciding between the 0.3 version and this version. I settled for this one.
  Love this pencil. It..., October 13, 2009
Love this pencil. It is perfect for drawing. I also write with it comfortably, but everyone has a different style when it comes to both drawing and writing. Love the way the tip can be twisted back inside the pencil so no injuries too body from tip.

I do not get why pencil makers do not make more retractable type of pencils, just cannot understand it.

My favorite retractable pencil from Pilot [Vanishing Point] has been discontinued recently [only in the US I guess,, not in Japan] here is a link
http://www.amazon.com/PIL50028-Drafting-Pencil-Refillable-Millimeter/dp/B000 GAU2WU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1255466191&sr=8-1-fkmr0

Anyway, I use the all black and the all red Uni shift pencils instead of the silver one. The red one I often use with red color graphite and the black one with B or 2B Nano Dia Uni graphite.

Perfect.
  The tip is too short..., February 20, 2009
The tip is too short and the grip feels like it is too close to the paper...almost to the point where it covers your writing or work that you have written.

The shift mechanism is loosely put together and makes the feel really unsolid.

This pencil is good for writers that like to write with the pencil straight, perpendicular to the paper...not good for those that use the pencil at an angle
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  my favorite pencil yet...., December 17, 2010
my favorite pencil yet. AWESOME!
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is BEAST..., February 4, 2010
By s.t...
This pencil is BEAST