My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (19 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  An excellent pencil...., May 24, 2011
By pae...
An excellent pencil. I am a high school senior planning on using this pencil all throughout college, if i can keep it from being stolen that is.

Pros:

- Metal, but somewhat soft grip: It's odd, but the knurled grip, though metal, feels almost soft to the touch. It's less fatiguing too, because it does not give like other soft rubber grips.
- No lead wiggle: The lead sleeve perfectly holds the lead, so I feel no wobbling of the led, making writing to feel much smoother overall.
- Distance between grip and lead: I prefer to hold my pencil lower, where most other pencils' grips end. This pencil gives you this option with a shorter head than most.
- Sleek design: Just look at it, it's so sleek.
- Plastic body, metal grip: This gives a nice weight to the pencil and shifts the weight toward the tip, which feels solid while writing. Though plastic, it doesn't feel cheap either.

Cons:

- Lead sleeve retracting mechanism: If you like to write with a lot of lead advanced, then you should push the lead back in after use, because the point of the lead might stick out after retracting the lead sleeve. This isn't a huge problem though, but a problem nonetheless.
- Price: This could be a con if you tend to lose pencils often, but if not, this pencil will last for many years. I believe that it is an excellent investment to buy a comfortable pencil or pen.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This is a great writing..., December 15, 2012
By sam...
This is a great writing tool. The unit itself is rather light (weight) with a great twist locking mechanism. One can actual lock the pencil two ways either with the tip extended or with the tip retracted. First time around I purchased the black and red units and I recently ordered and received the next day the white and blue accent units. This is a really great writing tool. You won't be disappointed.

Superb customer service is so hard to do right...time and time again but Jetpens makes it look so easy!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  best pencil i have ever..., March 13, 2011
best pencil i have ever had. It's great for drawing and writing. Since my old one got stollen at school :( I bought another one and it's great because I don't have to worry about were I put it because you can just stick it in your pocket.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I have had this pencil..., October 9, 2013
By har...
I have had this pencil for almost 2 years and it has held up with my highschool and art career very well. It is very strong and durable. The pocket clip has held strong with only a slight bend, and the tip but overall every other part of the pencil had done great for me. Highly recomend it to anyone looking for a long-lasting writing untencil.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Good pencil - feels heavy..., September 8, 2012
By cbu...
Good pencil - feels heavy on the tip which I like and the concept is interesting.
  It feels really cheap..., March 14, 2014
By hbr...
It feels really cheap and it was. The thing broke in a weeks time.
  So far it is quite nice...., March 11, 2014
By nmdarr
So far it is quite nice. I will admit I am mildly concerned about the longevity of the twist locking mechanism. I have no issues to report thought. That said, this is one cool and good looking pencil. (I like this one better than the silver version which I also own)
  A great pencil indeed!..., July 4, 2013
A great pencil indeed! I do not use this pencil for drawing, it is mainly used for math homework and note-taking, and in my humble opinion, it has been perfect. The pencil has a weight distribution that is very low, perfect for the aforementioned tasks. There are time when I am studying for 6+ hours a day, and to my disbelief, while using this pencil I experience zero writing fatigue. As previously mentioned, the grip is steller. Rubber grips are out; knurled is definitely the way to go. Due to the high concentration of sweat recepters on ones hands, perspiration is inevitable at some occasions, however this grip is the answer; it prevents any slipping and is remarkably comfortable. The lead advancement is up to par with what anyone could possibly need (0.5 mm increments), basically supplying the perfect amount of lead with every click; which by the way has a posh sound (quality indeed). The shifting aspect is unique as well, it prevents the guide-pipe from poking about while it is in your pocket, along with supplying protection to the guid-pipe from damage, while in a book-bag.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  i have two of these kinds:one..., October 8, 2011
i have two of these kinds:one in black and one in white
i have to say i kind of like the whit better because it looks cooler... no doubt it is a good pencil but i like the different color
  Wonderful pencil. I had..., January 26, 2011
By 199...
Wonderful pencil. I had the white version, but it was stolen. Anyways, a must buy if you're looking for a sturdy, elegant pencil, look no further
  this pencil is great...i..., April 22, 2010
By bre...
this pencil is great...i used to use a Dr grip all the time, and now it has already been replaced by it and i've only had it for a few hours...and now it doesnt have to uni dia sticker on the side... (i used to have 1 and it fell out of my pocket at school).. : ( but now i got a new one and its amazing like the old one i used to have... : )
  Best pencil ever!!! Great..., January 14, 2010
By aki...
Best pencil ever!!! Great wieght and grip is great. I have the Uni Alpha gel shaka and the DR. Grip G-spec and I still always use this pencil. You need to buy one now!!
  This pencil is amazing!..., May 17, 2009
This pencil is amazing! Really heavy which I love. Really cool that when you shift it up, your lead doesn't break. I wish that their was a 6th star!
  Excellent pencil, bought..., April 15, 2009
Excellent pencil, bought the silver and the black one. Their stable, reliable and perfect for school.
  By far the best pencil..., February 4, 2009
By far the best pencil i have ever owned!!!
  Very good designed and..., January 29, 2009
Very good designed and balanced pencil. Mechanic work is perfect.
For me surprise was the light weight. It looks as heavy tool, but plastic part is very light.
  After receipt and use..., January 14, 2009
After receipt and use of the Pipe Lock pencil for several days, I believe that Uni-ball has a solid winner! The pencil is very well balanced and the knurling on the grip is just about perfect - not too course, not too fine, making it very comfortable for long periods of use. The shift lock mechanism is smooth and flawless, and is extremely useful for those of us that must stick the pencil in our pocket on a regular basis. Very well made!..
  Well I just got this..., January 13, 2009
Well I just got this pencil and it's amazing! You don't have to push the lead back into the pencil when you're done... you just have to move the grip (which is really good) down and that's it. But even though it is (kind of expensive for a pencil) it is worth it!
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is NOT worth..., May 25, 2011
By mat...
This pencil is NOT worth the $, in my opinion. The \"shift pipe lock,\" while a nice feature, seems to cause the pencil to feel kind of loose. The construction just feels sort of cheap. I have a Pentel graphgear 500 that is way more sturdy, as a comparison. I feel like this pencil is going to break all the time, it just feels flimsy. I\'m really disappointed so far. I\'d recommend the graphgear first, and for the $ it\'s a much better deal.