JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (30 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 3, 2011
i dont get it, jetpens...
Verified Purchase
i dont get it, jetpens will give you the pencil, a little pack of lead, and two extra erasers for a lower price than if you bought the pencil alone. overall a great pencil, elegant, pro design, and one of my favorite pencils next to the shift pipe lock from uni

9 people found this helpful
braniachernandez
 
November 22, 2013
I tend to be a skeptic...
Verified Purchase
I tend to be a skeptic and wondered how this pencil would really work. I was perfectly happy with another pencil , but my curiosity got the best of me and so I ordered this as well as one in the 0.3 size.

I like a softer lead and was continually having to turn my pencil to get a good, clean, edge, so I thought that if this worked it would be great! Much to surprise this really does work, and it works well. No more turning the pencil to find a sharp edge. !

The pencil itself it very lightweight - which is not a bad thing. The grip is shaped/ridged, although it does not show up well in images - your fingers don't slip on smooth plastic. A cushioned grip would be wonderful, but it would not/will not effect my surprised delight in using this pencil.

This package deal is really excellent! This pencil may have spoiled me because using another pencil that does not maintain it's point would be difficult now!

2 people found this helpful
 
November 20, 2010
You get lead! This pencil...
You get lead! This pencil is just the best. Its light and I think just the right thickness. When I draw, thats the exact opposite of what I want but when I'm taking notes, it's just so nice. I think I would get angry and stop focusing if I went back to a normal pencil. Everything about this pencil feels great. Even the knock. The only thing that I'm not fond of is how there is a little suspension, less than a millimeter, but it is necessary for the turning mechanism so get used to it. There's no reason not to get spoiled by this pencil. Just buy it now.

3 people found this helpful
 
April 17, 2013
This is a great lead...
This is a great lead pencils that suits my everyday needs. It is perfect for taking notes and the lead that came with it never broke once. The rotating mechanism works as advertised. This is my new favorite lead pencil and i highly recomend you get one to.

1 person found this helpful
elib54321
 
July 22, 2012
Kind of a 4.5 - the grip...
Verified Purchase
Kind of a 4.5 - the grip is odd, but useable, I may try a High Grade one. But as for the pencil itself, and the mechanism? Like another reviewer, I find I'm not using anything else. I tend to have a heavy hand when writing, especially in pencil - like I expect it to be BLACK like a pen, darn it. :) But I was doing a large amount of writing in pencil last week, scheduling, and two days in, I realized I hadn't broken the lead, not once. It may possibly be a higher-quality lead than I normally have, but I don't think that's all of it, if any at all. Pleasantly surprised that the mechanism isn't a gimmick.

1 person found this helpful
cyber.istari
 
January 21, 2012
i love my kuru toga!...
Verified Purchase
i love my kuru toga! sometimes its hard to switch between this pencil and others because others dont rotate the lead. sometimes i notice myself unconsciously rotating the pencil while im writing

1 person found this helpful
 
January 25, 2015
I tried the Kuru Toga...
Verified Purchase
I tried the Kuru Toga pencil because I thought the concept sounded neat, but it only works when you write with lots of short lines. I primarily write in cursive, and there isn't enough rotation per depression to keep the tip conical.

 
January 12, 2015
When I first heard of...
Verified Purchase
When I first heard of the Kuru Toga pencils, I was skeptical - I expected that this pencil's unique lead rotating mechanism would either not work at all or would be very noticeable and annoying. After using the pencil for some time now, I can say that it most definitely works - chisel tips on the lead are totally non-existent. The "Kuru Toga Engine" mechanism was noticeable at first, but I found myself intentionally applying more downward writing pressure than usual in order to test / feel the mechanism working. Once the novelty wore off and I just started picking up the pencil and using it as I would any other, I barely notice it at all. Even with light pressure (for me, anyway), the mechanism still works and rotates the lead as advertised. This starter set is a total no-brainer: you get a pencil with spare leads and erasers for less than the standard Kuru Toga pencil alone.

 
December 29, 2014
I gave these as party...
Verified Purchase
I gave these as party favors at my graduation party and they were well received and well liked. This would be a nice first step before moving up to a Uni Kuru Toga Roulette, which uses a similar lead rotating mechanism.

 
December 28, 2014
the grip section is a...
Verified Purchase
the grip section is a little slick for my tastes, especially if your finger get a little sweaty or you eat potato chips at your desk (but you really shouldn't do that.) I also have the roulette, which I recommend more as it has a knurled metal section that is grippier.

Also, the rotation mechanism also means that theres a slight amount of play at the tip as the mechanism has to shift in and out to effect the rotation. If you want a really firm, precise tip with zero-movement you should get a normal drafting-style pencil.

ALso, the metal sleeve at the tip doesn't retract, so I would worry about it snagging in a soft bag or backpack. I keep mine at my desk at work so it isn't a problem.

Get some softer graphite (such as 2B) to really make this a nice note-taking and writing pencil.

cupertino