My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
8 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
  i dont get it, jetpens..., August 3, 2011
By bra...
i dont get it, jetpens will give you the pencil, a little pack of lead, and two extra erasers for a lower price than if you bought the pencil alone. overall a great pencil, elegant, pro design, and one of my favorite pencils next to the shift pipe lock from uni
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  You get lead! This pencil..., November 20, 2010
You get lead! This pencil is just the best. Its light and I think just the right thickness. When I draw, thats the exact opposite of what I want but when I'm taking notes, it's just so nice. I think I would get angry and stop focusing if I went back to a normal pencil. Everything about this pencil feels great. Even the knock. The only thing that I'm not fond of is how there is a little suspension, less than a millimeter, but it is necessary for the turning mechanism so get used to it. There's no reason not to get spoiled by this pencil. Just buy it now.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I tend to be a skeptic..., November 22, 2013
I tend to be a skeptic and wondered how this pencil would really work. I was perfectly happy with another pencil , but my curiosity got the best of me and so I ordered this as well as one in the 0.3 size.

I like a softer lead and was continually having to turn my pencil to get a good, clean, edge, so I thought that if this worked it would be great! Much to surprise this really does work, and it works well. No more turning the pencil to find a sharp edge. !

The pencil itself it very lightweight - which is not a bad thing. The grip is shaped/ridged, although it does not show up well in images - your fingers don't slip on smooth plastic. A cushioned grip would be wonderful, but it would not/will not effect my surprised delight in using this pencil.

This package deal is really excellent! This pencil may have spoiled me because using another pencil that does not maintain it's point would be difficult now!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is a great lead..., April 17, 2013
This is a great lead pencils that suits my everyday needs. It is perfect for taking notes and the lead that came with it never broke once. The rotating mechanism works as advertised. This is my new favorite lead pencil and i highly recomend you get one to.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Kind of a 4.5 - the grip..., July 22, 2012
By cyb...
Kind of a 4.5 - the grip is odd, but useable, I may try a High Grade one. But as for the pencil itself, and the mechanism? Like another reviewer, I find I'm not using anything else. I tend to have a heavy hand when writing, especially in pencil - like I expect it to be BLACK like a pen, darn it. :) But I was doing a large amount of writing in pencil last week, scheduling, and two days in, I realized I hadn't broken the lead, not once. It may possibly be a higher-quality lead than I normally have, but I don't think that's all of it, if any at all. Pleasantly surprised that the mechanism isn't a gimmick.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  i love my kuru toga!..., January 21, 2012
i love my kuru toga! sometimes its hard to switch between this pencil and others because others dont rotate the lead. sometimes i notice myself unconsciously rotating the pencil while im writing
  Love this pencil! It..., January 16, 2014
By cra...
Love this pencil! It is more comfortable (and cheaper) than the Roulette, and the Kuru Toga engine is more precise with less play.
  I really like this pencil,..., January 15, 2014
I really like this pencil, and it is a brilliant idea, the lead rotation. It works extremely well, Uni knew what they were talking about when they designed the mechanism. It's comfortable to use and just all around works really well with my school work. It's light, so my hand doesn't get tired at all. But, I have to give it an honest 4/5 for the following reasons.

1. The cap fits very shallow and loosely in the top of the pencil. It can be knocked out of the top if it gets caught on something. If you lose the cap (which is ridiculously easy) then good luck finding it.

2. Also, if you end up losing the cap, then it's only a matter of time before your flipping-the-pencil-around-to-use-the-eraser-on-the-end-because-it-is-faster habit wears down the eraser to the point where you can't use the eraser anymore or advance the lead easily.

3. Once again, in true Japanese tradition, Uni has given this pencil the Smallest Eraser In The World. Just like every Japanese stationery company does with every pencil they make (except Pentel's cheap ones.) The eraser will last me a week, tops, before I have to switch back to the ironically huge block eraser that Japan also makes. Luckily with this pencil, Uni does give you an extra 2 erasers, but that doesn't help much.

4. The clip is not sturdy. If you're like me and you like to pay with your clip, you like to have a nice metal clip that doesn't break and will take years of bending, playing and clipping to your lip before showing any signs of damage. You also remember the fates of all those second-hand Bic pencils you used in the past. This plastic clip is only pressure-fitted into the top of the pencil and will snap very easily. You have to be gentle with it.

All in all, a great pencil, but I would go for a nicer model. Actually, rather than that, I would just stick with my Pipe Shifts and Graphgears because to be honest there are tons of pencils other than this without the rotating mechanism that don't break the lead and are nicer to write with.
  Got mine elsewhere, was..., November 4, 2013
Got mine elsewhere, was going to get it on here but i saw it there and would have paid more then the difference in shipping. Maybe my next jetpens order I'll pick up another color kuru or size. But basically I'm a pen guy, can't stand the feel of writing with pencil. HOWEVER, if I absolutely have to use a pencil like on scantrons or exams I prefer this pencil. My two gripes with this pencil are the tip and the grip, the grip is nice because it is not super grippy (getting caught on everything in my bag) but would be nice if there was an option for grippy grip or regular grip (detachable grip section or something) but I can't take away from that because I knew what I was getting when I bought it. And the tip would be nicer to carry if it retracted like the Staedler pencil I have (hard click on a table and push the tip inside the shroud of the pen.) but again I knew it wasn't that, just would have been nice, made it better to carry in pockets.
  Excellent pencil. I have..., July 16, 2013
Excellent pencil. I have never broken a single lead with this sucker. the mechanism is nice, and it actually does what it says on the packet. Only in Japan would they think of a lead breaking because of the tip. genius. the only problem I have is the eraser cap. I lost it, like a lot of us do, and I cannot get the mechanism down now. That's more my fault than the fault of the manufacturer, though.
  Great mech. pencil. I..., May 29, 2013
Great mech. pencil. I have this and the more expensive version, and I actually prefer this one. It is light weight and has enough thickness to be comfortable in your hand.
  I bought my Kuru Toga..., May 17, 2013
By chi...
I bought my Kuru Toga Starter at a retail store, because I found the pinciple of the internal lead spinning mechanism appealing, as normal mechanical pencils (especially ones that require thicker lead) require you to continually rotate the pencil shaft to maintain a crisp point. After extensive use, I was extremely delighted with how consistent the lead point was, the I decided to buy several more through JetPens. I was also surprised to discover other unique things about this pencil:
-The body is plastic, yet has a very unique feel, it feels wonderful in the hand
-Although having no true grip, the wave pattern in the plastic near the point allows for very comfortable use, I prefer this over standard grips
-The push top mechanism feels very satisfying, odd to say, but I enjoy running down the point only to feel the satisfying lead advance actuation
-theres a certain give the lead tip has, that takes some getting used to, but ultimately, it leads to a better writing angle (imo)
-not sure if it's the lead that comes with the pencil, or the pencil itself (or a combination of both) but writing with this pencil is EXTREMELY smooth
  The rotating mechanism..., May 5, 2013
By inf...
The rotating mechanism works wonderfully and I won't use a regular non rotating mechanism unless my Kuru Toga is not available. I have the 0.3mm and 0.5mm Kuru Toga (0.7mm on order) and they are all the best mechanical pencils I have used. I use the 0.3mm for fine work and the 0.5mm for regular work although I find the 0.5mm a touch fine (my son thinks the Kuru Toga 0.5mm is perfect).

The 0.5mm lead has about 3 times the volume of material than a 0.3mm lead and they last quite awhile before having to advance the lead. The Kuru Toga advances the lead a relatively short amount compared to some other mechanical pencils and that helps reduces breakage. The only time they break is when I don't let the lead wear right down before advancing.

Once the lead pushes past the advancing/rotating mechanism it is best to advance a new lead and throw away the rather long bit you just pushed through. I tried using up the non rotating lead by pushing it through from behind one click at a time but small pieces of the new lead kept breaking off inside and eventually jammed. I unscrewed the end to clean out the dozen or so bits that collected in the tip.

The 0.5mm Kuru Toga makes the slightly thinner line than a standard mechanical pencil, almost the same as a standard 0.3mm.

I don't bother using the eraser as you have to remove (and lose?) the cap. I guess it's okay for emergencies but I try to keep a standard eraser handy. Having spare leads included is a real bonus and they are strong and dark.
  Great Value. ..., April 19, 2013
Great Value.
  This is probably the..., March 9, 2013
This is probably the best pencil I have purchased so far. It has proven that it not only rarely dulls, but is useful in numerous drafting assignments, such as drawing writing and shading. Although, I should probably start getting used to mono drafting pencils...
  Overall I like this pencil..., February 17, 2013
By jam...
Overall I like this pencil and use it regularly. However, I feel like the rotating mechanism is a bit of a gimmick that doesn't really do anything for my particular writing style. The pencil is very reliable, and the feed mechanism is great. I bought this particular model to try out the line before deciding to purchase one of the premium models. I decided that the rotating lead feature isn't enough of a benefit so I will consider other pencil lines in the future. That being said though, this pencil will remain in my daily carry case for the foreseeable future. It is certainly worth buying to try out to determine if it fits your style and needs before purchasing a more expensive Kuru Toga pencil.
  I thought, "Huh. Seems..., July 5, 2012
I thought, "Huh. Seems like a good idea and it's not expensive. I'll give it a try." After using it for several months, I kind of hate my other mechanical pencils. Okay, I don't hate them, but I don't want to use them anymore. It's not so much the quality of the writing, (which is definitely better with the KT); it's the quality of the act of writing. That was awkwardly worded, but I think you know what I mean. The Kuru Toga is now my favorite mechanical pencil. Guess I just have to buy more.
  I have to agree with..., April 27, 2012
By dtpm98
I have to agree with the previous reviewer. It is very convenient that this starter set is cheaper than the original kuru toga sold by itself, with no spare leads or rasers. I got this two days ago and I'm totally in love with it. I imagined it to be light, loose, and to have a cheap feel. I have underestimated this tool because, it has a good weight, it is very compact and sturdy, and has a VERY solid click. This pencil may not look like much, but it has a very high-quality feel to it. The lead is magnificently smooth and VERY low-wear. The mechanism also works nicely. Good pencil, good lead, so if you want a cheap lead-rotating pencil, this is the way to go.
  I have never seen the..., March 19, 2012
By pjg...
I have never seen the mechanism work but i don't watch it and it comes with diamond infused lead
  I bought these for my..., February 12, 2012
By tur...
I bought these for my two brothers (an engineer and an engineering student) who both do not share my obsession of writing instruments and notebooks. They love this pencil so much that they won't let me get my girl cooties on it--mature aren't they? I have the Alph-Gel Kuru Toga which uses the same rotating mechanism, and I can't bring myself to use any other mechanical pencil.
  I absolutely love this..., January 11, 2012
By jul...
I absolutely love this pencil. The rotating mechanism keeps the lead sharp, which is helpful because I have small handwriting. It's a bit confusing why the pencil+lead+erasers costs less than if you buy just the pencil alone, but that just makes it more of a reason to buy it! The lead that comes with it is awesome and durable. I strongly recommend this pencil as a pencil fanatic that has tried many others before.
2 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  i have owned one of these..., September 23, 2011
By bra...
i have owned one of these pencils for a long time, and it still work! Truly, i dont really care wether or not the mechanism works (even though it does). Anybody who puts that much thought and innovation inside a writing tool, they get my vote. Uni is always one step ahead in all other companies, therefore, it is my favorite company. Dont think about it. This pencil is cheap and VERY nice. A MUST BUY NOW!
  it seemed like a pretty..., May 14, 2011
By sys...
it seemed like a pretty good pencil but the engine is not as good as i though. it barely spins and i still need to spin my pencil around
  I've owned a lot of mechanical..., April 16, 2011
I've owned a lot of mechanical pencils but I have to say this is one of my favorites. UNI-BALL please combine the Kuru rotating mechanism into a pencil with a wider barrel, heavier feel, and added a practical eraser (like on the Pental Twist-Erase)!
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  (just saying) u can get..., October 6, 2011
By sor...
(just saying) u can get this at office depot in the stationary section but it's lyk $10.49 (4 hawaii) so just get it ere and get sumthing else so u cancer free shipping :D lol