JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (26 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 3, 2011
i dont get it, jetpens...
Verified Purchase
i dont get it, jetpens will give you the pencil, a little pack of lead, and two extra erasers for a lower price than if you bought the pencil alone. overall a great pencil, elegant, pro design, and one of my favorite pencils next to the shift pipe lock from uni

8 people found this helpful
braniachernandez
 
November 22, 2013
I tend to be a skeptic...
Verified Purchase
I tend to be a skeptic and wondered how this pencil would really work. I was perfectly happy with another pencil , but my curiosity got the best of me and so I ordered this as well as one in the 0.3 size.

I like a softer lead and was continually having to turn my pencil to get a good, clean, edge, so I thought that if this worked it would be great! Much to surprise this really does work, and it works well. No more turning the pencil to find a sharp edge. !

The pencil itself it very lightweight - which is not a bad thing. The grip is shaped/ridged, although it does not show up well in images - your fingers don't slip on smooth plastic. A cushioned grip would be wonderful, but it would not/will not effect my surprised delight in using this pencil.

This package deal is really excellent! This pencil may have spoiled me because using another pencil that does not maintain it's point would be difficult now!

2 people found this helpful
 
November 20, 2010
You get lead! This pencil...
You get lead! This pencil is just the best. Its light and I think just the right thickness. When I draw, thats the exact opposite of what I want but when I'm taking notes, it's just so nice. I think I would get angry and stop focusing if I went back to a normal pencil. Everything about this pencil feels great. Even the knock. The only thing that I'm not fond of is how there is a little suspension, less than a millimeter, but it is necessary for the turning mechanism so get used to it. There's no reason not to get spoiled by this pencil. Just buy it now.

3 people found this helpful
 
April 17, 2013
This is a great lead...
This is a great lead pencils that suits my everyday needs. It is perfect for taking notes and the lead that came with it never broke once. The rotating mechanism works as advertised. This is my new favorite lead pencil and i highly recomend you get one to.

1 person found this helpful
elib54321
 
July 22, 2012
Kind of a 4.5 - the grip...
Verified Purchase
Kind of a 4.5 - the grip is odd, but useable, I may try a High Grade one. But as for the pencil itself, and the mechanism? Like another reviewer, I find I'm not using anything else. I tend to have a heavy hand when writing, especially in pencil - like I expect it to be BLACK like a pen, darn it. :) But I was doing a large amount of writing in pencil last week, scheduling, and two days in, I realized I hadn't broken the lead, not once. It may possibly be a higher-quality lead than I normally have, but I don't think that's all of it, if any at all. Pleasantly surprised that the mechanism isn't a gimmick.

1 person found this helpful
cyber.istari
 
January 21, 2012
i love my kuru toga!...
Verified Purchase
i love my kuru toga! sometimes its hard to switch between this pencil and others because others dont rotate the lead. sometimes i notice myself unconsciously rotating the pencil while im writing

1 person found this helpful
 
October 15, 2014
The bottom line is: this...
Verified Purchase
The bottom line is: this is an amazing pencil with amazing lead, amazing technology, and an amazing design. The sad part is I can't use any other pencil any more because I bought this. I can't express how awesome it is to constantly have a sharp point without rotating the pencil yourself, because the auto-rotation mechanism does it for you! I still fail to understand why the starter kit (with extra lead and erasers) is more than the pencil alone, but I'm not complaining!

Summary: get this pencil. You won't regret it :)

 
January 16, 2014
Love this pencil! It...
Verified Purchase
Love this pencil! It is more comfortable (and cheaper) than the Roulette, and the Kuru Toga engine is more precise with less play.

 
January 15, 2014
I really like this pencil,...
I really like this pencil, and it is a brilliant idea, the lead rotation. It works extremely well, Uni knew what they were talking about when they designed the mechanism. It's comfortable to use and just all around works really well with my school work. It's light, so my hand doesn't get tired at all. But, I have to give it an honest 4/5 for the following reasons.

1. The cap fits very shallow and loosely in the top of the pencil. It can be knocked out of the top if it gets caught on something. If you lose the cap (which is ridiculously easy) then good luck finding it.

2. Also, if you end up losing the cap, then it's only a matter of time before your flipping-the-pencil-around-to-use-the-eraser-on-the-end-because-it-is-faster habit wears down the eraser to the point where you can't use the eraser anymore or advance the lead easily.

3. Once again, in true Japanese tradition, Uni has given this pencil the Smallest Eraser In The World. Just like every Japanese stationery company does with every pencil they make (except Pentel's cheap ones.) The eraser will last me a week, tops, before I have to switch back to the ironically huge block eraser that Japan also makes. Luckily with this pencil, Uni does give you an extra 2 erasers, but that doesn't help much.

4. The clip is not sturdy. If you're like me and you like to pay with your clip, you like to have a nice metal clip that doesn't break and will take years of bending, playing and clipping to your lip before showing any signs of damage. You also remember the fates of all those second-hand Bic pencils you used in the past. This plastic clip is only pressure-fitted into the top of the pencil and will snap very easily. You have to be gentle with it.

All in all, a great pencil, but I would go for a nicer model. Actually, rather than that, I would just stick with my Pipe Shifts and Graphgears because to be honest there are tons of pencils other than this without the rotating mechanism that don't break the lead and are nicer to write with.

 
November 4, 2013
Got mine elsewhere, was...
Got mine elsewhere, was going to get it on here but i saw it there and would have paid more then the difference in shipping. Maybe my next jetpens order I'll pick up another color kuru or size. But basically I'm a pen guy, can't stand the feel of writing with pencil. HOWEVER, if I absolutely have to use a pencil like on scantrons or exams I prefer this pencil. My two gripes with this pencil are the tip and the grip, the grip is nice because it is not super grippy (getting caught on everything in my bag) but would be nice if there was an option for grippy grip or regular grip (detachable grip section or something) but I can't take away from that because I knew what I was getting when I bought it. And the tip would be nicer to carry if it retracted like the Staedler pencil I have (hard click on a table and push the tip inside the shroud of the pen.) but again I knew it wasn't that, just would have been nice, made it better to carry in pockets.