JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 23, 2012
PROS 1) The grip. It's...
PROS
1) The grip. It's ever-so-slightly firmer than a standard alpha gel. On a 1-10 scale of softness:

Standard 207= 1-2
Standard Alpha grip= 10
Dr. Grip = 3-4
207 premier= 9.5

2) The ink: 207 gel. Smooth, permanent, inexpensive. Though they have been known to be a bit inconsistent, I have gone through five refills thus far and only one didn't lay down as smooth of a line as the rest, but was still vastly superior to any other pen I own.

3) The price. It's a jetstream's cost less expensive than standard ballpoint alphas that don't write nearly as well as this. Although those can take 207 refills, why pay extra? I don't know why this grip doesn't have its own marketing scheme, because it's really squishy and just a bit more "gelly" (it retains its shape a bit longer after letting go, just to give an idea) than the alpha mech pencil I have, but I suppose its privacy is to the benefit of those who venture a bit.

CONS
1) The clicker on top wiggles a bit when the ink is extended. It's maybe half a millimeter too narrow for the barrel. Not a big deal, but it does make a little noise when writing quickly.

Conclusion: It's superb for people with too-tight grips, and the ink flows smoothly, dries pretty quickly for gel, and is archival quality (pH neutral, water resistant, acid-free, unwashable, etc...) at a low price. Even the refills, for the quality of the ink, are almost suspiciously inexpensive ($2 for a 2 pack). Buy it.

5 people found this helpful
kayhenderson12
 
March 10, 2012
Exceptionally comfortable...
Verified Purchase
Exceptionally comfortable pen. Originally purchased for the anti-fraud features, intending to use it to sign all checks at my business. But it is so comfortable and writes so well I basically use if for everything. Wish they had a couple different colors of the pen - you can fill with different color refills but it would be nice to be able to tell the difference by the outside of the pen itself.

The only bad thing about this pen is that it is so comfortable you have to pay close attention or else it will disappear!

2 people found this helpful
shanehenrycpa
 
April 27, 2014
For one with arthritis...
Verified Purchase
For one with arthritis and large hands, this is my #1 pen for any kind of writing.

Even better, the Uniball UMR-83 and 85 fit this exactly like the original. I need a finer point to make my hand writing legible (even to me), and these non-standard refills work just fine.


1 person found this helpful
 
August 8, 2012
Hey guys, i know you...
Hey guys, i know you guys are all excited about Signo ink, but i have news. Jetstream refills fit this.

So do what you will with this information. Just on the side, completely irrelated, a jestream pen with alpha gel is more. Just in case you want a very smooth writing comfortable pen.

The cheap comfort of this pen and its refillableness warrant the five star rating I'm giving it. I will make no comments about its horrible inconsistent skippy atrocious ink.

1 person found this helpful
 
September 14, 2013
This pen is very good...
This pen is very good overall. I especially love the grip and how its jus tot too squishy But if you write any type of paper or essay with this the firm bold lines will turn into big white gaps and unless you put it away for about a day it will keep doing this. I suppose this is because i write with a very light hand and at a large angle. If anyone knows of a pen ink that will cope with this that would be a great help.

pjosephs3
 
April 23, 2013
A new favorite! I love...
Verified Purchase
A new favorite! I love how the Signo 207s write, but I never cared for the "nubby" grip on the standard models. The super-squishy gel grip on this pen is a pleasure to hold, though a matte finish like the alpha gel pens and pencils would have been better for repelling dust that tends to accumulate on the grip.

The body itself is just like the standard model with a few minor aesthetic tweaks. The pen is pretty well-balanced, though just slightly front-heavy because of the grip.

The tip glides well and doesn't skip, and I personally like the Signo 207 refills better than Pilot G2s in terms of ink viscosity. Signo 207 ink is quick-drying, saturated and extremely smooth. The color is slightly grey when put side-by-side with G2 ink, which has more blue tones in it. The refills are also budget-friendly which I like.

I hope they come out with some other colors for this model, because I wouldn't mind adding a few more to my collection!

yoyochanny
 
June 6, 2012
Nearly perfect. A bit...
Verified Purchase
Nearly perfect. A bit large, but writing is so smooth! I bought it for notes taking and ended up drawing with it.

 
March 8, 2012
*GASP* I can't believe...
*GASP*
I can't believe jetpens has this pen! I got from another store a while ago, and I love it. The grip is exactly like the Alpha-Gel's, but it has the awesome Signo ink in it! An amazing pen.

clarissadd
 
September 27, 2012
It's a good looking pen...
It's a good looking pen that writes well of course; I've come to expect this from every uni-ball product. A big negative for me with this pen is the grip - it gets super nasty, super easy. I work in a area where office/paperwork is the majority of my job. But there are times that I must be in the field or working some manual labor from time to time. If my hands are the least bit greasy or dirty - the grip is instantly nasty which is something that I can't stand. Plus, I think the grip is a little too soft for my pleasure.

Proof that this pen is not for everyone.

etherdonkey