JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 29, 2011
Yes, it's a specialized...
Verified Purchase
Yes, it's a specialized pen, and I don't think it would be comfortable for extensive writing sessions. (I'd suggest the Hi-Tec-C .25mm for that.) But I needed something this fine for annotations and small details in my sketchbooks. This pen has performed beautifully for three years now, on a variety of papers. A big plus for me is that the ink is absolutely waterproof, unlike the Hi-Tec-C's. So I can go over my drawings with watercolors without any fear of the color running.

5 people found this helpful
ebenfatto
 
March 13, 2012
I bought this pen because...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen because I happen to write small. (Less than 1mm text height to put this into perspective.) It definitely does its job very well as a small writing pen. I use this for all my classes, from writing notes between lines and writing entire essays on 6 lines of wide ruled paper.

Pros:
- The thin tip enables you to write thinner, smaller, and also in between lines.
- It also has excellent ink flow so you can write pretty fast with a pen this thin.

Cons:
- It runs out of ink rather quickly. Buy lots of refills if you want this pen to last. In my opinion, it's a price I'm more than willing to pay to write this small.
- If the pen is dropped tip first, it may start to bleed out ink. Not only will that make your line thicker than 0.18mm, it will waste ink as you write.

As a side note, if you lend these pens out to other people, tell them not to write on their hands if they are heavy handed. (They’ll cut themselves.) Also, some students (AP students in particular) may want to buy these pens from you. Either redirect them to this website or buy some extra to give away or sell.

4 people found this helpful
 
April 16, 2011
Nice pen to own. .18mm...
Verified Purchase
Nice pen to own. .18mm size requires a slower hand to lay down proper ink flow but with patience is well worth the payoff. Unique +

2 people found this helpful
drew.dipietro
 
September 7, 2012
What a pen, my friends,...
Verified Purchase
What a pen, my friends, what a pen.... Think on this for a moment, the tip on this pen is, quite possibly, the smallest all metal nib made. You can ink very small, very thin lines with this, in fact, if you go too fast, you leave nothing but an indent in the paper. What makes this pen shine for me is the fact that you can use speed and pressure variations and whatnot to create even smaller and thinner lines than you ever could make with a felt tipped copic that is .05mm. It takes a fast yet gentle and painstakingly careful hand to work with that tiny copic. This uni ball signo bit is a beautiful thing because it costs less, much less, is very sturdy compared to the copic felt tip, and is relatively easily replaced.

Now, that said, the ink goes quick, like a reviewer said, because uni ball is cutting costs and putting less in. I just got it out of the package, and it was half empty. Not only do they put less in, but the space which contains the ink is ludicrously thin as well. The pocket clip has not broken yet, but I put zero trust in it due to the ominous rattlings coming from it. Refills are, actually, quite expensive, just a little less than the full pen itself.

In conclusion, I would only get this for annotation or drawing, and I would, and will, get it again.

1 person found this helpful
dvdouglas18
 
August 31, 2012
For the last few years...
Verified Purchase
For the last few years these have been among my favorite pens and by far are the best of the micro-fine points on the market today. My review of the Uni-ball Signo Bit .18 can be be found at the link below:

http://finepoints.net/2012/08/12/review-uni-ball-signo-18-bit/

1 person found this helpful
 
May 7, 2013
Wow - just Wow. Keep...
Verified Purchase
Wow - just Wow. Keep in mind that the "0.18" refers to eighteen one-hundredths of a millimeter, and there are about 25.4 millimeters to an inch, and you quickly come to the realization that calling this a "fine point pen" is an understatement of considerable magnitude. The engineering required to make a pen like this is noteworthy, but Uni-ball makes it even better by making a pen that writes clean, unbroken lines of extraordinary thinness. I actually had to look carefully to be sure ink was being deposited on paper. Want to transcribe a textbook onto a Rhodia Bloc No. 10 notepad? Most of a concerto onto one sheet of musical staff paper? Get a couple of these, and some refills, and you'll be ready to go.

 
April 27, 2013
It is very useful to...
Verified Purchase
It is very useful to own such a extra super mega fine pen, there are many situations when writing with a fine point is required.

 
March 14, 2013
Before I bought this,...
Verified Purchase
Before I bought this, only 0.25 mm works for me because of my tiny handwriting......
It works very well:)

xingerbelmel
 
July 19, 2012
This pen is not for everyone,...
Verified Purchase
This pen is not for everyone, but I love to draw with it. I use it to lay down my first reference lines in my pen and ink portraits. I also use it for very light cross hatched shading. It is as think as a very thin Rapidograph. I prefer to take this out with me sketching than the Rapidograph because if it breaks or is stolen I'm not losing a $15 pen.

I'd like a thicker more comfortable body for this pen. The body and grip area are very thin so I find myself reaching for thicker pens. I keep trying to jam this into other pen bodies, eventually i'll find a thicker one that it fits into.

If you are looking for a pen that will be good fro sketching out in the wild and don't want to take your more expensive rapidograph with you, this is a great pen to do it. The ink is a nice cool black, and different from the other Uniball micro tip pens but like the rest absolutely waterproof when dry. It also dries VERY fast.

I love this pen so much I just bought 3 refills for it.

leslie.herger
 
December 25, 2011
This is my favorite pen....
Verified Purchase
This is my favorite pen. I would use an even finer tip pen if I could find one. I use it for journaling because I like the way it looks with a full page of text.

I am very sad to see the blue color go away. I would like to see more colors, not fewer. It would be even better if this company would make this tip available in a more substantial, aesthetically pleasing body or really great to see them make the refill to fit other companies pens.

If everyone would write to the manufacturer maybe this pen will not disappear from the market.

frugivore