My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (82 customer reviews)
Write Review
19 out of 19 people found the following review helpful
  Honestly this is a really,..., January 4, 2012
Honestly this is a really, really fabulous pen for whiting out areas in need of correction. I've tested at least three other gel pens against it and in order of similarity, some either held up well or just did not match the opacity and flow of this pen.

http://www.jetpens.com/Sakura-Gelly-Roll-Regular-Gel-Ink-Pen-0.4-mm-White/pd /531 Held up marvelously in terms of opacity and flow and to be so cheap I was really surprised by how well it worked in compare to the Uni-ball. The Uni-ball is fantastic if you have to spot correct a semi largish area but the broadness of the pen tip makes it harder if you do very fine spots so the 0.4mm of the Sakura is a good twin to the 0.8mm of the Uni-ball.

http://www.jetpens.com/Pentel-Hybrid-Gel-Grip-Gel-Ink-Pen-0.8-mm-White/pd/50 0 this one was just not as great as I had imagined it would be. For the cost which is close to the Uni-ball Signo Broad, I really did expect for this pen to be just as opaque but the ink was actually rather thin over the pens and I tested this against a variety of inks. It just did not do as well as the Uni-ball and Sakura.

http://www.jetpens.com/Pentel-Sunburst-Metallic-Gel-Ink-Pen-0.7-mm-Silver/pd /1309 Using the silver as a kind of aid for anyone considering on buying the Pentel Sunburst Gel Ink Pen in White should JetPens ever bring it in stock. Still medium tip and much like the Hybrid, it was just not as thick as it could have been. Repeated layering doesn't seem to be a huge problem but I like being able to put down a coat of white from the onset.

In summation, if you draw, stick with the Sakura or the Uni-ball. Pentel is a great pen company but they just need to thick up their white or make it more opaque.

This link shows my test and the pens I tested these four against.

http://fc01.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2011/364/7/c/white_ink_tests_by_colanah-d4kqd qu.png
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I loved this pen! it..., January 16, 2011
By kat...
I loved this pen! it didn't skip and its great for touch up on drawings and manga!
*recomend this to any manga drawers*
5 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  I'm kind of disappointed..., August 28, 2011
By cre...
I'm kind of disappointed with these because I can't use them for what I really wanted them for, and I bought 2 :\

The white that comes out is a thick white, but the width of the line that the pen makes is too thick for the kind of detailing I wanted to do.
Also, there is a peak/ball wherever you lift up the pen. For the most part it settles down. It's not a huge deal, especially if you're just using them for writing, but you see the little dot at the end of a line... I'm a little picky because I'm using them for artwork.

It just depends how picky you are if this would matter to you or not ^_^;

If I had bought these in a retail store, I probably would end up returning at least one of them to get something else, since I think it will take awhile to use up just one for what else I can find to use them for on artwork.
I wanted them for a fast and more convenient way of making line details, but they can at least be used for a quicker way of doing dot detailing ( quicker than my dip pen and white ink )

So, that is just my opinion based on what I was looking to use them for.
It's not a very expensive item, so if you're looking for a nice thick white ink, I'd recommend trying one ( but only if you're already buying over $25.00 worth of items to get the free shipping :)
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I just received mine...., March 24, 2011
By angieu
I just received mine. Best white gel pen yet that I have tried! Super white, non transparent, writes well on all paper surfaces I've tried. I ordered 5 of them and very happy!!!
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  For some reason white..., February 27, 2011
For some reason white is a hard color for most gel pens to get right, but Uniball is the best I've tried (and I've tried a LOT). It's smooth and bold, and doesn't have have the "I'm acting like I'm dry even though it's clear I'm full of ink" issue a lot of gel pens seem to have. If you're looking for an excellent white pen, this is it!!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I draw manga and occasionally..., February 15, 2013
I draw manga and occasionally color them, so a good white gel pen is handy to have. This, is not. For small shines in the eyes it's alright, the flow of the ink is generally okay, but it seems very runny. I have to use multiple coats to get it pure white over dry marker ink and God forbid I try to use it to make a minor touch up. It takes forever to dry, which is problematic seeing as you need at least two coats for opaque white ink. Overall, I wouldn't pay $2.50 + Shipping to get this again. Not worth the effort to use.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  While drawing I like..., December 24, 2012
While drawing I like to use white gel pens to draw highlights over black ink or to correct tiny mistakes; but none of the white pens I've tried over the years has really been up to the job. This, however, is pretty much the best white gel pen I've ever used. The ink goes on thick and smooth and the pen doesn't get dried up and crusty like most of the other gel pens I've tried.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I've been searching for..., October 15, 2012
By andrew
I've been searching for a good pen for fine white lines on my sketches for a couple years now. Another artist mentioned he used this pen and I immediately bought three. I was not disappointed. Within a couple minutes of testing with it, I knew this was the pen I'd been looking for. WAY better than the Gelly Roll I've been tolerating for a while now.

I wrote about it here: http://tmblr.co/ZyG8KvVNoh_j
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  If not THE absolute best,..., April 4, 2012
By steve
If not THE absolute best, certainly one of the very best in my book! I have tried many of the white gel pens in a search for the best one that I like the most. This one is superbly brighter white... with practically zero transparency. Uni-ball has certainly gotten this one right... a sure winner! The pen glides effortlessly and very smoothly across the page as if it was on glass. Leaves a nice wet and definitely broad/bold line. Drys quickly. If I absolutely had to choose some sort of negative about this pen, it would be that they don't last quite as long as I would prefer. They tend to run out of gel a little earlier than your normal, everyday gel pen. I am guessing, but it is probably due to the gel itself being a little thicker in order to exhibit the smoothness & and boldness it has... well worth the trade-off.

I am simply enamored with this model pen! In fact I was so thrilled with the performance of this white version, I ordered several of each of the other colors of the UM-153 and now use them for everything! The gold and silver are incredible on a black background also! I even use them at work now, also. I use the Blue/Black one as my favorite signature pen. At just $2.50 a piece, one can afford to pick up a stockpile of them. Thanks Uni-ball and JetPens!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Great for adding highlights..., February 22, 2012
Great for adding highlights and details to your drawings! The white ink is pretty opaque and even comes out on top of black surfaces or ink. It's not really meant for filling large spaces since the ink doesnt always smooth out and look uniform. The best use for this pen is to add small details to your finished drawings to make them pop.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Writes on glass if you..., January 30, 2012
Writes on glass if you get it started on paper first. I got this pen for writing on dark objects, such as raised lettering black on black plastic. On water based fountain pen ink the bleed through is about 50%. On Pilot G2 gel ink about 33%, but I was not looking for a correction pen, so that's OK with me.
  This was a surprisingly..., March 19, 2014
This was a surprisingly good white gel ink pen. I never expected to seriously consider using one in my artwork before now.

It covers ink from other pens and markers well and actual inks remarkably well.

I'll be endeavouring to keep these in stock for my own use.

  First off I must say..., March 17, 2014
By Kad...
First off I must say I love Jetpens.com because they are a really good site if you are looking for great products at amazing prices, but lets talk about this pen. the Uni-ball Signo broad Gel Ink Pen in white is actually a pretty nice pen, I love the design of the pen it looks really fancy in my little art tools collection, however I can say I'm a little bit ticked off with this pen because it does skitch up on me from time to time whenever I try to add some slight detail to a picture, so I would have to shake the pen, write on a piece of scrap paper, or even (I know this is probably bad) placed it on my tongue just to get it to write again. I guess the moisture is what it needed cause the tip might get a wee bit dry. That's my biggest peeve about this pen so far, now mind you if you are looking for a great white gel ink pen to do details with this might be, or may not be for you. Because this pen does have some really thick gel ink so you might want to work with it, depending on the person. Me personally I don't mind having this pen in my collection, but only if I'm doing a big picture that needs a lot of white ink on it, however I should invest in something a bit smaller all due to the fact that this pen seems like it's more heavy duty, where I'm looking for something that is light duty.

Would I recommend this pen to anyone? Sure why not, only thing is that it does skitch (Track, dry up, stop working for a moment) so if you don't mind the slight skitch then you should get it.
  I enjoy to use white..., February 16, 2014
By tin...
I enjoy to use white pen for my Zentangle arts with black background. It's nice but the shipping is outrageous! You should weigh it for postal postage because the pen is very light.
  Worst Pen I've Ever Used...., January 26, 2014
Worst Pen I've Ever Used.

When I first got this pen it seemed to work ok for a few weeks. It's not something I used often, only to add hotspots to highlights on my renderings. But after a few uses the pen became barely usable. Not sure if I just got a defective cartridge or something, but it is almost impossible to lay down a line or even a single dot of ink. I have to scribble the pen on a piece of paper to get the ink flowing, and even then it barely comes out. In the end, I can't use it.

However, considering the amount of positive reviews, I suspect I just got a dud.
  An excellent little white..., January 8, 2014
An excellent little white pen, though wetter than I’d like. Of course, it doesn’t perfectly substitute for white-out, as it takes a bit too long to dry and the ink underneath is still visible, but it does the job if you’re in a quick pinch and have run out of the real stuff.

It’s a bit too liquidy for my taste, but a great white pen for writing on black construction paper.
  This is the best white..., November 12, 2013
By ram...
This is the best white gel pen I've used. Excellent for drawing on dark colors or papers, and for cleaning up lines. And it can be colored over if necessary. Lasts a long time, has not dried out, or the tip clogged. I've had this one for 2 years and am ordering more.
  This is a sweet pen!..., July 7, 2013
By erich
This is a sweet pen! I bought it to use for an emergency/detail whiteout at work, and also to sign the covers for my band's demo that are made of red paper fed through a laser printer. For the latter use, it works beautifully.

As an emergency whiteout, it works very well. Some color comes through as it's not a true whiteout, but for quickly correcting pen mistakes it does the trick.

I'll eventually try the .4mm Gelly Roll as another reviewer recommended, but I'm happy with this one. The heavy plastic construction and white rubber grip make it quite an attention-getter too.
  Best gel epn out there!..., May 8, 2013
Best gel epn out there! Writes very smooth without skipping. White ink is opaque. Works great when I need to highlight certain features in my fashion illustrations.....especially the effect of glitter and sequins. Love it!
  this pen is elegant and..., February 22, 2013
By bra...
this pen is elegant and a staple in my Every Day Carry (pouch). My valentines were made more striking by the white on red. I continue to find more and more ways to use this wonderful pen. Buy it! You will not be disappointed! Veronica
  I LOVE, love, love, love,..., January 13, 2013
I LOVE, love, love, love, love, these pens, oh and did i mention that " I LOVE THESE PENS"? LOL these seriously are THE best white gel pens you will ever find...they just do not make them better than this. I use them for corrections on paper work, but mostly for scrapbooking/card making projects, and iam over the moon happy with them. In fact iam placing my second order so that i can give them to my friends in their valentine goody bags! they are going to be so happy too :)
  This is the best white..., December 28, 2012
This is the best white ink pen I have tried (and I've tried a few). Back in my youth, when gel pens first hit the map and it was easy to find black paper, it was easy enough to find a decent white and pastel gel pens that show up on darker paper.

In the last few years that has not been the case. This is the reason why I made my own notebook and filled it with black card stock and the hunt began to find the perfect pen to use with it. After a lot of fails, I gave this one a go and I'll be back to by the pack of 25 as soon as the two I bought gets low.

The broadness of this pens allows for an opaque white that contrasts beautifully on black paper. It writes smoothly and I haven't had any issues with any patching so far. I will say that because of the broadness of the ink, the ink does take a little longer to dry.

That one downfall does not outweigh the awesome-ness (yes I made up a word) of this pen!
  This is my favorite white..., December 20, 2012
By bra...
This is my favorite white ink pen so far. It is like an ultra-precise liquid paper touch-up tool. The ink is smooth, while, and opaque.
  This is THE ONLY white..., August 15, 2012
This is THE ONLY white pen I use for art journaling. It is amazing and writes on anything! The very BEST white pen! Buy them by the box you wont be sorry. They do last a long time!
  I really like this pen--the..., July 31, 2012
By sur...
I really like this pen--the white actually shows up consistently and even works as a whiteout. I am excited to use this!