JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (88 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 4, 2012
Honestly this is a really,...
Verified Purchase
Honestly this is a really, really fabulous pen for whiting out areas in need of correction. I've tested at least three other gel pens against it and in order of similarity, some either held up well or just did not match the opacity and flow of this pen.

http://www.jetpens.com/Sakura-Gelly-Roll-Regular-Gel-Ink-Pen-0.4-mm-White/pd /531 Held up marvelously in terms of opacity and flow and to be so cheap I was really surprised by how well it worked in compare to the Uni-ball. The Uni-ball is fantastic if you have to spot correct a semi largish area but the broadness of the pen tip makes it harder if you do very fine spots so the 0.4mm of the Sakura is a good twin to the 0.8mm of the Uni-ball.

http://www.jetpens.com/Pentel-Hybrid-Gel-Grip-Gel-Ink-Pen-0.8-mm-White/pd/50 0 this one was just not as great as I had imagined it would be. For the cost which is close to the Uni-ball Signo Broad, I really did expect for this pen to be just as opaque but the ink was actually rather thin over the pens and I tested this against a variety of inks. It just did not do as well as the Uni-ball and Sakura.

http://www.jetpens.com/Pentel-Sunburst-Metallic-Gel-Ink-Pen-0.7-mm-Silver/pd /1309 Using the silver as a kind of aid for anyone considering on buying the Pentel Sunburst Gel Ink Pen in White should JetPens ever bring it in stock. Still medium tip and much like the Hybrid, it was just not as thick as it could have been. Repeated layering doesn't seem to be a huge problem but I like being able to put down a coat of white from the onset.

In summation, if you draw, stick with the Sakura or the Uni-ball. Pentel is a great pen company but they just need to thick up their white or make it more opaque.

This link shows my test and the pens I tested these four against.

http://fc01.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2011/364/7/c/white_ink_tests_by_colanah-d4kqd qu.png

24 people found this helpful
koinijikoimizu
 
August 28, 2011
I'm kind of disappointed...
Verified Purchase
I'm kind of disappointed with these because I can't use them for what I really wanted them for, and I bought 2 :\

The white that comes out is a thick white, but the width of the line that the pen makes is too thick for the kind of detailing I wanted to do.
Also, there is a peak/ball wherever you lift up the pen. For the most part it settles down. It's not a huge deal, especially if you're just using them for writing, but you see the little dot at the end of a line... I'm a little picky because I'm using them for artwork.

It just depends how picky you are if this would matter to you or not ^_^;

If I had bought these in a retail store, I probably would end up returning at least one of them to get something else, since I think it will take awhile to use up just one for what else I can find to use them for on artwork.
I wanted them for a fast and more convenient way of making line details, but they can at least be used for a quicker way of doing dot detailing ( quicker than my dip pen and white ink )

So, that is just my opinion based on what I was looking to use them for.
It's not a very expensive item, so if you're looking for a nice thick white ink, I'd recommend trying one ( but only if you're already buying over $25.00 worth of items to get the free shipping :)

9 people found this helpful
crescentcreations
 
January 16, 2011
I loved this pen! it...
Verified Purchase
I loved this pen! it didn't skip and its great for touch up on drawings and manga!
*recomend this to any manga drawers*

6 people found this helpful
 
February 27, 2011
For some reason white...
Verified Purchase
For some reason white is a hard color for most gel pens to get right, but Uniball is the best I've tried (and I've tried a LOT). It's smooth and bold, and doesn't have have the "I'm acting like I'm dry even though it's clear I'm full of ink" issue a lot of gel pens seem to have. If you're looking for an excellent white pen, this is it!!

5 people found this helpful
LizardbethArt
 
March 24, 2011
I just received mine....
Verified Purchase
I just received mine. Best white gel pen yet that I have tried! Super white, non transparent, writes well on all paper surfaces I've tried. I ordered 5 of them and very happy!!!

4 people found this helpful
 
January 30, 2012
Writes on glass if you...
Verified Purchase
Writes on glass if you get it started on paper first. I got this pen for writing on dark objects, such as raised lettering black on black plastic. On water based fountain pen ink the bleed through is about 50%. On Pilot G2 gel ink about 33%, but I was not looking for a correction pen, so that's OK with me.

2 people found this helpful
rithomas33
 
February 15, 2013
I draw manga and occasionally...
Verified Purchase
I draw manga and occasionally color them, so a good white gel pen is handy to have. This, is not. For small shines in the eyes it's alright, the flow of the ink is generally okay, but it seems very runny. I have to use multiple coats to get it pure white over dry marker ink and God forbid I try to use it to make a minor touch up. It takes forever to dry, which is problematic seeing as you need at least two coats for opaque white ink. Overall, I wouldn't pay $2.50 + Shipping to get this again. Not worth the effort to use.

1 person found this helpful
LilMissFangirl
 
December 24, 2012
While drawing I like...
Verified Purchase
While drawing I like to use white gel pens to draw highlights over black ink or to correct tiny mistakes; but none of the white pens I've tried over the years has really been up to the job. This, however, is pretty much the best white gel pen I've ever used. The ink goes on thick and smooth and the pen doesn't get dried up and crusty like most of the other gel pens I've tried.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 15, 2012
I've been searching for...
Verified Purchase
I've been searching for a good pen for fine white lines on my sketches for a couple years now. Another artist mentioned he used this pen and I immediately bought three. I was not disappointed. Within a couple minutes of testing with it, I knew this was the pen I'd been looking for. WAY better than the Gelly Roll I've been tolerating for a while now.

I wrote about it here: http://tmblr.co/ZyG8KvVNoh_j

1 person found this helpful
 
April 4, 2012
If not THE absolute best,...
Verified Purchase
If not THE absolute best, certainly one of the very best in my book! I have tried many of the white gel pens in a search for the best one that I like the most. This one is superbly brighter white... with practically zero transparency. Uni-ball has certainly gotten this one right... a sure winner! The pen glides effortlessly and very smoothly across the page as if it was on glass. Leaves a nice wet and definitely broad/bold line. Drys quickly. If I absolutely had to choose some sort of negative about this pen, it would be that they don't last quite as long as I would prefer. They tend to run out of gel a little earlier than your normal, everyday gel pen. I am guessing, but it is probably due to the gel itself being a little thicker in order to exhibit the smoothness & and boldness it has... well worth the trade-off.

I am simply enamored with this model pen! In fact I was so thrilled with the performance of this white version, I ordered several of each of the other colors of the UM-153 and now use them for everything! The gold and silver are incredible on a black background also! I even use them at work now, also. I use the Blue/Black one as my favorite signature pen. At just $2.50 a piece, one can afford to pick up a stockpile of them. Thanks Uni-ball and JetPens!

1 person found this helpful