My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (28 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  While the 0.38mm tip..., June 8, 2011
By wao...
While the 0.38mm tip writes fine lines, I am rather disappointed in the ink reservoir. If you pay close attention, the inner diameter on the refill is much smaller than most normal refillable pens which explains why these pens have such a short lifespan. The inner diameter on this refill is 2mm (approximately 3/32”) whereas other pens, like the Zebra Sarasa or the Uni-ball Signo 0.5mm, have a much wider inner diameter. These pens have a 5mm (approximately 5/32”) inner diameter, resulting in 2.5 times more ink than the Signo 0.38mm RT. It’s a great price, especially for those who love super fine tips. Me? I’ll take the extra ink with a 0.5mm tip.
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  To the guy who is complaining..., January 18, 2012
To the guy who is complaining about the reservoir size. It isn't that the .38 size has a smaller reservoir in particular, it's that the retractable signo's as a model have a smaller reservoir. Any size of signo DX models will have the same size reservoir. If you want .38 and still want a big reservoir go look at the .38 signo DXs. They also come in .28 and .5 btw. Anyways, the pen itself has been good to me as all the models of signo I've tried have been. Other than that sometimes not having to worry about a cap can be a good thing. Also, the grip is farther down the pen, which is better for me because I hold pens closer to the tip, which with the Signo DX model is pretty far up so I end up holding past the grip anyways.
  This is a good, smooth..., August 20, 2013
This is a good, smooth writing, precise pen. I will agree that the ink quantity is small and I used up each and every last bit of ink in these pens because I love writing with them. Especially in my lab notebook, since they're waterproof. When I resorted to a Pilot G-2 after this pen died the ink ran like crazy at the slightest drop of water.

It's a pity the refills for this pen are actually more expensive than the pen itself, or I'd just get the refills.

Either way, don't pretend that this pen will last forever and buy a good half dozen because you'll like it.
  Great retractable pen,..., April 28, 2013
By roqz
Great retractable pen, the 0.38 line is more like a 0.5 line, which in my opinion is better. As most of the cases, the clip is very fragile, look for the Zebra Sarasa Clip or Pilot Juice, which have a metal mechanism for more versatility in the clip.
  Good pen for writing..., June 8, 2012
Good pen for writing English, Chinese or Japanese. Good control, smooth and even. Good price too.
  Really good pen for quick..., December 19, 2011
Really good pen for quick sketching. Very smooth (it occasionally has a few skips, and it will scratch, but its rare). Only real complaint I have is that the ink runs down really quickly, but then again, it is a gel pen.
  I used this kind of uni..., November 3, 2011
I used this kind of uni in my high school (more than 5 years ago), at that time, I thought these gel pens were very good.

However, when using this 0.38 pen today, I think it's kinda of scratching paper. The friction is so uncomfortable to me. I used to have high expectation for uni-signo 207 0.38mm blue/black too, but it turns out they're waste of money.

So far, I could not find any other comfortable, high-quality and elegant writing instruments like Uni-ball Jetstream Ballpoint Pen - 0.7 mm - Alpha Gel Grip Series. I changed all my pencil,ball pens,multiple pens and ink pens to the alpha gel grip ones.
  My goodness, what a smooth,..., July 19, 2011
By lai...
My goodness, what a smooth, creamy line! The only thing that would improve this would be a pivot-clip (like the Zebra pens). I am smitten!
  My favorite retractable..., February 25, 2010
My favorite retractable pen. Fairly smooth, dark ink. Good for filling out small spaced forms. However, ink supply is very limited - I can exhaust one in less than a week.
  The Signo RTs are some..., November 11, 2009
The Signo RTs are some of my most favorite pens. The smaller point makes note taking a lot neater looking. It writes smoothly, it's comfortable to hold, don't hesitate to buy this pen.

Although a word of caution, the ink volume is about half of the larger point uniball pens. Yes, the smaller point uses less ink but still eats through the ink. Other than that I find it to be a great pen for students; I've already had a friend who wanted to trade something for my pen.
  Smoothness: okay Precision:..., November 8, 2009
By khb...
Smoothness: okay
Precision: okay
Weight: light
grip feeling: okay
cushion: solid

Overall: Okay. I personally prefer Pilot G-Knock Retractable Gel Ink Pen - 0.38 mm
for better grip and better nonslip feature of the cushion.
  I've bought all the colors..., November 3, 2009
By cer...
I've bought all the colors and I love the pen. I'm just sad that the black pen is sold out at the moment.
  Writes well and very..., August 3, 2009
Writes well and very comfortable, but ink doesn't last very long.
  I bought this pen based..., June 18, 2009
By soobim
I bought this pen based on the reviews. I love this one! This one is pretty thin which is what I like :)
  I have used this pen..., June 11, 2009
I have used this pen for almost 2 years now and have tried the other, the latest in comparison which pen is better. Even tried the Pilot 0.3mm HI-Tech Slimline.
RT Uni-ball Signo 0.38mm is far better.
I will keep on trying the new ones but up till now this is the best one.
  This pen is very good,..., May 23, 2009
By eisa01
This pen is very good, just as the other reviews says. But compared to the the Pilot G-2 0.38 mm, the value is not so good. It's much less ink in this one, so you use it up very fast.
  I was in need of a good..., March 6, 2009
I was in need of a good black pen, that didn't write as big as the rest of the pens I have, and this pen fit that bill perfectly.
as I said about the Orange one:
"Good ink flow, and a perfect size for the hand, its not to long, its not to short, the body isn't terribly skinny, or too big.

It's just, perfect.."

=)
  Actually, this pen does..., March 5, 2009
Actually, this pen does use the special tamper-proof ink as evidenced in the following link.

http://www.uniball-na.com/main.taf?p=9

Aside from that, this is my current favorite knockabout pen. I have one in my pencil case, one in my scripture case, one stuck in the elastic around my journal and an extra in my nightstand drawer. I fully intend to order several more of these along with the refills. I also intend to purchase the full color set along with some refills for each color just to have around.

What I love about this pen is that the barrel is not too thick a diameter for me, like the 207 pens from Uni-Ball. Also, this pen is smooth, especially given the fine tip. I print most of the time, but when I do write in cursive, some pens can get too juicy. Not this one! I have experienced no skipping, the ink is very waterproof ( http://www.jetpens.com/cms.php/content/Article:_Gel_Pen_Waterproof_Test ), is acid-free and fade resistant. I love it!
  hartzog2000 says this..., October 12, 2008
By qqqq
hartzog2000 says this model has the special tamper-proof ink, but that is incorrect.
The 207 does have this:
http://www.uniball-na.com/main.taf?p=2,2,3
The RT series doesn't:
http://www.uniball-na.com/main.taf?p=2,2,6

I just wish they had the smaller sizes available.
  This is, in my experience,..., August 25, 2008
This is, in my experience, the finest line of any of the 0.38mm Gel pens. One pays a price for having such a fine point on a pen. Like other 0.38mm Gel pens it is not as smooth as Gel pens with greater writing tips. It has Uni-ball's special tamper-proof ink which is designed to help prevent check fraud by being nearly impossible to remove from check paper. I really like this pen despite it's less-than-smooth writing and plan on having some around all the time.
  I fell in love the moment..., April 25, 2008
By mrsdrc
I fell in love the moment I used this pen. When I could no longer find them in the stores thankfully I found JetPens and was thrilled at the color selection...I've developed a "thing" for orange ink.

This pen is very comfortable in the hand. The flow is smooth and I've never had a skipping problem. I do believe you kinda need a light hand with such a fine point. I had several customers complain it wouldnt work, but when I told them to write lightly it was perfect...even had customers try to buy it off me right at the register!

I love the clicky (retractable) and will keep using this pen as long as JetPens sells them!
  I love the way these..., December 13, 2007
I love the way these pens write, but they would always stop working when I was halfway through the ink. It was quite annoying so I changed to Uni-bal Signo DX 0.28mm which I now love. The only reason this pen is better than the DX is the retractable feature, it's convenient, hehe.
  I love this pen!!! I..., November 28, 2007
I love this pen!!! I like the way it fits in my hand and the way it writes. I would recommended to anyone that likes 3.0s/3.8s.
  ooh, i just bought one..., October 5, 2007
ooh, i just bought one of these from office depot, to see if i liked them before i bought the color set (they only have red, blue and black here in the u.s.!) and they are quite nice!! they write almost as thin as a hi-tec-c .25, and i love the retractable part. also, jetpens price is i think a little cheaper and they have a much nicer selection!
  These are my #1 all-purpose..., April 17, 2007
These are my #1 all-purpose pens. Although I'm able to easily get a pack of 4 from OfficeMax, JetPens has a few other nice color options I can't find here. Nice, smooth flowing (unlike skippy 0.5/0.7 G-2s I've used), and just the right fineness. Pity I can't get a hold of refills for these; I go through one of these in a week.