My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (43 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  A marvelous everyday..., September 1, 2011
A marvelous everyday pen. This pen is my favorite. I have been ordering other pens to try them out and I always end up coming back to this one. I have gone through 11 of these pens so far and plan to continue using them. Some may find the line too thin, but I like it. The rubber grip seems to wear out and get a bit loose over longer periods of time (after replacing the inkwell once or twice). The cap also becomes a touch loose over a similar time period. I always put two or three of these on any Jetpens order I make. At the risk of making these pens be out of stock more frequently, I would recommend this pen to anyone looking for a hardworking, high quality, everyday pen.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  From the perspective..., January 29, 2011
By jus...
From the perspective of a university student, this pen is excellent. From working out mechanisms in organic chemistry to just simply writing (notes or essays), this pen does an outstanding job.

Compared to the Uni-ball Signo RT UM-138 (0.38), this pen is better built, has a slightly more comfortable grip, has a much larger volume of ink, and writes with the same "thinness" (but with a darker black). The RT's black ink always have looked faded to me and they all definitely run out of ink way too rapidly or even a mediocre writer/drawer/whatever.

The RT has the "clicker" ability (which I originally wanted this pen to be and would buy another one if it were a "clicker") but the cap removal process isn't a big deal. I've actually started to like the look of the cap and the way it snaps on makes it feel like it's a high class pen.

Overall, this pen is one of the best that I've used.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  i bought this pen expecting..., March 28, 2014
By kee...
i bought this pen expecting to be able to ink drawings for watercolor since it said it was waterproof, but this pen smears SO easily i'm incredibly disappointed.

also, as others have said, the ink flows out of the pen very smoothly, but the actual design of the pen makes it a bit uncomfortable to write with. it may just be that it's a bit wider than im used to
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  The best everyday pen..., June 11, 2011
The best everyday pen sold by JetPens. Can be used for writing and for drawing. Waterproof. Mitsubishi (Uni Ball) makes fantastic products. My favorite brand.
  I love this pen. it writes..., June 29, 2013
I love this pen. it writes smoothly, its super sharp-just how a 0.38 should be.
I have problems with the ink cartridge though. I bout 2 pens and a pack of refills.
ALL of them stopped working half way through. I tried everything from rubbing it on erasers to soaking in alcohol. Nothing worked. At first i just though it was a defective but now i doubt it.it wouldnt show any signs, just writing beautifully and then all of a sudden it stops working. From ink to no ink. I really want to buy this pen again for its small size and all but for now I`ll search for other 0.38 pens from JetPen.
  Great pen, traveled with..., April 27, 2013
By roqz
Great pen, traveled with it for a while, easy to write with, thin lines without scratching the paper. Nice black color.
  My go-to everyday pen...., February 21, 2013
My go-to everyday pen. For my small handwriting, this is the pen for me. Ink is very black, writes smoothly, and the viscosity is great (the ink does rarely feathers, depending on the paper). I'm a student and this pen has made a huge difference in how clean my notes look.
  I love this pen, I've..., January 30, 2013
By ami...
I love this pen, I've probably ordered around $50-worth in the last year.

I'm a college student in engineering so I take a lot of notes; I'm also left handed and this is the only pen I own that consistently doesn't smear. The .38 is great, it makes my old .7 mm G-2's look like markers!

Sometimes when I write the tip tears a bit through paper but I tend to press really hard when I write. Definitely worth buying in black and pretty much every other color.

  Best everyday pen! All..., December 13, 2012
By cde...
Best everyday pen! All time favorite
  I am a gel ink pen fanatic..., August 16, 2012
I am a gel ink pen fanatic and use nothing but gel ink pens. This pen is really the best pen as I have ever used (along with Pilot Hi-Tec-C 0.4mm) because the ink flows really well, and there is no smudging, leaking etc... at all!

Best pen ever!
  Really nice pen. Smoothest..., June 16, 2012
Really nice pen. Smoothest gel-ink pen I have ever written with. So smooth, that I found it a little hard to control, which resulted in somewhat sloppy writing. Still, rich, dark lines, without feathering is something to be admired.
Tested on 90g Clairefontaine paper.
  Best pen ever. Writes..., June 11, 2012
By jun...
Best pen ever. Writes as smoothly as High tech ones but has stronger tip and it won't break or sucked in.
LOVE IT!
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I've tried them ALL and..., April 5, 2012
I've tried them ALL and this is my favorite pen. Period.
  Amazing pens for the..., March 15, 2012
By art...
Amazing pens for the price

Smooth, consistent ink flow, dark ink, no feathering (like felt-tip liners, e.g. the micron), i also highly recommend the 0.28mm for finer details, as well as the Zebra Sarasa (0.3mm.)
  This is my absolute favorite..., February 8, 2012
By bri...
This is my absolute favorite pen. I picked up a bunch without much consideration when I lived in Japan a few years ago. After a few months, I realized just how amazing they were. It was the first time I had ever said to myself, "wow, what a great pen." Then after moving back to the states I realized they were impossible to find outside of Japan. Not even art supply stores had them. I finally found them on Jetpens-what a godsend!

They're the best!
  I will admit, I have..., January 5, 2012
I will admit, I have been a Pilot fangirl for a very long time. It wasn't until I became bored with my typical Pilots that I decided to venture out. And boy am I glad I did! I will admit without reserve that I am very quickly becoming a complete fan of the Signo line. I've never been a big fan of needle points and was slightly disappointed that the smallest non-needle point offered by Pilot was a 0.38. After branching out to other manufacturers, though, I'm finding plenty of alternatives. Now if only I could make a UM-151 fit my Pilot Cavalier...
  This is my first one..., December 29, 2011
This is my first one of a few pens purchased from Jetpens.com. I heard of this site on a podcast. I am a long time Pilot G-2 fanatic because it's what is sold here in retailers(USA). The Pilot G-2 was the best I knew, but they normally always carry the 0.7mm which is a bit too large. After reading many reviews, I decided to try the Uni-ball Signo DX UM-151 in black in sizes 0.28, 0.38, and 0.5mm. I am very pleased. They write very smoothly compared to my Pilot G-2 0.5mm pens. Also, if the fact that the ink does not bleed with water, it makes them that much better. Of course people will probably argue that taking off a cap is too time consuming but, to be honest, I think it keeps the tip from drying out much better than retraction. I also purchased a few other Uni-ball products and I am hooked on Uni-ball. I work in the manufacturing sector, and everything I see from Uni-ball is high quality, at very reasonable prices. Thanks jetpens, now I'm hooked and will never buy from office depot or staples again. :)
  Excellent pen...I was..., October 7, 2011
Excellent pen...I was originally unsure of whether to buy this pen or the 0.28mm version. I am glad I chose the 0.38mm thickness because it's very thin (but not too thin) and doesn't skip. It writes clearly with sharp precision, and the pen itself feels comfortable to write with. Black pigmentation is good and doesn't appear faded.
  The pen was everything..., August 3, 2011
The pen was everything i could have hoped for. It writes perfectly.
  First things first: The..., June 9, 2011
First things first:
The pen writes incredibly smoothly and the tip is a lot more durable when compared against other lines such as the popular Pilot Hi-Tec-C.
The rubber grip makes extended writing a little more bearable, but it is not all that effective, and I feel that the grip is placed a little too high for my writing style.

Now the problem:
No matter how orders of this pen I make, the pen begins to skip after merely a few days of usage. I try my hardest to avoid getting anything stuck within the tip of the pen to cause any skipping, but the problem seems to be inevitable and it's quite a nuisance. It's a huge problem, so it detracts one point from my review.
  This pen is amazing...., April 1, 2011
This pen is amazing. Compared to some other .38s that barely write, this pen is incredibly smooth and amazingly sharp.
  Excellent writing quality..., January 5, 2011
By wic...
Excellent writing quality when it works, but as the previous reviewers mentioned, if you drop the pen onto a a hard surface, there is a very, very high chance that it will not work as well when you pick it back up. The tip appears to be easily damaged or something because if you try to draw a spiral with a pen that you dropped on the tip parts of it will consistently not show up. The ink glob problem can also occur after you drop the pen. It's a great pen if you are careful.
  Short: This pen writes..., October 24, 2010
By hip...
Short:
This pen writes incredibly well.

Long:
Out of the three pens I ordered (Hi-Tec-C, Signo DX), this is my favorite to write with. The grip works with my fingers well, the pen tip doesn't skip or dry out, and it's my favourite one for my Lab Notebook in Chemistry class; the other two I fear may tear the paper if I write hard.
I'm sad to say that I lost the cap while walking around on a field trip, but as a pen-lover, I ordered another Black and a Blue compliment it.
  This has already become..., September 2, 2010
By ebe...
This has already become one of my favorite pens -- even compared to many of the high-end fountain pens I also use. (Blasphemy, I know. But these Signo's are just that good.) My Hi-Tech-C pens feel quite scratchy in comparison. Also, my Hi-Tech-C's tend to have ink build up at the tip and then glop onto the beginning of a pen stroke. I've -never- seen that happen with my Signo's. I was quite sorry that I'd put my money into a collection of Hi-Tech-C's before trying these.
  I love the way Uni-ball..., August 19, 2010
I love the way Uni-ball pens write! This pen is simply a great choice. I tried my friend's Hi-Tec-C and although it wrote good, the Uni-ball's tip is what keeps me coming back. This pen is great for sketching and taking notes.