JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (43 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 1, 2011
A marvelous everyday...
Verified Purchase
A marvelous everyday pen. This pen is my favorite. I have been ordering other pens to try them out and I always end up coming back to this one. I have gone through 11 of these pens so far and plan to continue using them. Some may find the line too thin, but I like it. The rubber grip seems to wear out and get a bit loose over longer periods of time (after replacing the inkwell once or twice). The cap also becomes a touch loose over a similar time period. I always put two or three of these on any Jetpens order I make. At the risk of making these pens be out of stock more frequently, I would recommend this pen to anyone looking for a hardworking, high quality, everyday pen.

3 people found this helpful
mookiemorjax
 
January 29, 2011
From the perspective...
Verified Purchase
From the perspective of a university student, this pen is excellent. From working out mechanisms in organic chemistry to just simply writing (notes or essays), this pen does an outstanding job.

Compared to the Uni-ball Signo RT UM-138 (0.38), this pen is better built, has a slightly more comfortable grip, has a much larger volume of ink, and writes with the same "thinness" (but with a darker black). The RT's black ink always have looked faded to me and they all definitely run out of ink way too rapidly or even a mediocre writer/drawer/whatever.

The RT has the "clicker" ability (which I originally wanted this pen to be and would buy another one if it were a "clicker") but the cap removal process isn't a big deal. I've actually started to like the look of the cap and the way it snaps on makes it feel like it's a high class pen.

Overall, this pen is one of the best that I've used.

3 people found this helpful
justin0979
 
March 28, 2014
i bought this pen expecting...
Verified Purchase
i bought this pen expecting to be able to ink drawings for watercolor since it said it was waterproof, but this pen smears SO easily i'm incredibly disappointed.

also, as others have said, the ink flows out of the pen very smoothly, but the actual design of the pen makes it a bit uncomfortable to write with. it may just be that it's a bit wider than im used to

2 people found this helpful
 
June 11, 2011
The best everyday pen...
Verified Purchase
The best everyday pen sold by JetPens. Can be used for writing and for drawing. Waterproof. Mitsubishi (Uni Ball) makes fantastic products. My favorite brand.

3 people found this helpful
dbajraktarevic
 
June 29, 2013
I love this pen. it writes...
I love this pen. it writes smoothly, its super sharp-just how a 0.38 should be.
I have problems with the ink cartridge though. I bout 2 pens and a pack of refills.
ALL of them stopped working half way through. I tried everything from rubbing it on erasers to soaking in alcohol. Nothing worked. At first i just though it was a defective but now i doubt it.it wouldnt show any signs, just writing beautifully and then all of a sudden it stops working. From ink to no ink. I really want to buy this pen again for its small size and all but for now I`ll search for other 0.38 pens from JetPen.

 
April 27, 2013
Great pen, traveled with...
Verified Purchase
Great pen, traveled with it for a while, easy to write with, thin lines without scratching the paper. Nice black color.

 
February 21, 2013
My go-to everyday pen....
Verified Purchase
My go-to everyday pen. For my small handwriting, this is the pen for me. Ink is very black, writes smoothly, and the viscosity is great (the ink does rarely feathers, depending on the paper). I'm a student and this pen has made a huge difference in how clean my notes look.

 
January 30, 2013
I love this pen, I've...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen, I've probably ordered around $50-worth in the last year.

I'm a college student in engineering so I take a lot of notes; I'm also left handed and this is the only pen I own that consistently doesn't smear. The .38 is great, it makes my old .7 mm G-2's look like markers!

Sometimes when I write the tip tears a bit through paper but I tend to press really hard when I write. Definitely worth buying in black and pretty much every other color.


amialungo
 
December 13, 2012
Best everyday pen! All...
Verified Purchase
Best everyday pen! All time favorite

 
August 16, 2012
I am a gel ink pen fanatic...
I am a gel ink pen fanatic and use nothing but gel ink pens. This pen is really the best pen as I have ever used (along with Pilot Hi-Tec-C 0.4mm) because the ink flows really well, and there is no smudging, leaking etc... at all!

Best pen ever!