My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I LOVE this pen, and..., November 11, 2010
I LOVE this pen, and all the DX UM-151s. I teach at the U of Utah, and this is the pen I use to grade all of my student's papers. The tip is fine enough that I can make little corrections in the margins and between lines; the "Bordeaux Black" color is red enough to seem like it's chastising my students for their silly mistakes, but not so red that they feel violated (turns out that bright red pens have a negative effect on students); and the smoothness is unlike any other pen with a tip this fine. The "blotchiness" that another reviewer mentioned is, for me, more like a fountain pen's "flair" once you get more used to it (perfect for writing kanji). Finally, one of the greatest features about this gel pen compared to every other gel pen I've used is the speed at which it dries--it's a smooth, fine gel ink that won't smudge. Awesome, awesome pen. Also great for writing in the margins of books.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely love these..., October 24, 2012
I absolutely love these pens. I have the black and the bordeaux black in 0.38. The line thickness in perfect for editing small text and writing notes. The tip is very sturdy yet delicate. I love the feel of this pen. Good weight--not too heavy nor too light--and the plastic barrel fits my grip rather well. It is a delight to write with and I LOVE the bordeaux black color, in fact it might be my favorite color at the moment. My one complaint, and it is very annoying, is that the ink frequently runs dry and I need to scribble on scrap paper to get it going again. This is the one reason why this pen hasn't surpassed my other two favorites: the Hi-Tec C and the Slicci 0.4 pens.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely love everything..., July 23, 2012
By wmc...
I absolutely love everything about this pen and will keep a supply on-hand at all times.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Fantastic color, so elegant..., June 8, 2012
Fantastic color, so elegant and the gel ink runs so smooth! viva jetpens!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pen could be my..., April 23, 2012
By sch...
This pen could be my new favorite. It's comfortable to hold and writes extremely smoothly, and the ink is a beautiful, unusual, but dignified burgundy color (I mean, bordeaux!). I just wish there were refills available!
  This is my go-to correction..., February 4, 2014
This is my go-to correction pen. I like to type stories, but when I edit them I opt for printing out the whole document and writing corrections/edits by hand. This pen is perfect. It’s small enough for me to get into the tiny margins, but bold enough for me to write without it feeling scratchy. I love the pen so much I had to order the full color range!

As for this particular color, what I like about it is that it’s a great option against red. Red is a bold color to use for correction, as it stands easily out from among the text. But no one likes seeing red on their own paper—even me. It’s darker than red, a more darker purple of color, but not enough of the royal hue to make one think that it’s violet. Overall, this is probably my most favorite correction pen and color combination.
  One of my favorite pens!..., November 21, 2013
One of my favorite pens! It writes sooo smooth. The color is perfect too, I hate writing in plain old black or blue ink, this adds a little umph to my writing ;) I love it!
  Great color, I think..., April 28, 2013
By roqz
Great color, I think that this is my favorite line of capped pens, amazing colors and easy to hold and write.

Amazing reddish/wine black color, it allows you to write lengthy in a notebook and adding a slight bit of color without being very flashy.
  This is a wonderful pen...., February 15, 2013
This is a wonderful pen. It's a little more fine point than I normally use, but still easy to write with in those spots where you need a very fine line. Ink flow is perfect, in spite of the fine point. The ink color, which is a perfect mix of red and black, was a revelation to me. It's a subtle color, very pleasing to the eyes. The pen is well made also, and feels good in the hand. Well worth the money!
  A terrific color that..., May 24, 2012
By ang...
A terrific color that is truly versatile -- simultaneously professional and fun. I use for taking minutes, editing, as well as for spicing up a party invitation or note. A reliably designed pen that has yet to skip, bleed, or go on a lunch break!
  I love these pens - but..., April 7, 2012
I love these pens - but this is one of my favorite colors. Not quite black, not quite red - it's a good in between but still professional enough to use at work/school. It’s very comfortable to hold and didn’t strain my hand after extensive writing. I wish the grip was a little longer, and extended to the end of the barrel because I grip my pen quite low, but I can manage. A sturdy, well built nib that is still surprisingly smooth and not at all scratchy. The ink dries very quickly so very low risk of smearing! Overall, I am a big fan of the Uni-ball Signo DX line.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  First the good: I love..., March 1, 2012
First the good: I love the color, and the ink-flow. It has a nice crisp line that looks good on almost any paper.

The bad: I write with my fingers really close to the base of the pen, and since the grip is at least 1/2" away from the nib, I end up getting cramps in my hand and the quality of my handwriting is diminished.

I wish they made Bordeaux black in a Pilot RT UM-138!
  Love this pen! Writes..., January 7, 2012
By JUL...
Love this pen!
Writes surprisingly smooth. The ink flow is good and the line width consistent. I've not had any problems with blotchiness, skips or blobs. The color is fantastic! It doesn't leap off the page and smack you in the face, just a great red/maroon. I really like the tip as well. I use a lot of pressure when I write and some of the smaller tipped pens feel really fragile under the pressure. This one holds up like a champ. I use this pen for underlining and writing in my Bible and it is one of the very few that do well in that capacity. The ink does not bleed through the super-thin pages and the pigments keep it from fading or migrating through the paper over time like ballpoint pen or dye based gel inks. The 0.38 mm size dries quickly enough that I haven't had any trouble with smearing. Only negative point is that the cap doesn't snap on very tight and I hate chasing a pen cap under the desk. I wish Uni-ball made these the same as the retractable 207 Uni-ball pens.
  This pen is fabulous!..., January 5, 2012
By nic...
This pen is fabulous! I love the fine line and I don't have problems with skipping or smudging. The color is a pretty and vivid burgundy. It is a breeze to write with. The pen is the perfect weight, and the rubber grip makes it comfortable to write with. I wrote a thank you note with this pen and the recipient liked the ink and line so much, that she asked where she could buy the pen (I told her JetPens.com, of course!). My 9 year old son loves the pen too; he wants one of his own. I recommend this pen if you like a fine line and a vivid, unique color. I will purchase this pen again, for my son, my friends and myself.
  Love this color. I'm..., November 29, 2011
By lin...
Love this color. I'm not a fan of 0.38 tip because I find it too fine for me. However, this color is not available with 0.5 tip, so I tried it. I'm amazed to discover that it's not as fine as what I thought. The tip works perfect for me.
  LOVE the colour and amazing..., October 10, 2010
LOVE the colour and amazing smoothness! Its not a showy colour but really pops off the page.
  Overall, probably the..., September 28, 2010
By joe...
Overall, probably the best red-black gel pen on this site as of now. A little blotchy, and a little more purplish than red, but overall, a solid, comfortable performer. My main go-to pen for black-red.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  So sad about this pen...., April 25, 2012
By l8b...
So sad about this pen. I liked the flow of the ink, but after using it once, it leaked all over the place. Won't buy this model again.