JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (27 customer reviews)
Write Review
July 23, 2011
I just put one nib in...
Verified Purchase
I just put one nib in some freshly squeezed lime juice, boiled some water with a small amount of dish soap, dropped it in for a little pulled it out(without putting my fingers on it at all) and dried it with a paper towel. after which I put it on my nib holder using the paper towel licked it and let it dry, all without putting any of my skin oils on the nib, and it works just fine. it picks up ink like it's no ones business

18 people found this helpful
bitmavric
 
August 7, 2011
Zebra G-Pen, by far the...
Verified Purchase
Zebra G-Pen, by far the most popular of the G-Pen Nibs used in Japan. Is this just hype or is there a valid rason as to why the popularity of the Zebra G deserves the hype? When the nib is fresh out of the box, it has a distinctive hard,stiff touch comparible to that of the Tachikawa. Unlike the Tachikawa, however, this nib makes a far more variety of lines compared to that nib and despite the hard feeling, it doesn't feel stiff at all. The hardness is also a very good indicator that it is still very good to use, and also allows the finest lines that this G-Pen can make, similar to that of the MaruPen, however a little thicker than what Type A Hard-type Maru-Pen can make, but still at a satisfying thinness. As the pen gets used up, the stiffness disappears, indicating that the pen has a little more freedom in making varied lines a little easier but gradually loses the ability to make the Maru-Pen like thin lines, however it can still make thin lines when it is at a "medium used" stage. By this time the pen can be able to express thick lines much better and switch between variation with ease. I have also noticed that this pen can be used for a very long time, especially if you're using a strong waterproof ink like Kaimei Lettering Sol or Kuretake Manga Ink, if you constantly wipe the ink off with a solution or water. Awesome use-span! Let's say that it can last for a good 20 -30 pages if taken care of properly. In closing, the Zebra G-Pen is by far one of the best pens to use out there, especially if you're doing a manga and calligraphy, this pen is a must. It also pairs up with any ink, whether black or colored,waterproof or water-soluble, perfectly.

12 people found this helpful
gstrikedragon
 
December 29, 2010
Love this nib. It makes...
Verified Purchase
Love this nib. It makes the thinnest lines possible with just skimming the paper and can also make thick lines. Holds a lot of ink. Perfect for manga artists. I'm giving up my Speedball nibs for these.

On a side note: When I got these, I was stupidly eager and went ahead and prepared all of them for usage (getting off the wax). It never occurred to me that I'm never going to go through 10 nibs soon and that it can possible rust form storage. Just prepare the ones you are going to use.

11 people found this helpful
yinstanley
 
October 20, 2013
By far the Zebra G is...
Verified Purchase
By far the Zebra G is the best for flexibility of producing very fine and thick lines. Then followed by Nikko G (stiffer nib, produces fine lines but not as flexible as the Zebra), then the Tachkawa G (falls between the Nikko G and Zebra G) for pointed pen calligraphy work. Calligraphers, penmen and Master Penmen alike recommend this nib and call it a "workhorse" of a nib. They suggest initial treatment to the nib (to remove the protective sheen on the nib) by either running the bottom of the nib under a lit match for 3 seconds; or use liquid gum arabic to wipe the nib or rub it with some toothpaste and rinse. Any of these techniques will work before dipping the nib into ink. Hope this helps!

2 people found this helpful
mgonvelez
 
July 20, 2013
I started using these...
Verified Purchase
I started using these just yesterday after it came in the mail. First of all, love the product, it creates smooth lines for me when I'm working on my manga. Secondly, for ten of these nibs, I think it's worth my every penny. and Third, the shipping and package was excellent.

2 people found this helpful
 
May 15, 2012
the line width can very...
Verified Purchase
the line width can very a lot with this pen nib. I've found that i haven't had to alternate pens as much. can't say much else! try it out and enjoy! practice makes perfect with dip pens and this comes with 10 nibs so if you mess up somehow you still have more chances.

2 people found this helpful
 
December 27, 2011
I’ve tried many different...
Verified Purchase
I’ve tried many different types of nibs for drawing and I really like these a lot, they have a great amount of flexibility and line variation they also hold a decent amount of ink. The other G nibs I’ve tried are nice as well but I prefer the Zebra ones they seem to retain their ability to do very fine line for longer than the other types I’ve tried. If you’re interested in inking or comics or cartooning I’d recommend give these a shot.

2 people found this helpful
 
December 10, 2011
Great nib. The ink flow...
Verified Purchase
Great nib. The ink flow is perfect, and i love how you can change the thickness of the line by applying pressure. If you draw manga, (not only manga, it goes well with another drawing styles) this is a must have.

2 people found this helpful
ivan_mello7
 
November 10, 2010
I love these nibs. As...
Verified Purchase
I love these nibs. As a first-time nib user, I found myself fully adjusted to the nib after only a few hours of practice. You can get anything from super thin lines to thick and delicious lines with this nib. Best of all, you can even move the nib from side to side (rather than just toward you) to produce a thin line.

Overall, this is a good beginner nib to start with. I don't see myself even bothering to try anything else. That's how happy I am with the lines this nib produces. I've tested two nibs out of the pack of 10 already and neither was defective. So far, that's a better quality control than what I've heard from people buying a Hunt 102 nib pack. I haven't had any problems with the nibs scratching the paper.

My only complaint right now is that they're out of stock!

Please restock these soon!

3 people found this helpful
mustangsally2006
 
October 29, 2011
Èstas plumillas son...
Verified Purchase
Èstas plumillas son hermosas, hacen lìneas finas y gruesas cuando quieres !!! jetpens si te manda los pedidos, yo desconfiaba, pero me equivoquè. thanks jetpens, from Perù.

3 people found this helpful