My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (26 customer reviews)
Write Review
18 out of 19 people found the following review helpful
  I just put one nib in..., July 23, 2011
I just put one nib in some freshly squeezed lime juice, boiled some water with a small amount of dish soap, dropped it in for a little pulled it out(without putting my fingers on it at all) and dried it with a paper towel. after which I put it on my nib holder using the paper towel licked it and let it dry, all without putting any of my skin oils on the nib, and it works just fine. it picks up ink like it's no ones business
12 out of 13 people found the following review helpful
  Zebra G-Pen, by far the..., August 7, 2011
Zebra G-Pen, by far the most popular of the G-Pen Nibs used in Japan. Is this just hype or is there a valid rason as to why the popularity of the Zebra G deserves the hype? When the nib is fresh out of the box, it has a distinctive hard,stiff touch comparible to that of the Tachikawa. Unlike the Tachikawa, however, this nib makes a far more variety of lines compared to that nib and despite the hard feeling, it doesn't feel stiff at all. The hardness is also a very good indicator that it is still very good to use, and also allows the finest lines that this G-Pen can make, similar to that of the MaruPen, however a little thicker than what Type A Hard-type Maru-Pen can make, but still at a satisfying thinness. As the pen gets used up, the stiffness disappears, indicating that the pen has a little more freedom in making varied lines a little easier but gradually loses the ability to make the Maru-Pen like thin lines, however it can still make thin lines when it is at a "medium used" stage. By this time the pen can be able to express thick lines much better and switch between variation with ease. I have also noticed that this pen can be used for a very long time, especially if you're using a strong waterproof ink like Kaimei Lettering Sol or Kuretake Manga Ink, if you constantly wipe the ink off with a solution or water. Awesome use-span! Let's say that it can last for a good 20 -30 pages if taken care of properly. In closing, the Zebra G-Pen is by far one of the best pens to use out there, especially if you're doing a manga and calligraphy, this pen is a must. It also pairs up with any ink, whether black or colored,waterproof or water-soluble, perfectly.
11 out of 12 people found the following review helpful
  Love this nib. It makes..., December 29, 2010
Love this nib. It makes the thinnest lines possible with just skimming the paper and can also make thick lines. Holds a lot of ink. Perfect for manga artists. I'm giving up my Speedball nibs for these.

On a side note: When I got these, I was stupidly eager and went ahead and prepared all of them for usage (getting off the wax). It never occurred to me that I'm never going to go through 10 nibs soon and that it can possible rust form storage. Just prepare the ones you are going to use.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  By far the Zebra G is..., October 20, 2013
By mgo...
By far the Zebra G is the best for flexibility of producing very fine and thick lines. Then followed by Nikko G (stiffer nib, produces fine lines but not as flexible as the Zebra), then the Tachkawa G (falls between the Nikko G and Zebra G) for pointed pen calligraphy work. Calligraphers, penmen and Master Penmen alike recommend this nib and call it a "workhorse" of a nib. They suggest initial treatment to the nib (to remove the protective sheen on the nib) by either running the bottom of the nib under a lit match for 3 seconds; or use liquid gum arabic to wipe the nib or rub it with some toothpaste and rinse. Any of these techniques will work before dipping the nib into ink. Hope this helps!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I started using these..., July 20, 2013
I started using these just yesterday after it came in the mail. First of all, love the product, it creates smooth lines for me when I'm working on my manga. Secondly, for ten of these nibs, I think it's worth my every penny. and Third, the shipping and package was excellent.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  the line width can very..., May 15, 2012
the line width can very a lot with this pen nib. I've found that i haven't had to alternate pens as much. can't say much else! try it out and enjoy! practice makes perfect with dip pens and this comes with 10 nibs so if you mess up somehow you still have more chances.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I’ve tried many different..., December 27, 2011
By jswope
I’ve tried many different types of nibs for drawing and I really like these a lot, they have a great amount of flexibility and line variation they also hold a decent amount of ink. The other G nibs I’ve tried are nice as well but I prefer the Zebra ones they seem to retain their ability to do very fine line for longer than the other types I’ve tried. If you’re interested in inking or comics or cartooning I’d recommend give these a shot.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Great nib. The ink flow..., December 10, 2011
Great nib. The ink flow is perfect, and i love how you can change the thickness of the line by applying pressure. If you draw manga, (not only manga, it goes well with another drawing styles) this is a must have.
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I love these nibs. As..., November 10, 2010
By mus...
I love these nibs. As a first-time nib user, I found myself fully adjusted to the nib after only a few hours of practice. You can get anything from super thin lines to thick and delicious lines with this nib. Best of all, you can even move the nib from side to side (rather than just toward you) to produce a thin line.

Overall, this is a good beginner nib to start with. I don't see myself even bothering to try anything else. That's how happy I am with the lines this nib produces. I've tested two nibs out of the pack of 10 already and neither was defective. So far, that's a better quality control than what I've heard from people buying a Hunt 102 nib pack. I haven't had any problems with the nibs scratching the paper.

My only complaint right now is that they're out of stock!

Please restock these soon!
3 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  Èstas plumillas son..., October 29, 2011
Èstas plumillas son hermosas, hacen lìneas finas y gruesas cuando quieres !!! jetpens si te manda los pedidos, yo desconfiaba, pero me equivoquè. thanks jetpens, from Perù.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I had never used a nib..., July 11, 2011
I had never used a nib pen before so this was my first experience. It was instantly easy to use! There was no learning curve. Right out of the pack I loved drawing with it and was amazed at how fine the lines could be. I have tried other nibs since and none match up to this one. It is awesome.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  This nib is one of my..., April 18, 2011
This nib is one of my absolute favorites-- it's incredibly responsive, lays down a beautiful line, and is so versatile-- thin or thick, it can do it all. As the nib wears out it gets harder to do the super-thin feathering lines, but its flexibility and the control it gives you over laying down varied line widths are amazing. Great for learning nib inking, and great for being a pro at it.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  The Zebra G is likely..., November 26, 2010
By win...
The Zebra G is likely the best G nib being made today. Like the other G pens, the Zebra offers a wide range of line variability from fine to super thick. But it is capable of an even finer line than the other brands I have tried. It's also smoother writing than the others, and can be used in any direction - pushed, pulled, or side to side without catching.

Interestingly, the tines are ground for flexibility instead of stamped. This is an "old fashioned" method of adding flex to a nib, but it works better than stamping rows of grooves into the tines like Nikko, Tachikawa and Leonardt do on their G nibs.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I tested the three types..., July 20, 2010
I tested the three types of G-pen: Tachikawa, Nikko and this one, Zebra. I just can say that the Zebra G-pen nib is the very best I have tried in my entire life. Tachikawa and Nikko G-pens get easily damaged and their inking doesn't take very long to get thicker, but the Zebra pen is still as thin or thick as I want it to be, and I can treat it more roughly than the other two. If you are attempting to draw manga or comic, I can warranty that the Zebra G-pen has good reasons to be most manga artists' favorite nib pen. From a line as thin as one made by a Round-pen to one almost as thick as one made by any permanent fine marker, the Zebra G-pen is a must try for any artist, not only those who draw manga or comic.
  This nibs are excellent...., August 10, 2014
This nibs are excellent. I've been doing tests with several different inks (Pilot documentary ink, Kaimei Lettering Sol and Windsor and Newton Indian Ink) and it works wonderfully with all of them! No wonder why this are the top choice nibs from most professional Mangakas in Japan. We're fortunate that we can count with JetPens to get the chance to draw with this top quality nibs. You can get thick, well defined lines but also makes very thin lines for tiny/extreme details. Just awesome.

One thing I want to share here is that I begin using one nib right out of the box, meaning, without doing any pre-setup to remove the oil coat from the tip and good news, everyone, it worked perfectly since the very first trace! Ink was flowing perfect after using it for 2 hours. Then I took another nib from the cute little box and I did the setup to remove the oil coat with lemon juice and dish soap provided here on the reviews section by bitmavric (thanks a lot for sharing it!) And I don't know if I did the procedure correctly but after using that particular nib for 1 hour I feel like the nib wasn't acting as good as the first nib. I couldn't get those extremely thin lines because the ink flow was either too much or not ink flowing at all! It was kinda frustrating at times. In a few words: I wasn't getting the same precise control compared to the first nib without any oil coat remove procedure.

So yeah I think it will be better to do some doodle tests with this nibs without any pre-setup for a couple hours and if you find that the ink flow is doing good in that time I think it will be better to leave it as it is without applying any kind of weird liquid or burning the nib. Plus, the nib will last a lot longer. Sorry for the lenghty review but I wanted to share this experience because there's not much info about this on the Internet. Cheers from Mexico!
  These are the best nibs..., March 15, 2014
These are the best nibs I've ever had. To start off, I love the tiny plastic box they come in, it's so cute! Second, they work phenomenally. Smooth, fine lines, don't break into your paper at all if pushed forward, have a wide variety of line textures and thicknesses, and have a nice look and feel. Also, what I like about these that I usually have a problem with in other G Pens, you can make long, nice lines in one swift movement without feathering or unevenness. Lastly, I have a weird OCD where I don't like to throw expensive things away, so these nibs are perfect because they last a very long time. The only drawback is the rough feel it has when drawing with it, but that is completely ignorable.

I read a review saying how the ink flow was uneven and blotchy. They are most likely misusing it, or have an unusual technique, because it doesn't do anything like that.

Nothing but good things to say about this pen. Highly recommend.
  I've tried all the brands..., October 2, 2013
By por...
I've tried all the brands of the G-pen and I almost gave up on trying the Zebra brand because the other nibs were so awful but I'm glad I didn't because I would be missing on a truly great nib. It's very smooth and flexible, you can build lines or just do it one stroke if you skillful with a nib. The oil is a big issue due to the chrome finish, so be careful with the lighter or just use rubbing alcohol.
  These nibs are very smooth..., August 3, 2013
These nibs are very smooth on a variety of papers, even on heavily textured watercolor paper. Pretty amazing..can't really do that with any other G nib Ive used. I don't prep these nibs like others have said. They may have a coating for rust protection but with the inks I have used so far...Dr Martins Black Star Matte and Black Magic and W&N waterproof Indian Ink..fairly dense inks, the ink sticks to the nib pretty well.
  how do i get my nib started..., December 6, 2011
how do i get my nib started ? do i i ply heat witha lighter or is there another way to get the coating from it?
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I love pen and ink, and..., August 17, 2010
I love pen and ink, and have tried both Tachikawa and Nikko brand G-nibs. Zebra beats them both hands down! I though I hated G-nibs, but I think I just hated the brands I was using!

Thank you Jetpens for carrying these! You're the only US vendor that does. :)

Sam
thatdarnkat.deviantart.com
1 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I had read that these..., August 22, 2012
By d2m...
I had read that these were highly recommended nibs for inking comic art. Linked by Amazon to Jet Pens I was very pleased with the service. However, I ended up tossing the box of nibs after many hours spent diligently trying a number of samples. Yes, I cleaned the coating off first. I could not get predictable results and flow after hours of work. I'm not a master of dip pens but can do acceptable work with crow quill, calligraphy, and Speedball nibs. I would give even a lower rating than three-star except for the recognition that it could be my technique. Also, the holders were too loose and short for my taste. When I would clean the pen, the nib would come out too easily. If you try these, I wish you the best of luck but just wanted to post a review that spectacular results are not universally guaranteed, as one might gather from other reviews and comments on the Internet.

By the way, I have a degree in Art and was a student of a well known comic artist so dexterity is not usually an issue.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  edit: It takes me a while..., April 30, 2011
edit: It takes me a while to realize this... but the scratchy sound will disappear as the nib is used more. New nibs probably have that sound. It is beautifully flexible. (The only complaint I have now is how to get ink to go on it without the ink ending up in bubbles of ink. I did attempt to melt the wax, but did I not do it well enough?)
So- Five stars~ (at least 4.5 Xp)...
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  5 stars!a great nib for..., October 17, 2010
By mgi...
5 stars!a great nib for manga artists everywhere
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I have also tested all..., August 13, 2010
I have also tested all three brands of nib, and many other comic nibs. This nib is very elastic, making it easy to get thick and thin lines.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  bitmavric your approach..., July 3, 2014
By rezogo
bitmavric your approach calls for veneration. do we lick drawings after they're dry so the nib and paper feel married? lol maniac