JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (27 customer reviews)
Write Review
July 11, 2011
I had never used a nib...
Verified Purchase
I had never used a nib pen before so this was my first experience. It was instantly easy to use! There was no learning curve. Right out of the pack I loved drawing with it and was amazed at how fine the lines could be. I have tried other nibs since and none match up to this one. It is awesome.

2 people found this helpful
sandilanz
 
April 18, 2011
This nib is one of my...
Verified Purchase
This nib is one of my absolute favorites-- it's incredibly responsive, lays down a beautiful line, and is so versatile-- thin or thick, it can do it all. As the nib wears out it gets harder to do the super-thin feathering lines, but its flexibility and the control it gives you over laying down varied line widths are amazing. Great for learning nib inking, and great for being a pro at it.

2 people found this helpful
blackberryminttea
 
November 26, 2010
The Zebra G is likely...
Verified Purchase
The Zebra G is likely the best G nib being made today. Like the other G pens, the Zebra offers a wide range of line variability from fine to super thick. But it is capable of an even finer line than the other brands I have tried. It's also smoother writing than the others, and can be used in any direction - pushed, pulled, or side to side without catching.

Interestingly, the tines are ground for flexibility instead of stamped. This is an "old fashioned" method of adding flex to a nib, but it works better than stamping rows of grooves into the tines like Nikko, Tachikawa and Leonardt do on their G nibs.

2 people found this helpful
winnderfish_falls
 
July 20, 2010
I tested the three types...
I tested the three types of G-pen: Tachikawa, Nikko and this one, Zebra. I just can say that the Zebra G-pen nib is the very best I have tried in my entire life. Tachikawa and Nikko G-pens get easily damaged and their inking doesn't take very long to get thicker, but the Zebra pen is still as thin or thick as I want it to be, and I can treat it more roughly than the other two. If you are attempting to draw manga or comic, I can warranty that the Zebra G-pen has good reasons to be most manga artists' favorite nib pen. From a line as thin as one made by a Round-pen to one almost as thick as one made by any permanent fine marker, the Zebra G-pen is a must try for any artist, not only those who draw manga or comic.

2 people found this helpful
miganishi
 
October 10, 2014
A thousand times, yes!...
Verified Purchase
A thousand times, yes! These nibs are wonderfully smooth and flexy with bounce. I love all the line variations it gives. I really wish these were available in fountain pen format. My god, I'd be unstoppable. Seems like I need to get an Ackerman pump pen to accommodate my new obsession with these nibs. I heavily modified one to fit in a Noodler's Creaper, and it's an amazing combination. It's just time consuming to grind the sides and shaft down to size. But not having to dip all the time is great.

Of course, they work just as nicely while dipping them. I'm just spoiled on fountain pens.

djkhimtaka
 
August 10, 2014
This nibs are excellent....
Verified Purchase
This nibs are excellent. I've been doing tests with several different inks (Pilot documentary ink, Kaimei Lettering Sol and Windsor and Newton Indian Ink) and it works wonderfully with all of them! No wonder why this are the top choice nibs from most professional Mangakas in Japan. We're fortunate that we can count with JetPens to get the chance to draw with this top quality nibs. You can get thick, well defined lines but also makes very thin lines for tiny/extreme details. Just awesome.

One thing I want to share here is that I begin using one nib right out of the box, meaning, without doing any pre-setup to remove the oil coat from the tip and good news, everyone, it worked perfectly since the very first trace! Ink was flowing perfect after using it for 2 hours. Then I took another nib from the cute little box and I did the setup to remove the oil coat with lemon juice and dish soap provided here on the reviews section by bitmavric (thanks a lot for sharing it!) And I don't know if I did the procedure correctly but after using that particular nib for 1 hour I feel like the nib wasn't acting as good as the first nib. I couldn't get those extremely thin lines because the ink flow was either too much or not ink flowing at all! It was kinda frustrating at times. In a few words: I wasn't getting the same precise control compared to the first nib without any oil coat remove procedure.

So yeah I think it will be better to do some doodle tests with this nibs without any pre-setup for a couple hours and if you find that the ink flow is doing good in that time I think it will be better to leave it as it is without applying any kind of weird liquid or burning the nib. Plus, the nib will last a lot longer. Sorry for the lenghty review but I wanted to share this experience because there's not much info about this on the Internet. Cheers from Mexico!

acdc.led7
 
March 15, 2014
These are the best nibs...
These are the best nibs I've ever had. To start off, I love the tiny plastic box they come in, it's so cute! Second, they work phenomenally. Smooth, fine lines, don't break into your paper at all if pushed forward, have a wide variety of line textures and thicknesses, and have a nice look and feel. Also, what I like about these that I usually have a problem with in other G Pens, you can make long, nice lines in one swift movement without feathering or unevenness. Lastly, I have a weird OCD where I don't like to throw expensive things away, so these nibs are perfect because they last a very long time. The only drawback is the rough feel it has when drawing with it, but that is completely ignorable.

I read a review saying how the ink flow was uneven and blotchy. They are most likely misusing it, or have an unusual technique, because it doesn't do anything like that.

Nothing but good things to say about this pen. Highly recommend.

hanii_bananii11
 
October 2, 2013
I've tried all the brands...
Verified Purchase
I've tried all the brands of the G-pen and I almost gave up on trying the Zebra brand because the other nibs were so awful but I'm glad I didn't because I would be missing on a truly great nib. It's very smooth and flexible, you can build lines or just do it one stroke if you skillful with a nib. The oil is a big issue due to the chrome finish, so be careful with the lighter or just use rubbing alcohol.

 
August 3, 2013
These nibs are very smooth...
Verified Purchase
These nibs are very smooth on a variety of papers, even on heavily textured watercolor paper. Pretty amazing..can't really do that with any other G nib Ive used. I don't prep these nibs like others have said. They may have a coating for rust protection but with the inks I have used so far...Dr Martins Black Star Matte and Black Magic and W&N waterproof Indian Ink..fairly dense inks, the ink sticks to the nib pretty well.

suncityphoto
 
December 6, 2011
how do i get my nib started...
Verified Purchase
how do i get my nib started ? do i i ply heat witha lighter or is there another way to get the coating from it?