JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 12, 2012
A great felt tip "brush"...
Verified Purchase
A great felt tip "brush" marker for a bargain price! The ink is dark black, the medium tip can draw thick or thin lines, and the ink is always consistently dark. No problems with streaking or skipping. I've actually had this marker since before Xmas 2011 (or sometime around December anyway) but never used it much because I was on a "fine point" kick for the last few months :) But, even after months of inactivity (stored horizontally in my desk drawer) this little marker works just as great as the first day I got it!
I usually prefer fine point brush pens for lettering BUT the Zebra brush pen in Medium works better than the Fine or Extra Fine tips of OTHER brands. For example, Kuretake &Sailor's fine point brush pens seem too dry (squeaky when you write--eek!!) Plus I can usually get thinner lines & smaller lettering out of this Medium point Zebra than I can get from Kuretake/Sailor brush pens. Zebra offers better control over the pen's movements--perhaps because the Zebras are shorter & smaller...?
Anyway, I highly reccommend this brush pen (its inexpensive enough to just "try it out") and I will definitely be purchasing more of the medium, fine & extra fine Zebra brush pens as soon as possible!

2 people found this helpful
misterjuju
 
March 5, 2011
The tip is pretty big,...
Verified Purchase
The tip is pretty big, but you can get a decent line weight variation and it's really fun to use. It takes a bit of practice to get the hang of using it, and you have to draw lines slowly or else they won't look so great, but the ink is a really nice deep black. And the price is fantastic.

2 people found this helpful
 
November 11, 2014
I like this as well....
Verified Purchase
I like this as well..

terrygarrett763
 
November 3, 2014
This is my first brush...
This is my first brush pen.
At first I was a bit sceptical because of the stiff feel of the tip, but I've learned to appreciate it very quickly. Heavy, dynamic strokes create a nice distressed line. With a bit of getting use to you can simulate the effect of a stub nib pen, but with the added flexibility.
If I could choose again, I'd rather pick a fine tip width.

 
October 27, 2014
Nib maintains its point...
Verified Purchase
Nib maintains its point for a LONG time. The ink is very black. For the price these are great pens for calligraphy and illustration.

 
February 25, 2014
od strong pen and takes...
Verified Purchase
od strong pen and takes a beating!

bobbydrawsskullz
 
December 13, 2012
A great tool to use for...
A great tool to use for Beta(black spotting) as well as outlines. The lines it creates are mostly thick but you can get a somewhat decent thin line if you practice pressure with this. The only downside is that it seems to be pressure or humidity sensitive, causing the ink to run dry(I've encountered this with some new pens). however I do recommend shaking the pen to fix the problem a bit. One of the best properties of this pen however is that it's waterproof once dry so it's good for watercolors, I do remember it being compatible with Copics but really it's good for watercolors! Also excellent for Shodo,Korean, and Chinese calligraphy! Highly recommended but be sure to check the pen's condition first before use.

GStrike D.

gstrikedragon
 
January 12, 2011
I love these pens and...
Verified Purchase
I love these pens and use them constantly. The ink is smooth and is very consistant on bristol board. I do have to warn you that sometimes the ink will bead at the tip of the brush and will produce blobs and impercise lines. This tends to correspond with the weather and air pressure. It doesn't happen all the time.

I still love them and continue to keep them in my bag for everyday use.

1 person found this helpful
 
May 25, 2009
I used to draw comics...
Verified Purchase
I used to draw comics back in the 80's. These pens are what I needed then, They are wonderful- I buy them by the dozen and drain them dry with hard work.

Nothing better around!

1 person found this helpful
hank.mayo
 
May 31, 2012
I'm kind of bummed out...
Verified Purchase
I'm kind of bummed out by all the negative reviews this pen is getting. I've been using it for a couple of months now and by all means it is just as nice as any medium brush pen I've used.

sgrocklin