JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (29 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 3, 2011
What makes the Zebras...
Verified Purchase
What makes the Zebras a step above my previous favorite Uniball brush pen is the mere fact that they are re-usable!
All I did to mine was remove the back cover, tap out the sponge reservoir and drop some PERMANENT ink into the sponge with a dropper (took just about 5 drops to really saturate it) and the pen was back in action with the added bonus of permanent ink!!

15 people found this helpful
togotooner
 
March 20, 2013
This pen has successfully...
Verified Purchase
This pen has successfully replaced my whole set of sakura microns at a fraction of the cost! No longer do I have to switch between pens to get line variation, rather, with a simple flick of my arm I can get a beautiful tapered line! I have also noticed no bleeding which combined with the fact that it appears to be completely waterproof, makes this pen a keeper!

Unfortunately my review isn't all praises. After a bit of use I found that the tip has worn down quite a bit, but that is to be expected of a disposable pen. The pen also isn't the best to sketch with due to the fact that the ink doesn't seem to flow fast enough for me. This also means that it probably isn't the best pen to take notes with for all you journalists out there looking to buy a nice pen.Finally, I have found that none of the Zebra Brush Pens could compare to a real brush, so if you are looking for a pen to replicate that feeling for calligraphy I would go with a pentel pocket brush pen. This pen has however filled a nice little niche as my go to pen for more detailed work and for lettering!

All in all, I will definitely be buying this pen again. At 2.50 a piece it is a steal!

6 people found this helpful
 
March 29, 2008
This is easily the best...
Verified Purchase
This is easily the best ever drawing pen [sort of a felt tip brush pen] that I have ever used. And I have used many different types, from France, Germany, Japan etc. This one is the mother of all drawing pens. Can also be used for other stuff such as caligraphy and any work where you need variation of line. Easily can go from thin to thicker line. Perfect for comics, manga etc. Hobby. This pen is a secret by many artists who ordered it via 'special' connections from Japan and now available finally on JetPens. BTW, all other brush pens from Zebra are great and I use them all but this one is used the most together with fine and medium one completes a perfect set for drawing.

Highly recommended.

3 people found this helpful
dbajraktarevic
 
March 8, 2011
MY FAVORITE BRUSH PEN...
Verified Purchase
MY FAVORITE BRUSH PEN FOR COMICS AND ILLUSTRATION. I AM A PRO COMIC BOOK ARTIST & ILLUSTRATOR. THE "FINE" AND "EXTRA FINE" ZEBRA BRUSH SIGN PENS HAVE BECOME MY MAIN INKING TOOL. THE TIPS OF THESE "SUPER FINE" ZEBRAS ARE SO STURDY AND RESPONSIVE THAT I USE THEM FOR DETAILS THAT I USED TO DO WITH A CROWQUILL PENS! (PS- A FEW "TIPS" FOR SOME OF THE OTHER REVIEWS: 1) I ALMOST NEVER HAVE TROUBLE WITH THE TIPS FRAYING, BUT ON RARE OCCASIONS WHEN I DO I FIND THAT SIMPLY DOING SOME "ROLLING" BRUSH STROKES ACROSS A SHEET OF SCRAP PAPER WILL USUALLY PUT THINGS BACK IN ORDER. 2) IF INK SEEMS TO BE SLOW OR THE TIPS DRY, I DIP THEM IN WATER OR A FEW SECONDS, DRY OFF ANY EXCESS WATER, DO A FEW PRACTICE STROKES ON SCRAP TO MAKE SURE ALL THE WATER IS GONE, AND THEN TRY AGAIN. IT USUALLY WORKS.) PS- THE GRAY INK VERSION IS AMAZING FOR HALF-TONE WORK, BUT SADLY ARE NO LONGER SEEM TO BE AVAILABLE FROM JET PENS.

ASIDE TO JET PENS: PLEASE (!!!) MAKE THE THE GRAY INK "FINE" VERSION AVAILABLE AGAIN IF POSSIBLE! I CAME TO DEPEND ON THEM FOR MY HALF-TONE WORK AND MISS THEM MUCH! THE KURETAKE GRAYS ARE GOOD, BUT THE COLOR OF THE ZEBRAS WAS MUCH MORE PLEASING AND VERSATILE.)

5 people found this helpful
 
March 19, 2014
I bought two Zebras along...
Verified Purchase
I bought two Zebras along with two each of Sailor and Kuretake brush pens. In order, I preferred the Sailors most of all with the Kuretakes least.

These Zebras, fine and super-fine, have a nice stroke compared to the Kuretake's scratchy line, but has a similar grey/thin ink.

If jetpens are out of Sailor pens, I would get these Zebras as alternatives.

These are used for drawing, not writing.

1 person found this helpful
richardpace
 
April 20, 2012
PROS Nice...
Verified Purchase


PROS

Nice flow of ink

Perfect for making characters/drawing

I like the glittery blue body

Affordable :)

Disposable

CONS

If you draw a line too fast for the brush it could easily fade as you press on the paper

A bit gritty when you press on paper

Overall worth the affordable price and enjoy using it




1 person found this helpful
vectrexlover
 
January 25, 2012
One big problem. Unfortunately...
Verified Purchase
One big problem. Unfortunately, it's a big one.

When these pens are good, they're really good. They get the strokes finer than I can with the sharpest lead, and that's absolutely incredible. And vital, once you come to expect that of it.

But for every super fine pen I've received in the mail that fits the bill, there's another that seemed busted or dull at the tip. This downgrades it to a simple "fine" version of the pen. And that's not what I have in mind. There doesn't seem to be any way to guarantee this won't happen. Fortunately, they're inexpensive for such a fine pen. When I bought more, I did it in bulk just to heighten my chances of getting the fine tip I hoped for. It's simple dice-rolling.

If you've bought said pens and never had this problem, I'm happy for you. But at the same time I'm really jealous. I have no idea what you do differently to avoid this problem. D:

Excellent pen. Glaring detail lost in the shuffle. 5/5 for when it works. 2/5 when it doesn't.

1 person found this helpful
theashenge
 
November 20, 2014
I'm really enjoying this...
Verified Purchase
I'm really enjoying this simple brush pen; especially for non-everyday envelopes.

furthermorepress
 
November 13, 2014
I got this just to try...
Verified Purchase
I got this just to try it out, and I absolutely love it. Its so much fun to write with.

 
November 11, 2014
It's wonderful to have...
Verified Purchase
It's wonderful to have this size.

terrygarrett763