My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (22 customer reviews)
Write Review
13 out of 13 people found the following review helpful
  What makes the Zebras..., November 3, 2011
What makes the Zebras a step above my previous favorite Uniball brush pen is the mere fact that they are re-usable!
All I did to mine was remove the back cover, tap out the sponge reservoir and drop some PERMANENT ink into the sponge with a dropper (took just about 5 drops to really saturate it) and the pen was back in action with the added bonus of permanent ink!!
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  This pen has successfully..., March 20, 2013
By annjob
This pen has successfully replaced my whole set of sakura microns at a fraction of the cost! No longer do I have to switch between pens to get line variation, rather, with a simple flick of my arm I can get a beautiful tapered line! I have also noticed no bleeding which combined with the fact that it appears to be completely waterproof, makes this pen a keeper!

Unfortunately my review isn't all praises. After a bit of use I found that the tip has worn down quite a bit, but that is to be expected of a disposable pen. The pen also isn't the best to sketch with due to the fact that the ink doesn't seem to flow fast enough for me. This also means that it probably isn't the best pen to take notes with for all you journalists out there looking to buy a nice pen.Finally, I have found that none of the Zebra Brush Pens could compare to a real brush, so if you are looking for a pen to replicate that feeling for calligraphy I would go with a pentel pocket brush pen. This pen has however filled a nice little niche as my go to pen for more detailed work and for lettering!

All in all, I will definitely be buying this pen again. At 2.50 a piece it is a steal!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This is easily the best..., March 29, 2008
This is easily the best ever drawing pen [sort of a felt tip brush pen] that I have ever used. And I have used many different types, from France, Germany, Japan etc. This one is the mother of all drawing pens. Can also be used for other stuff such as caligraphy and any work where you need variation of line. Easily can go from thin to thicker line. Perfect for comics, manga etc. Hobby. This pen is a secret by many artists who ordered it via 'special' connections from Japan and now available finally on JetPens. BTW, all other brush pens from Zebra are great and I use them all but this one is used the most together with fine and medium one completes a perfect set for drawing.

Highly recommended.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
   PROS Nice..., April 20, 2012
By vec...


PROS

Nice flow of ink

Perfect for making characters/drawing

I like the glittery blue body

Affordable :)

Disposable

CONS

If you draw a line too fast for the brush it could easily fade as you press on the paper

A bit gritty when you press on paper

Overall worth the affordable price and enjoy using it



1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  One big problem. Unfortunately..., January 25, 2012
By the...
One big problem. Unfortunately, it's a big one.

When these pens are good, they're really good. They get the strokes finer than I can with the sharpest lead, and that's absolutely incredible. And vital, once you come to expect that of it.

But for every super fine pen I've received in the mail that fits the bill, there's another that seemed busted or dull at the tip. This downgrades it to a simple "fine" version of the pen. And that's not what I have in mind. There doesn't seem to be any way to guarantee this won't happen. Fortunately, they're inexpensive for such a fine pen. When I bought more, I did it in bulk just to heighten my chances of getting the fine tip I hoped for. It's simple dice-rolling.

If you've bought said pens and never had this problem, I'm happy for you. But at the same time I'm really jealous. I have no idea what you do differently to avoid this problem. D:

Excellent pen. Glaring detail lost in the shuffle. 5/5 for when it works. 2/5 when it doesn't.
4 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  MY FAVORITE BRUSH PEN..., March 8, 2011
MY FAVORITE BRUSH PEN FOR COMICS AND ILLUSTRATION. I AM A PRO COMIC BOOK ARTIST & ILLUSTRATOR. THE "FINE" AND "EXTRA FINE" ZEBRA BRUSH SIGN PENS HAVE BECOME MY MAIN INKING TOOL. THE TIPS OF THESE "SUPER FINE" ZEBRAS ARE SO STURDY AND RESPONSIVE THAT I USE THEM FOR DETAILS THAT I USED TO DO WITH A CROWQUILL PENS! (PS- A FEW "TIPS" FOR SOME OF THE OTHER REVIEWS: 1) I ALMOST NEVER HAVE TROUBLE WITH THE TIPS FRAYING, BUT ON RARE OCCASIONS WHEN I DO I FIND THAT SIMPLY DOING SOME "ROLLING" BRUSH STROKES ACROSS A SHEET OF SCRAP PAPER WILL USUALLY PUT THINGS BACK IN ORDER. 2) IF INK SEEMS TO BE SLOW OR THE TIPS DRY, I DIP THEM IN WATER OR A FEW SECONDS, DRY OFF ANY EXCESS WATER, DO A FEW PRACTICE STROKES ON SCRAP TO MAKE SURE ALL THE WATER IS GONE, AND THEN TRY AGAIN. IT USUALLY WORKS.) PS- THE GRAY INK VERSION IS AMAZING FOR HALF-TONE WORK, BUT SADLY ARE NO LONGER SEEM TO BE AVAILABLE FROM JET PENS.

ASIDE TO JET PENS: PLEASE (!!!) MAKE THE THE GRAY INK "FINE" VERSION AVAILABLE AGAIN IF POSSIBLE! I CAME TO DEPEND ON THEM FOR MY HALF-TONE WORK AND MISS THEM MUCH! THE KURETAKE GRAYS ARE GOOD, BUT THE COLOR OF THE ZEBRAS WAS MUCH MORE PLEASING AND VERSATILE.)
  I bought two Zebras along..., March 19, 2014
I bought two Zebras along with two each of Sailor and Kuretake brush pens. In order, I preferred the Sailors most of all with the Kuretakes least.

These Zebras, fine and super-fine, have a nice stroke compared to the Kuretake's scratchy line, but has a similar grey/thin ink.

If jetpens are out of Sailor pens, I would get these Zebras as alternatives.

These are used for drawing, not writing.
  Great variation of line,..., October 18, 2013
Great variation of line, nice tip, and feather-free ink. I love it for the price, too, and it's perfect for my Chinese homework.
  Boss! I recived my..., June 3, 2012
Boss!

I recived my Zebra Brush Pen yesterday and it is a good brush pen. Almost everything about the pen is awesome exept for one thing: after a few times writing with this pen, the ink is almost dead. I'll try to order more.
  I really liked how it..., December 10, 2011
I really liked how it can be so professional and so cheap at the same time! Awesome brush pen.
  Very nice pen. It makes..., July 27, 2011
By ang...
Very nice pen. It makes everything I write look much sharper and crisper. I get compliments on my handwriting. I have not had any trouble with streaking.
  Perfect for line variation..., May 16, 2011
Perfect for line variation and such. Kinda looks dry and rough if you make a mark too fast. Maybe it's just the pen I got. It's really really great for it's price though! I almost spent $20 for a pen similar to this one!
  It's got a lovely tip..., March 5, 2011
By emily
It's got a lovely tip and is really easy to control. It dries up a little, very quickly, so you have to draw slowly with it after the first few days of using it. Still a really nice pen, though. My favorite. _3
  This pen has a sturdy..., February 25, 2011
This pen has a sturdy tip that doesn't get bent out of shape. The ink is dark and smooth, and doesn't streak at all. I found it to be superior to the Kuretake disposable sign pen, and you can't beat the price!
  A very fun pen =] The..., August 1, 2010
By ilu...
A very fun pen =] The ink seems blacker than the brush pens by Kuretake and Tombow. The line width is very flexible and easy to control. Good pen, I'm buying more later!
  Love the colour, for..., June 19, 2010
By ipf...
Love the colour, for the price, hey, what the heck? Buy this!

Very sturdy while writing...
  This is a pretty sturdy..., May 26, 2010
This is a pretty sturdy brush pen. I use this mainly for drawing. However, one thing I don't like is that it sometimes comes out scratchy or...bordered. Overall, I like this pen. I bought a spare in case the one I'm using runs out.
  I'm using this since..., October 1, 2009
I'm using this since years now after I found them in Japan. After trying literally hundreds of pens this is the one I stuck with. It creates a great line - it allows perfect control over the line width, by being a bit firmer than other brush pens.
Additionally it is good for transporting in a pocket - it never runs out (just sometimes the ink gets very fluid, I have not figured out why yet). It's perfect if you're learning Japanese writing - learning a nice style and stroke order will come more natural to you.
Only drawback is that the tip quality goes down fast - especially the very fine top and fluidy goes away fast - you have to switch every month or so (depending on the use of course). A more durable tip would make this the perfect pen.
  This pen is great for..., August 4, 2009
By k454ix
This pen is great for artists!! It has a nice firmness that allows for lots of control, but has much range in line weight. I definitely recommend this for others who love to work in ink and get tired of making 'artificial' line weight with pigment liners.
  Pros: I love Zebra and..., April 7, 2009
Pros: I love Zebra and I love brushes so this one's a no-brainer. I use it daily for sketching (along w/ the medium weight version), writing, even sign checks with it. The felt nib is firm and bends nicely under pressure, it'll lay down anything from a thin scratch to a rich black ribbon. Be aware that this brush differs significantly from nylon-tipped brushes which are softer and more painterly. Pen construction is solid, stylish, and durable. You will lose it before it breaks / runs out.

Cons: After heavy usage the nib will soften semi-permanently, creating wetter, heavier lines. Pen is still very usable at that point, I keep them around in case I need something between Super Fine and Medium.

Verict: True workhorse. Perfect for dynamic line drawings and sketches.
Grade: A+
  This is the best pen..., October 3, 2008
By don
This is the best pen I have ever used for writing Asian characters! It's very much like using a tiny brush, and the line variation is incredible, from extra fine to quite broad. Actually, you have to take care not to press too hard, because you can easily make the lines broader than you might expect for such a fine point.
  this pen is the bomb...., September 24, 2008
By kc
this pen is the bomb. I haven\'t messed with anything else since I got this pen, it\'s perfect for tight, small work, like comics, which I do a lot of. I really can\'t recommend this pen enough!! I LOVE THIS PEN