JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 20, 2012
Great pen for the price....
Verified Purchase
Great pen for the price. Even better with the 7401 space mod.

402:
-Buy the ballpoint 701 (2 if allowed) as well as the dual pack of Zebra 402 pens (black fine dual pack is all zebra sells). The all stainless clicker from the 402 fits the 701 perfectly.
-Remove all insides, and put both - body only - in refrigerator for a bit, to cool metal/plastic. Then use a lighter to warm the clicker assembly (you can see the line where assembly of body and clicker meet...heat 2-3" from flame as you rotate along that seam). 20 seconds tops should be fine, then twist with a rag over or let it cool and use hands. The pen clip is free rotating around the assembly which has the threading, so don't rotate the clip thinking its coming off. Try to grip rite on the clicker side of joining seam and rotate, pair of needle nose pliers help if needed just use a pad so you don't scratch metal.
-Replace one assembly for the other, and choose which pocket clip you want (I went with the 402's because it was clean, no branding or markings). Take note that one clicker spring is longer than the other, I tested both in each, all felt the exact same.
-The tips can also be swapped but the 402's doesn't meet the gnurled metal grip cleanly like the stock 701 tip.

space:
-Buy a Fisher PR Series space pen refill of your choosing.
-Remove stock ink, leave the spring (both springs work but I choose to use stock with space pen refill)
-Unscrew tip of 7401, inside is a plastic cone shaped bushing for the ink cartridge's point. You need to remove it for modification to ensure smooth clicking action with space refill. I used a small screwdriver, twisted a little bit with friction, pulled out and the bushing came along for ride. Once out, I trimmed the tip by the width of a toothpick (pressed down on a table with a knife, clean cut). Take this part slow, go little bit at a time because you want smooth fluid action with support. Too little, and point with stick mid action. Too much, would result in possible movement of cartridge point while writing due to lack of point support.
-You can adjust the spring of the clicking action by trimming the spring that supports the ink cartridge. Only trim rings from one side, leave a double ring finished edge. I cut off the double ring from one side, then went down 1 more ring using clippers. When you assemble, always have the finished side of spring down.
-Assemble all the parts

= the 7401, engineered happiness, and my new edc ballpoint.

*pictured tutorials exist on forms/blogs, just google 'zebra 701 mod'. This was just a synthesized textual form with some specifics I did not read in the others.


3 people found this helpful
johnpaul7
 
November 28, 2012
The Zebra F-701 has been...
The Zebra F-701 has been my favorite EDC pen for a long time. It has a solid stainless steel build, feels great in the hand due to the knurling at the grip and the good balance, and the ink never skips. I own two of them. One is in my sales kit that I take with me out in the field and the other fits into the penloop of my Filofax Malden Organizer. For the price, you can't beat the quality.

2 people found this helpful
 
December 29, 2011
prior to posting, i read...
Verified Purchase
prior to posting, i read the provious reviews.. um, people, what, EXACTLY, do you expect for five dollars and thirty cents, huh? what you get is a well made pen that so closely resembles a Lamy it's erie! (for 10 times the cost!) like, the reviews I saw posted should be reserved for $300+ pens from Cross or Waterman.. not an inexpensive pen, that is well made, and appears to cost more than it does!

2 people found this helpful
wlarrydac
 
December 18, 2013
Here's why the ring is...
Verified Purchase
Here's why the ring is plastic:
There is a good reason that the folks at Zebra used a black plastic ring on the F701 instead of the stainless ring used on the previous F402. The stainless ring of the F402 does look better; however, it causes a subtle but unpleasant screeching sound and vibration when the clicker is depressed. Only the user will hear and feel it, but it's a very mild fingernails-on-chalkboard effect. By contrast, the plastic ring on the F701 creates a very smooth and luxurious effect.

Ok, this is a small detail, but it's distinctly noticeable. I used to carry the F301. When the F402 first came out, I was excited that it looked more premium than the F301. However, I noticed the grinding of metal on the first click. When the F701 came out, I was pleased to see the switch to plastic.


1 person found this helpful
 
August 21, 2013
Great pen, great fit...
Verified Purchase
Great pen, great fit and finish, the knurling on the grip is crisp and clean and provides excellent grip. Unlike other reviews, I actually like the black "ring" on the end. However, it's not a ring, it's the top half of the clicker assembly and extends down into the barrel of the pen .695" (or 17.6mm) I like the contrast the black "ring" gives to the brushed stainless, I liked the contrast enough that I added a thin black spacer to the other end between the tip and knurled grip.

1 person found this helpful
ericdonald01
 
March 23, 2013
Really Great Pen! Writes...
Verified Purchase
Really Great Pen! Writes smoothly and the grip is comfortable believe it or not. The stainless steel does get streaky after awhile though so you are going to want to clean every now and again. All in all a really good pen!

1 person found this helpful
jackbischoff12
 
December 19, 2011
I love this pen. The...
I love this pen. The weight, grip, look, and click action are all superb. The clip works great for me, though it's no Sarasa magic.

As it comes, the pen would garner a 4 star rating from me. I'm not keen on Zebra's F refill, though it's actually one of the better ballpoints in my experience.

However, with a little bit of fidgeting you can make a Hi-Tec-C Slim Knock refill work in this body. With that combination, this pen is unstoppable.


1 person found this helpful
arcarsenal
 
June 15, 2011
Fantastic value. The...
Fantastic value. The body is a solid cylinder and the knurled grip is etched - no more peeling rubber like I've had happen with the F402. The pen is highly polished in person, which makes it really stand out looped into a book or in the hand. It's also a good median diameter, not too skinny but not fat, either, at least for me. Zebra refills are second only to the Pilot "A" oil-based inks for smoothness and reliability.

1 person found this helpful
johnlmiller
 
November 13, 2014
I've used this pen for...
I've used this pen for 3 years and adore its heaviness, machined body, balance, and appearance. I almost always prefer a finer, more consistent line but will gladly accept the the thicker, less smooth line of this pen because it feels write. Your fingers balance on the knurled grip and do not budge. The metal sits against the skin pleasantly as you write. It looks like and acts like a precision tool, I'd give it 5 stars if only it wrote like one.

takaratiki
 
July 14, 2014
Nice pen, but even better...
Nice pen, but even better with a little modification. As a previous reviewer mentioned, you can tweak the F-701 to use Fisher refills, which is a nice touch as the Fisher ink will write anywhere. The pen itself is a great deal for 6 or 7 bucks, and you can usually find them at your local office supply stores. The pen looks great, the knurled grip is a nice touch, and the weight is good, especially for such an affordable pen. I am a big fan of stainless steel pens, and the 701 is rugged enough to be a great every day carry pen. I usually keep mine in the car, especially since I use Fisher ink refills in it, which are pressurized, and will not leak or fail to write in extreme heat or cold temperatures. Overall a nice pen, and a great deal for the price.

dazedkraut