JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 22, 2012
Okay, I've had this pen...
Verified Purchase
Okay, I've had this pen for just about three years now (in particular the Sharbo X ST3 All Black). I stopped by today to purchase another pen and decided to read some of the reviews on the site. For starters, my clip is made out of metal, I'm not sure why someone else would have a plastic clip unless Zebra decided to stop selling them with a metal clip. Secondly, if you have a problem with placing the "position" of the rotating barrel then come up with another solution. Last time I checked, a pencil is not going to leak. It might poke a hole in a cheap bookbag or fabric case, but it's certainly not going to leak. Here is another thought. I have my Sharbo X configured with a gel pen, pencil, and stylus. Put the pen in the stylus position if you are worried about leakage. Personally, I've positioned by pen in the "in between" position probably hundreds of times and it has never inadvertently grown a mind of it's own and slipped into the gel pen position. It would be really cool if it was a Transformer, but I think those features are reserved for automobiles, planes, and other vehicles. To alleviate that possibility, put it in the "in between" position near the pencil and stylus (if you chose to do so). Just saying.

Otherwise, the pen is absolutely perfect. I haven't experienced chipping of paint, major "flaws", or any other "issues" as outlined in some of the other reviews and I've been a pen aficianado for over thirty years. Many reviewers haven't even mentioned that the screw on cap has a rubber tip that works with some LCD screens. I've used mine on a Panasonic Toughbook to make selections on the screen.


3 people found this helpful
t3chn0g33x
 
December 10, 2010
Great pen, but be advised:...
Verified Purchase
Great pen, but be advised: it goes through refills quickly. I swear, the gel refills lasted about a week. The ball points seem to run out quickly, too. If you buy it, consider getting extra refills when you place your order.

Having said that, there really isn't all that much that you can compare this to. The Cross tripen might work for some people, but this is a bit more hefty. And where else do you get to pick your ink colors?

1 person found this helpful
ted.jaditz
 
August 23, 2010
great pen. diameter is...
Verified Purchase
great pen. diameter is great for my (x)large hands and zebra ink is always nice and smooth.
a few things i'd change:
1. grippier coating
2. maybe make it even wider in diameter
3. in addition to #2, i'd add a "stop" click
4. same materials in terms of construction as the LT3 series, with the brass construction and whatnot.

1 person found this helpful
kenthenoob
 
January 2, 2010
This is a really nice...
Verified Purchase
This is a really nice multi-pen. I am not a big multi-pen person - I am just not that creative with colors when I write. However, the concept of having a florescent underliner, nice fine point gel pen, and .3 pencil for reading and note taking seemed like an awesome concept - and it works really really well for that. I only have only a few concerns:

1. For a 45 dollar pen, it seems like the clip should be made of metal, but this is not. It is plastic and does not strike me as sturdy at all and does not have much give either. I am a little afraid to clip it to anything because it seems easy to snap off. A little disappointing that I can't clip it to the cover of a book with much efficacy.

2. I use a separate eraser when I am really working anyway, but the cap seems like it could get threaded very very easy and the eraser wears out fast.

3. I would order other led for the .3 refill as it is not very strong. Also, the florescent pink is darker than i had though and cannot highlight well... but the ball point pink or light green both work wonderfully.

1 person found this helpful
maryjuliajett
 
June 27, 2009
This pen has a nice solid...
Verified Purchase
This pen has a nice solid fee and is nicely balance. The rotating mechanism works smoothly. The cap for the eraser has a real fine thread, so it might be easy to cross thread if you are not careful. It also could be easy to lose.

Like all Zebras, the 0.5 refills write a smooth line, but strangely for a "full length" pen, the refills are only 2.5 inches long.

Be careful when ordering...this is a pencil and two pens (or I pen and a stylus). I thought the pencil was optional and could hold two pens and a stylus. No points off because I didn't read correctly, but just so you know.

1 person found this helpful
 
June 15, 2011
Awesome pen!!! Never...
Verified Purchase
Awesome pen!!! Never need another pen again, just lots of refills...;)

 
April 22, 2011
Great looking pen and...
Verified Purchase
Great looking pen and pretty comfortable. I do NOT recommend that 0.4mm refiles! They are so fine that you feel you are scratching the paper. I didn't find thicker refiles here so I don't use this pen at all.

michakaufman
 
February 27, 2011
I bought this pen a little...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen a little over a year ago and have used it enough to write a sound and unbiased review.

When I first got the pen I was super excited. It really was great at first. It\'s sleek and slim design was something to behold. The pen refills were cool. The mechanical pencil component was even cooler. The pen writes like an expensive pen, flawless. Never skips. It was just great. It really wowed me at first.

However...

A major flaw:
There was one thing I noticed right away that I didn\'t like. There is no \"off\" position on this pen. You have to set the twist mechanism in between the slashes on the barrel so that none of the ballpoints of any of the pens, are protruding from the barrel\'s end. When set in between the slashes, there is no assurance at all that it will stay that way if just dropped in your book bag and not stored in a pencil case (which is where I stored mine). I still worried it would come loose and stain my pencil case. I didn\'t want this major flaw (In my humble opinion) to get in the way of our new love affair together, but it did. I used it in class for a while and then just put it in my safe. I was worried that it would become damaged and I wasn\'t going to replace it because of how much it cost me. Which leads me to my other point.

The price:
Really? Plus the price of refills? After having a year to think this over, I have come to the conclusion that the price is simply outrageous for what you get. I understand why it costs so much. I\'ve searched the internet up and down and even e-mailed Zebra here in America and have found no one sells this pen in America but Jetpens. There ya go. I could be wrong. I\'ve seen them on ebay before but they were marked up because once again, no one in the USA sells them.

Conclusion:
Don\'t get me wrong. It\'s a seriously cool pen.

Not for $+ dollars though.

The pen is probably worth $25 at best WITH pen/pencil components. I base this price on the idea that if I saw someone using it and I had never seen it online before; if they wanted to sell it, I wouldn\'t give them more that $25 for it. I never use mine anymore. I just get mad when I can\'t put it in an off position. Unfortunately, two stars from me. Sorry Jetpens, I still love your great service and other products you sell.

An alternative: I have fallen in love with the Jetstream 4+1 multi pen. I have two and use them in every class. For only $15 dollars I can replace them no problem. They write just as good if not better than the sharbo X.

3 people found this helpful
chrisbstanley