JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 7, 2010
I've been using this...
Verified Purchase
I've been using this pencil for a while now and I love it.
The weight feels just right in my hand and it write very smoothly. I sometimes forget the 'Shaker' feature and forget to use it, but its a neat feature to the pencil...

MY only teeny gripe with the pencil is the whole eraser mechanism is kinda weak....there is a lot of play in the mechanism holding the eraser. When I try to erase something, the eraser just isn't sturdy, it wobbles a lot and I end up having to eraser harder. In the end I just dig out my Art Gum and keep that handy instead of using the pencil's eraser. I'm assuming this is happening because of the 'Shaker' feature, but I could be wrong.
OTHER then that, the pencil feels very durable, comfortable and i like the orange color alot, I just ordered another one today...=)

4 people found this helpful
samantha_lynn86
 
February 23, 2013
GET MORE!!!! I bought...
Verified Purchase
GET MORE!!!!

I bought this pencil a while ago when I was in Japan. I paid about $12 and fell in love with it. Easy to use, functions well. Nice grip, and weighted perfectly. Sadly mine was ruined when something spilled in it. I really want another one but every time I come here it is sold out. Get some more in stock so I can buy it!!!

2 people found this helpful
derek.walls
 
October 5, 2010
This pencil is very good...
Verified Purchase
This pencil is very good to hold- during the class, I can write as twice as much of notes than usual. The balance is really good. As one reviewer noted, the shaker is kinda weird. You do have to shake it strong so that the lead comes out. There's apparently a way to make a lead go out easier using the shaker thingy. I found that if you hold it parallel to the floor and shake it right-left, then the lead advances better than when the pencil is in perpendicular position to the floor which is truly weird 0_o . When you erase with the pencil be sure not to break the lead that came out from the pencil, cause once I was erasing stuff and I saw a 1.5 inch lead pointing out- thanks to my care, I didn't break the lead. The button is VERY easy to press. I haven't had such a soft button on my pencil in my life.

Overall the pencil is perfect, except the shaker, which has to be modified.

1 person found this helpful
 
June 9, 2010
Cool pencil with some...
Verified Purchase
Cool pencil with some nice surprises.

The Shaker mechanism I was disappointed with, you really have to shake this thing hard, I was hoping some light shakes by the paper would get me some lead, so that you could virtually just keep writing, but you do really need to give it a good shake (could be dangerous in the wrong hands :D or if there are other people around you)

That being said, you can just use the lead advance which is ULTRA smooth, I mean its like feather touch and youve got lead, I have not experienced a pencil that was that easy to click, and the ergonomics of the clicker is a welcome change from the standard lead advance.

Lock feature is nice and it has a hefty weight to it, my only complaint is that the shaker feature is pretty useless (sorry, its just not practical) and the looks are not the best for me. I prefer the Staetler 925-05 however I do like the weight and fatter grip of this pencil more, I just keep going back to that 925-05.

This however is a very nice pencil

1 person found this helpful
 
February 8, 2009
I've been using this...
Verified Purchase
I've been using this pencil for a few days now, and its become a fav very quickly. Outside of aesthetic qualities, the shaker feature is simply fun, and the weight is perfect. The lock feature is very useful, but id easily would trade it for a retractable guide/nib.

1 person found this helpful
 
August 15, 2014
Wow! Didn't realize a...
Verified Purchase
Wow! Didn't realize a pencil could be so nice..

 
February 23, 2011
I would definitely reach...
I would definitely reach for a Pentel p205 before this pencil, unless I wanted to show off the shaker function. Although for shakers, there are cheaper and better pencils. Unless you are into the whole front heavy thing, then here's the front heavy drafting pencil with shaker function that you always wanted! Except that too much lead comes out when I shake it once. My girlfriend thinks its cool so I gave it to her. Meh.

1 person found this helpful
hueycobrahueycobra
 
November 23, 2010
I have to change my review...
Verified Purchase
I have to change my review to 5 stars!!

This pencil is way better than I initially thought. Its extremely comfortable and after it sat around for a while, I picked it up and have been using it ever since, its just comfortable to hold and use. The look still is a bit funky, but functionality makes up for it, and I still love the clicker lead advance on this pencil, so smooth you will not find a better lead advance.

I think I may have to purchase a few more of these.

 
January 24, 2009
"Freedom of choice! The...
"Freedom of choice! The Tect 2way is the first drafting pencil of its kind to offer BOTH a shaker AND a click lead extension function!"

No so, unless the Pilot Shaker Pencil H-1010 is newer than the Zebra. I had a Pilot Shaker well over15 years ago! I don't think that the Zebra is that old!

hartzog2000
 
December 10, 2010
I hate this pencil. I...
Verified Purchase
I hate this pencil. I really do. I would give it a one star, but I gave it to my sister and she liked it, so I think it's only fair I give it a neutral review.

First off, if balance is important to you, DONT BUY THIS PENCIL. It's extremely bottom heavy around the grip. Go for the DelFul instead in you want a move balanced shaker. It's not as thin but it's a much better experience. Balance is important to me because I like spinning my pencil, and where I can do sonic combos everytime with balanced pens and pencils, I can't do so with this pencil.

If you can get over that, the clip placement is odd (as you can see in the picture)- not really a big deal, and the push top doesn't click, which I like, since it gives a responsive feeling to it. Also, the shaking mechanism is not as easy as the DelFul.

dcdanielchen27