JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.1 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
February 1, 2013
Bought the pen, then...
Verified Purchase
Bought the pen, then read the review. Did have the initial inkflow problem, but have experienced this before with steel nibs, so decided to 'run it in'. This meant a couple of minutes trying to write on rough paper. No problems with inkflow thereafter, and writes well.

However, decided that a converter was required because of the cost of Zebra cartridges and no substitute cartridges that fitted. Found that a Parker (deluxe version) converter did the job. The cost of these is well above the pen, but a better option than cartridges.

Reasonable value for the price. The pen cost v cartridge cost equation doesn't cut it though.

1 person found this helpful
 
November 15, 2014
@ farmerr: Thank you...
Verified Purchase
@ farmerr: Thank you very much for your tip (Parker Deluxe converter). First when I inserted the cartridge I had the inkflow problem. I rinsed the pen with water - and the problem continued. There come some ink and then an abrupt failure during operation and so on. Then I inserted the converter, rinsed the feed completely with ink, inserted the cartridge again and since then the inkflow problem is gone. Now it's a nice little (student) pen.

irminarichter
 
July 18, 2013
i wrote a review yesterday...
Verified Purchase
i wrote a review yesterday and asked a question-which i have answered for myself! if you are a fountain pen user you may have tried to run a piece of thin paper between the nib and the part that's under it (?) to clear it. you also probably know that the paper fibers can get jammed up in there and cause more problems.
while ordering field notes memo books (expedition), which are made with waterproof paper, i realized that i have on hand the same thing that i use for outside work. by gently slipping a corner or clean edge under the nib and sliding it across i can get ink flow in about a second! no more scratching on scraps or bad words because my pen won't work. i keep it under my keyboard so i can just prime up my pen anytime-very handy and easy.
if you don't happen to have waterproof paper hanging around you might try a slip of tyvec-like fedex and other mail pouches are made of.
i hope this helps anyone who has experienced the frustration of their favorite pen behaving badly. blessings!

 
July 17, 2013
i really like this pen-when...
Verified Purchase
i really like this pen-when the ink gets moving, i can write forever with it. because of it's light weight, smooth barrel and crazy good value (so i don't have to get too upset if it gets lost or stolen) i keep at it-but would REALLY appreciate anyone's tips on getting that sweet spot primed up a little bit easier. my desk is covered with scraps of paper with scrathes and swirls-attempts to prime my little pen. ;)

 
February 27, 2013
I have used fountain...
Verified Purchase
I have used fountain pens in the past and I am glad to find some not so expensive, Love them.

 
October 19, 2012
I am writing a review...
I am writing a review for a $3.50 pen!

My experience so far? Fine! The pen took the cartridge easily, ink found it's way to the nib in short time, and I never saw any skips. I do not like the hard push and pull required by the snap-on cap, and the finish on the clip and plastic parts is third-rate.

It writes with a medium line, wet ink, and the lines are water-resistant.

I plan on having this pen around as a give-away, or as a FP for the car. Should be easily re-fillable.

I just wrote a review for a $3.50 pen!


MFranznick
 
July 1, 2011
This pens have a serious...
Verified Purchase
This pens have a serious ink flow problem

woodrough77
 
May 24, 2011
My friend gave me one...
My friend gave me one of these pens. He'd bought three and had trouble trying to get the ink to flow adequately. I took it home and flushed with dilute soap solution, like I normally do with new pens to flush out any manufacturing residue. After a thorough rinse and drying, I installed the ink cartridge.

Likewise, I couldn't get the ink to flow. Nothing but a faint line of ink would show. I even left it standing nib end down for a couple of hours, and the ink still wouldn't flow.

It looks like a nice pen for the price, but I can't recommend it. The Platinum Preppy delivers more reliable and better service than this. The other Zebra pens work well, but this one doesn't. Sorry.

ikeharaw001
 
October 28, 2012
bought one of these on...
bought one of these on impulse at the drugstore checkout, don't repeat my mistake!

codymledford