1 - 10 of 15 |  | 
Bought the pen, then...
February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase
Bought the pen, then read the review. Did have the initial inkflow problem, but have experienced this before with steel nibs, so decided to 'run it in'. This meant a couple of minutes trying to write on rough paper. No problems with inkflow thereafter, and writes well.

However, decided that a converter was required because of the cost of Zebra cartridges and no substitute cartridges that fitted. Found that a Parker (deluxe version) converter did the job. The cost of these is well above the pen, but a better option than cartridges.

Reasonable value for the price. The pen cost v cartridge cost equation doesn't cut it though.
3 people found this helpful
Yes, I too experienced...
March 14, 2015
Verified Purchase
Yes, I too experienced the mysterious end to the initially promising ink flow. I too figured I had wasted the $3 i spent on this pen. But then i figured out a little trick -- writing with the nib upside down always worked and seemed to get the pen flowing normally after a minute or so. My reward for sticking with this little guy is that it now writes perfectly immediately, even if it's been sitting unused for days.
2 people found this helpful
This was a risky pen...
July 23, 2015
Verified Purchase
This was a risky pen to buy. Many reviewer online complain about the on-and-off again luck of getting a working Zebra V-301. I've had good luck with the Black ink version, but this one hasn't worked. If I store it cap down, I can get some ink, perhaps a line or three, but then it dries up. Which is a pity because the color, flow and drying time of the ink are great. So I will probably try again in the future, or simply find a pen that will use the Zebra Cartridge.
1 person found this helpful
I'm an avid fountain...
May 23, 2015
Verified Purchase
I'm an avid fountain pen collector, and really was just curious about this cheap fountain pen. Well, I got what I paid for. The nib is quite scratchy, the feed is very dry, the pen skips a lot. Basically unusable unless you want to spend some time getting it in decent shape. I may do that at some point to see what happens
1 person found this helpful
Southern Pen Diva
I cannot get this fountain...
March 22, 2015
Verified Purchase
I cannot get this fountain pen to work--very skippy and I have to constantly open it and dip the nib in the ink of the cartridge. Disappointing.
1 person found this helpful
I was so pleased to stumble...
November 13, 2015
Verified Purchase
I was so pleased to stumble across the Zebra V-301 fountain pen. I own both pink and yellow Zebra H-301 highlighters and I love the look of the stainless steel body. The matching stainless steel fountain pen seemed like a no-brainer. But my fountain pen doesn't work. I wrote to JetPens and got some good advice for getting the pen to work--they warm soak business. And it worked for awhile. And then it stopped again. So I checked the nib, and drew the paper, and soaked again, and...finally gave up. Beautiful pen. But I expect a pen to work--even at this price point.
@ farmerr: Thank you...
November 15, 2014
Verified Purchase
@ farmerr: Thank you very much for your tip (Parker Deluxe converter). First when I inserted the cartridge I had the inkflow problem. I rinsed the pen with water - and the problem continued. There come some ink and then an abrupt failure during operation and so on. Then I inserted the converter, rinsed the feed completely with ink, inserted the cartridge again and since then the inkflow problem is gone. Now it's a nice little (student) pen.
i wrote a review yesterday...
July 18, 2013
Verified Purchase
i wrote a review yesterday and asked a question-which i have answered for myself! if you are a fountain pen user you may have tried to run a piece of thin paper between the nib and the part that's under it (?) to clear it. you also probably know that the paper fibers can get jammed up in there and cause more problems.
while ordering field notes memo books (expedition), which are made with waterproof paper, i realized that i have on hand the same thing that i use for outside work. by gently slipping a corner or clean edge under the nib and sliding it across i can get ink flow in about a second! no more scratching on scraps or bad words because my pen won't work. i keep it under my keyboard so i can just prime up my pen anytime-very handy and easy.
if you don't happen to have waterproof paper hanging around you might try a slip of tyvec-like fedex and other mail pouches are made of.
i hope this helps anyone who has experienced the frustration of their favorite pen behaving badly. blessings!
i really like this pen-when...
July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase
i really like this pen-when the ink gets moving, i can write forever with it. because of it's light weight, smooth barrel and crazy good value (so i don't have to get too upset if it gets lost or stolen) i keep at it-but would REALLY appreciate anyone's tips on getting that sweet spot primed up a little bit easier. my desk is covered with scraps of paper with scrathes and swirls-attempts to prime my little pen. ;)
I have used fountain...
February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase
I have used fountain pens in the past and I am glad to find some not so expensive, Love them.
1 - 10 of 15 |  |