1 - 10 of 13 |  | 
Bought the pen, then...
February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase
Bought the pen, then read the review. Did have the initial inkflow problem, but have experienced this before with steel nibs, so decided to 'run it in'. This meant a couple of minutes trying to write on rough paper. No problems with inkflow thereafter, and writes well.

However, decided that a converter was required because of the cost of Zebra cartridges and no substitute cartridges that fitted. Found that a Parker (deluxe version) converter did the job. The cost of these is well above the pen, but a better option than cartridges.

Reasonable value for the price. The pen cost v cartridge cost equation doesn't cut it though.
2 people found this helpful
Yes, I too experienced...
March 14, 2015
Verified Purchase
Yes, I too experienced the mysterious end to the initially promising ink flow. I too figured I had wasted the $3 i spent on this pen. But then i figured out a little trick -- writing with the nib upside down always worked and seemed to get the pen flowing normally after a minute or so. My reward for sticking with this little guy is that it now writes perfectly immediately, even if it's been sitting unused for days.
1 person found this helpful
I'm an avid fountain...
May 23, 2015
Verified Purchase
I'm an avid fountain pen collector, and really was just curious about this cheap fountain pen. Well, I got what I paid for. The nib is quite scratchy, the feed is very dry, the pen skips a lot. Basically unusable unless you want to spend some time getting it in decent shape. I may do that at some point to see what happens
Very smooth ink....
March 30, 2015
Verified Purchase
Very smooth ink.
I cannot get this fountain...
March 22, 2015
Verified Purchase
I cannot get this fountain pen to work--very skippy and I have to constantly open it and dip the nib in the ink of the cartridge. Disappointing.
robin.lynn.smith
@ farmerr: Thank you...
November 15, 2014
Verified Purchase
@ farmerr: Thank you very much for your tip (Parker Deluxe converter). First when I inserted the cartridge I had the inkflow problem. I rinsed the pen with water - and the problem continued. There come some ink and then an abrupt failure during operation and so on. Then I inserted the converter, rinsed the feed completely with ink, inserted the cartridge again and since then the inkflow problem is gone. Now it's a nice little (student) pen.
irminarichter
i wrote a review yesterday...
July 18, 2013
Verified Purchase
i wrote a review yesterday and asked a question-which i have answered for myself! if you are a fountain pen user you may have tried to run a piece of thin paper between the nib and the part that's under it (?) to clear it. you also probably know that the paper fibers can get jammed up in there and cause more problems.
while ordering field notes memo books (expedition), which are made with waterproof paper, i realized that i have on hand the same thing that i use for outside work. by gently slipping a corner or clean edge under the nib and sliding it across i can get ink flow in about a second! no more scratching on scraps or bad words because my pen won't work. i keep it under my keyboard so i can just prime up my pen anytime-very handy and easy.
if you don't happen to have waterproof paper hanging around you might try a slip of tyvec-like fedex and other mail pouches are made of.
i hope this helps anyone who has experienced the frustration of their favorite pen behaving badly. blessings!
i really like this pen-when...
July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase
i really like this pen-when the ink gets moving, i can write forever with it. because of it's light weight, smooth barrel and crazy good value (so i don't have to get too upset if it gets lost or stolen) i keep at it-but would REALLY appreciate anyone's tips on getting that sweet spot primed up a little bit easier. my desk is covered with scraps of paper with scrathes and swirls-attempts to prime my little pen. ;)
I have used fountain...
February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase
I have used fountain pens in the past and I am glad to find some not so expensive, Love them.
I am writing a review...
October 19, 2012
I am writing a review for a $3.50 pen!

My experience so far? Fine! The pen took the cartridge easily, ink found it's way to the nib in short time, and I never saw any skips. I do not like the hard push and pull required by the snap-on cap, and the finish on the clip and plastic parts is third-rate.

It writes with a medium line, wet ink, and the lines are water-resistant.

I plan on having this pen around as a give-away, or as a FP for the car. Should be easily re-fillable.

I just wrote a review for a $3.50 pen!

MFranznick
1 - 10 of 13 |  |